Recommended for you

Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid 1.5 Excite (A) Review

Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid 1.5 Active (A) Review

Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid vs Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid

Should you pump higher RON petrol for better performance? Not so fast...


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid 1.5 Active (A) Review
12 May 2023  |  Toyota Reviews
The Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid in this base 'Active' trim brings down the price of the firm's excellent hybrid technology, but you'll have to live with a few compromises.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Not enough knee room for rear passengers
Cabin feels cheap
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid
spacer
3.5
 
10 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
3.0 Reliability
5.0
spacer
Handling
3.5 Features
4.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5 Interior Design
2.5
spacer
Value for money
3.5 Engine Performance
3.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
botakuncle
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Sep-2022
Fuel saving machine.  Posted on 30 May 2023
spacer
 

Review
Good fuel consumption best 25.5kmpl,average 23to24kmpl.

Just simple dashboard.
Nothing fancy.

Rear seats are too small.
Boot space is small as well
Rear door cannot open wide
Fat people,pls avoid buying.
Old folks might struggle to get in/out due to height.

Honda fit offers better space and storage.


corproral
Neutral Newbie
46 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Hybrid power meets standard Toyota fan fare  Posted on 20 Feb 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
If you're looking to save on fuelling costs but want to go all crossover, this Toyota Yaris Cross will make an interesting option.

What I like
It's divisive looks for sure, on the outside. But then again, Toyota is no stranger to funky hybrids - just ask the Prius.

On the inside, you'll mainly only get black plastics. It's no premium car here, although the instrument cluster is an interesting item to rest your eyes on.

To drive, the Yaris Cross is smooth enough, and pushes the car along with enough verve, although you might find the engine note a little droning. Not the best if you drive for hours on end.

Space at the front is alright. But legroom at the rear is not so great.

What I do not like
Unusual exterior design.


aerolith
Neutral Newbie
55 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Strange looks hide run-of-the-mill interior and drivetrain  Posted on 18 Dec 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
It's a hybrid compact crossover, built by the best in the business when it comes to mass-producing hybrid drivetrains.

What I like
Strange, is how the Toyota Yaris Cross looks. There's creases all around the body, coupled with plenty of interesting surfaces to look at from the back. And those headlights that come without any chrome surrounds certainly look different.

Then there's the fuel-sipping drivetrain. Expect close to 21km/L in this thing, and a its reasonably smooth in its operation as well, if a little noisy when pushed.

What I do not like
Beyond the looks, there's a plain interior inside, filled with loads of cheap-feeling plastics.


supresass
Neutral Newbie
56 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
A different looking crossover, sure, but filled with cheap plastics within  Posted on 06 Oct 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
There's already a fair number of these on the road so I think it's fair to say that this Yaris Cross Hybrid is a testament to how mainstream hybrid tech has become, as well as how much Singaporean's appreciate the fuel savings they get, even when driving on such a small island.

What I like
The fuel economy, like many other Toyota hybrids, is still commendable here. You'll get close to 26km/l no problem, so it really can take the Prius on when it comes to economy, even with its crossover body.

Other than this, though, well... There's good space for four inside, and space for luggage in the boot.

What I do not like
The interior here however, are all plastics, and it doesn't feel great really. Toyota have even managed to put additional (plastic) roundels within the instrument cluster, which ok, add something interesting for you to look at, but really, the rest of the cabin needs a bit of uplifting.

You also get the very in-trend full width rear taillights on the outside, but it looks like the designers dropped the ball when it comes to the front of the car. It just looks overall cohesive, and those head lights without and surrounds give the car a very insect-like look. Especially if you get yours in gold.


quippery
Neutral Newbie
77 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Strange looks on the outside, business as usual inside  Posted on 31 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
It's from Toyota, it's a small crossover, comes with a hybrid engine, and its affordable. I think most of you can figure just from this alone what exactly is the Yaris Cross all about.

What I like
You can expect close to 25km/L sort of fuel economy in this thing. It's small and Toyota knows what they are doing when it comes to hybrid drivetrains.

And it looks like nothing else on the road. Strange golden colour aside, there's angles everywhere, strange head lights that make the car look like some insect, and quite some distinctive tail lights.

There's also quite a large boot and still ok space for your passengers seated behind.

What I do not like
Ah but what a cabin. Sat in a Prius before? This Yaris Cross carries on the same tradition. Every surface here is a strange matt grey or matt silver, and the screens within the instrument cluster, are just low on contrast and appeal. Rivals all fair better here.


technetium
Clutched
8 reviews
9 points
2 forum posts Joined on 20-Nov-2021
Exterior Looks Good; Interior Feels Bad  Posted on 27 Nov 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Was at the Toyota show room but did not test drive as the car was only available 6mths later.
Review is based on static