Recommended for you

Nissan Note e-POWER Hybrid Premium 1.2 (A) Review

Nissan Note e-POWER Hybrid Premium (A) Video Review

Honda Jazz Hybrid vs Nissan Note e-POWER Hybrid

Rule change allowed car buyers to access bigger loans


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Toyota Aqua Hybrid vs Nissan Note e-POWER
17 Jul 2023  |  Nissan Reviews
The Aqua Hybrid has the upper hand when it comes to efficiency, but the Note e-POWER impresses with its unique powertrain and sweet drive.
spacer
spacer
Aqua Hybrid
Class-leading fuel efficiency
More driver-friendly cockpit
Easy handling even for newbies
Less expensive
Note e-POWER
Keener drive
More torque, quicker response
Roomier backseat
More practical cabin
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Nissan Note e-POWER Hybrid
spacer
4.0
 
14 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
3.5 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
4.5 Engine Performance
4.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Dkk88
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-May-2024
Car that i will never buy again  Posted on 03 May 2024
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2.0 Reliability 1.0
Handling 3.0 Features 1.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
As a recent purchaser of the brand new Nissan Note 2024, I collected it last week in March 2024.

I am thoroughly disappointed with my experience. Despite the promises and hype surrounding this vehicle, the reality has been far from satisfactory.

Let's start with the positives, albeit few. The car's power and responsiveness were passable, nothing extraordinary, but at least acceptable. However, that's where the compliments end.

One of the major selling points touted by Nissan was the fuel efficiency of the Note. Advertised figures claimed an impressive 24.4 km/l, but the actual performance falls woefully short. In real-world conditions, with eco mode engaged and driving conservatively, I could barely manage 18 km/l on a good day. It seems the advertised figures were achieved under perfect laboratory conditions, far removed from the realities of everyday driving. Moreover, considering this is only the first month of ownership, I shudder to imagine how the fuel efficiency will degrade over time. If the car struggles to meet its claimed efficiency now, I fear it will only worsen with age.

Moving on to the interior, the space was adequate, nothing more. The leather quality was decent, but hardly enough to salvage the overall disappointment of the vehicle.

Now, onto the real issues. Within just one month of ownership, the vehicle started showing signs of trouble. Sensors began malfunctioning, and the dashboard resembled a Christmas tree with its array of warning lights illuminated. For a brand new car, this level of malfunction is simply unacceptable.

As a new owner, I expected reliability and peace of mind, not constant trips to the dealership for repairs. The experience has left me frustrated and disillusioned with Nissan's claims of quality and reliability.

What I like
Keener drive
More torque,
Quicker response
Roomier backseat

What I do not like
Still using the rear drum brake
No rear aircon or USB
Finishing and interior touches feel like cheap plastic.
No cruise control

(Why not save money by removing the full EV mode inside the car anyway, You can only drive about 5 km in full EV mode and upgrade to better brakes.).


Rainfall
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Nov-2023
A Zippy Note  Posted on 07 Nov 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
A Zippy Note

Having driven this car for more than a year. Here are some thoughts to share.

This is an easy car to drive, it's a decent choice among some of the cars in this segment and gets one from A to B in a fuss-free way.

The interior is rather accommodating and will sit 3 passengers comfortably.

It's easy to park and can move around in tight spaces with ease. The digital rear-view mirror also allows a better rear awareness.

The 16-inch rims do give a firmer ride and the suspension can feel on the hard side, so road dips and bumps can rattle the driver up.

On the city roads the engine turns on and off periodically, on the highway, the engine is turned on constantly, so it feels more ICE than hybrid. For its price point, the way it drives with torque and haste, its presents good value for money.

What I like
- Digital rear view mirror
- Good ability to go from the traffic stop
- wide opening of doors
- boot and doors feel solid, they close with a satisfying thud
- steering wheel locally wrapped in smooth leather
- gear lever is in a comfortable position
- the gear selector console is one big arm rest
- decent FC ~ 20 - 22 km / L Full tank average (City and Highway Locally)
- e pedal
- electronic brake and brake hold

What I do not like
- FC ~ 13 - 15 km L on longer highway trips up north as ICE is on constantly
- the windscreen view out is small.
- the leather option is a very warm
- the in-car unit is locally fitted and can be better
- Spotify will auto play randomly and this option cannot be disabled with user availed options
- no rear boot cover
- tires are an odd size, not many options to choose from
- car sits very low to the ground. be careful of higher humps!
- Engine turns on and the noise is intrusive because in comparison when the engine is off, its silent.
- Not a Full LED set up, combination for both front and rear
- Not the FULL Nissan Safety Suite, some features have been omitted.
- No cruise control


Mervinlove2drive
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Mar-2023
Never regret getting the Nissan Note E-Power  Posted on 22 Mar 2023
spacer
 

Review
I have collected the Nissan Note E-Power back in January 2023.
The design of the car is so much better compare to his competitor.
This car equip with rearview mirror camera which help you a lot on rainy days or when there are passenger blocking the view. Electric parking brake, brake hold, lane assist, front & rear parking sensor etc all come as standard. It also come with Apple carplay & Android auto as standard unlike the Nissan Kicks which only come with Apple carplay. The seat is wrapped in premium nappa leather which keep the temperature cool compare to other material. This Nissan Note also come with latest generation E-Power drivetrain which is more quiet and fuel efficient.

So what is E-Power? Many of us did not know what is E-power because Sgcarmart stated as "Hybrid".
Nissan Note E-power is driven by an EV Powertrain. Therefore you will be getting instant torque and power when you step on the acceleration pedal. The 1.2l, 3-cylinder engine does not drive the car. It is there to act as a generator to charge the EV battery.

The Note E-Power is very fuel efficient. I am getting average 24-28km/litre, Although Sgcarmart stated lesser which might be wrong information because other country stated 32km/litre on paper.

I also drove the car up to KL Genting and I must say driving the nissan note e-power up and down the Genting hill was easy. It is definitely much better than driving traditional I.C.E Car. You won't feel lack for power going up and coming down the hill and the e-power also does regenerative braking and you won't be using the brake pedal most of the time.

This Note come with 280nm torque. Even most entry level EV does not come with such toque.
It does 0-100km in 7seconds range. Name me a few car in this segment and price range with this kind of performance. You will surprise many road users when you move off when the traffic light turn green.

The only things I dislike was Carplay and Auto is wired. (But you can always purchase a wireless converter)


aerolith
Neutral Newbie
62 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
An enticing all round hatch  Posted on 11 Dec 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
The Nissan Note-e Power brings Nissan's excellent hybrid system into a truly economical small hatch body. But is that enough to serve you on the daily commute?

What I like
Sharp styling, and gutsy power. This Nissan Note feels like its hardly ever going to run out of push, at least, so long as you don't push it beyond speed limits.

Inside, the cabin is a thoroughly modern space, plenty of plastics, for sure, and those screen bezels are a touch too much for my liking, but its clean and neat I guess.

What I do not like
Performance is nothing special once you're up to speed. And the finishings and interior touches feel outright cheap.


danajo
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Nov-2021
Comfortable, Exciting, Zippy. E-Power is unlike any other drivetrain at this price range.  Posted on 07 Dec 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
I have owned the Note E-Power for about a year now. Purchased it at about 110k back in Dec 2021.

Exterior :
Looks vastly different from the old Note. One of the smartest looking hatchbacks in its class. Looks much sleeker than the new Honda Fit. Very easy on the eyes, and it's generally a modern and good looking car.

Interior :
The nappa leather seats that come as standard are amazing. They feel very premium to the touch, and are very comfortable to sit on. Even the stitching has accents on the seats and also the steering wheel.

The infotainment system is alright if you use Apple Carplay or Android Auto. Generally responsive and sharp.

Dashboard looks a little bit dated. I wish that nissan would've just done a full digital display. Instead, you get a half digital display and a small analog display.

The interior feels surprisingly spacious on the inside, and can comfortably seat 3 at the back even for slightly longer rides. We even drove up to KL with 5 pax and had no complaints.

My only gripe is that there is no rear air con. Which I guess is given the price of this car, and how much car you are getting for the price. You can't have everything, i guess.

Drive :
This is the best thing about the Nissan Note. The E-Power drive train and One Pedal drive. If you take away some engine noise, this drives 100% Like an Electric vehicle. This means that the acceleration is smooth and linear, torque is instantly delivered, and acceleration feels so quick. This car is so zippy off the line, and even when overtaking. I think i've surprised some other drivers by how fast this car is off the line.

We drove up north and it managed to get up to speed with no issues whatsover, and maintained this speed for awhile (150-160km/h).
When the engine kicks in, I don't feel that it's as noisy as some have mentioned. It'll just start feeling and sounding like a normal ICE car.

One pedal drive is also great, very easy to get used to. I've seen myself hitting 5km in regenerative breaking on drives that are 20km long, which saves you alot of petrol in the long run.

Most of all, the car is crazily efficient. About 550km from $60 of Petrol. (Average 22km/l for a mix city/highway)

What I like
Nappa Leather Seats
Futuristic Centre Display
Amazing refresh from the old note
Spacious on the interior
E-Power Drivetrain - Super smooth drive
EV Like drive & acceleration
One Pedal Drive
Price - Alot of car for the money you're paying. you won't find anything else similar in this price range. The new Fit doesn't even come close.

What I do not like
No rear a/c
Infotainment system can be clunky to operate if not using carplay/android auto.


Carer
2nd Gear
1 reviews
179 points
1013 forum posts Joined on 10-Aug-2009
Good compact car  Posted on 27 Aug 2022
spacer
 

Review
I just collected my car. Paid $124,800 back in Jun 2022. The car is very efficient. Did 200km already but tank still 3/4 full.

Surprisingly spacious for this small car. Does not really feel that small. Interior is fantastic. Super futuristic. Napa leather seats really make the interior feel luxurious.

I have the Serena epower and this note has similar boot space to Serena. Very functional. Pick up is crazily fast. Around 7.7s for century sprint. Serena is about 8.4s.

The rear is disappointing though. It will be good if the taillights are LEDs.


supresass
Neutral Newbie
56 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Zippy little citycarver  Posted on 10 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
If you're the sort that needs to be first off the line but don't have the money for something big, this Nissan Note is just the solution.

What I like
The interesting e-power system means you'll only need to pump petrol and yet you'll be able to get quite a feel for what it is like to drive an all-electric vehicle. The surge of torque is decent enough (especially for a car this small), and there's many complains about how it sounds but I think its still ok.

If you're after everyday drive comfort this thing is still quiet enough, and mighty fun to drive.

It also looks way more dynamic and sporty than the other hatches out there, although whether this look ages well will remain to be seen.

What I do not like
Unfortunately, there's compromises to be had if you want a hybrid for cheap.

The ride in the Nissan Note is unsettled once you get up to speed, and the interior looks great, but only at a distance. Some of the finishing needs improvement, especially around the dashboard.

If you're not a fan of large screen bezels this also will not be the car to get. The surrounds of the dashboard and infotainment screen are huge here, cutting down on the overall futuristic feel of the interior quite a bit.


technetium
Clutched
8 reviews
9 points
2 forum posts Joined on 20-Nov-2021
Spunky Hatchback in a sea of "SUVs"; Midway Step Towards Electrification  Posted on 23 Nov 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Unfortunately, I was in the market for a new compact car although COE prices were soaring higher & higher. After test-driving multiple vehicles from different makes, I bought the Note e-Power.

The e-Power is a "Series-hybrid", different from most other cars which use "Parallel-hybrid" (and no, "Mild-hybrid" Is NOT actually considered hybrid). Marketing aside, IMO there is no clear better/worse between the 2 types, they are just different.

Below is the review of someone who actually test-drove the car (and others in the price range), and bought the Note.

What I like
+ EXTERIOR STYLING: The exterior styling of the Note is quite good looking! Especially comparing to its close competitors (eg. Jazz)
+ FRONT CABIN COMFORT: The front cabin, especially for the driver, is padded with comfortable material. The armrests are soft. The steering wheel feels nice and thick. The nappa leather seats are really comfy (I'd defo recommend upgrading to Premium trim).
+ DRIVER DISPLAY & INFOTAINMENT: Modern-looking displays makes the Note feel like a more expensive car than most of its competitors in the price rage (eg again, Jazz).
+ DRIVE SMOOTHNESS: Test driving in both Ubi & Alexandria felt nippy and responsive in the Note, better than its competitors. However, I do note that I cannot comment on its performance above 80km/hr.

What I do not like
- WIRED PHONE-INTEGRATION ONLY: The Note only comes with wired AppleCarplay/AndroidAuto, which is acceptable as I usually charge my phone whenever I drive. But I do wish for wireless capabilities too
- BLINDSPOT MONITORING: The Note comes with a suite of safety features like Lane Departure Warning, all-round sensors etc. But I also wish it had blind-spot monitoring indicators on the mirrors.
- REAR CABIN: In the rear, you can really feel the car is built to a price-point. The rear is clad in harder plastics, no rear aircon or USBs, no arm rest. The former 2 are understandable for this price, but lack of armrest is a bit sad..


corproral
Neutral Newbie
52 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Zippy little hatchback!  Posted on 19 Jul 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
You get instantaneous, smooth, and linear torque from the electric motor but without the hassle of charging an electric car with this new Note.

What I like
Power delivery is smooth and pretty sweet, allowing you to zip around town. You can expect good fuel economy and the car looks so futuristic both inside and out.

What I do not like
No issues with the car. Wait for the Qashqai or get the Kicks if you want something larger.


quippery
Neutral Newbie
78 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Hybrid hatchback for cheap!  Posted on 12 Jul 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Really futuristic looking hatchback with a futuristic drivetrain. It's small, nimble, easy to drive and park, and just overall a really nice place to be in.

What I like
Hybrid system is really smooth, and you get a lot of torque for easy overtaking, maneuvering up and down multi-story carparks, etc. Front grille has a nice lattice pattern and the rear lights are gorgeous!

You get a large windscreen as well so there's plenty of visibility and it feels really light and airy when you're driving around. Very nice!

There's a digital rear-view mirror display if you find it difficult to see at night or have really tall people sitting behind.

What I do not like
The bezels for the screens in the cabin look like they should house larger screens. Small complaint but hey.


maxbuzz37
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
12 forum posts Joined on 15-Jun-2021
Awesome B&B Car to Consider  Posted on 10 Jul 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
If you are lovers of hatchback, this car is a must try. Tried this car with the wife. Interior features quite awesome, to me feels like a VW Polo. Drive was smooth and quiet. The test drive did not go beyond 70km/hr due to the route. Looks better than the Jazz hev. The acceleration was pretty good but the smart pedal is the thingy wife could not get used to.

Wife eventually bought the jazz hev due to the trade in price and the interior layout by kah motors

What I like
- Awesome interior
- Great exterior Looks
- Safety features
- gadgets and gizmo
- Quiet

What I do not like
- rear drum brakes
- test drive only up to 70kmhr (you wont know how it performs on the highway)
- smart pedal needs getting used to


Nord
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Feb-2013
Note Worthy !  Posted on 10 Jun 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Very attractive looking car inside and out. Even better is its drivetrain that glides you along like a true EV. The power delivery is punchy and silent, even if the engine comes on, it does so without you noticing. This car accelerates to 100kph in under 8s , and does 22km/l , beat that ! Another impressive point is the ride quality, it rides at city speeds in a way better than even a camry size car from 5yrs ago. Perhaps its the Renault influence since it shares the same platform. The only downside is the locally fitted audio systems and the somewhat incomplete safety features that the Yaris Cross and Jazz eHEV has it beaten. But if you are after the quality of the drive, this is the one to have !

What I like
- Very smooth drivetrain
- Punchiest car south of $120K - 280nm !
- Engine comes on very silently and without any vibrations
- Lovely interior
- Roomy
- Lovely ride quality - very supple
- Pricing compared to Yaris Cross and Jazz eHEV. In Japan market, the Note is more expensive than both !

What I do not like
- No parcel shelf
- Locally fitted stereo - but sounds not too bad
- No radar cruise and blind spot monitoring that competitors have
- Probably less efficient than Toyota Synergy
- Space is less smart than Honda eHEV


carahoe
Neutral Newbie
13 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Very interesting hybrid system!  Posted on 03 May 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Read about the Nissan e-Power hybrid system, seems like an interesting idea, power from motor like electric car, but use petrol and don't have to charge. Seems like a good idea for those staying in HDB to have an electric car.

After testing the car, wow, the acceleration really is quite good, better than other small engine hatchback. The motor quite powerful and the Note is very lightweight and nimble to drive.

What I like
The car is powerful and quite punchy for a small hatchback. Design of the exterior looks good as well, nicer than the previous generation, much sportier. I think this is a good car to buy if you want to experience electric car, save petrol and no need to worry about finding place to charge your car.

What I do not like
Unlike full electric car, there is still abit of engine noise, especially when you accelerate hard. The ride at the back is a little bit bumpy, but this is similar to other small hatchbacks. The black pieces in the interior looks painted, not very smooth, make it looks not so nice.


hyaline
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
A superb drive - one of the best hatchbacks  Posted on 19 Apr 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Enjoyed my test drive of the Nissan Note. Those of you who haven't, you definitely should.

If you're confused about how the ePower system works all you have to do is test drive it. Power delivery is almost instant like an electric car. But there isn't the anxiety of battery level as the engine's job is just to charge the battery. It is great.

Inside it is quite spacious and Nissan finally has stepped up their interior once again. For a while now it has been quite cheap inside but the Note definitely does not feel cheap.

What I like
-Feels powerful and sprightly thanks to electric power
-A nice car to drive
-Small yet reasonably spacious inside

What I do not like
-Not sure of the reliability of the ePower system, but warranty package seems trustworthy.

Nissan Note e-POWER Hybrid
4 stars - based on 14 reviews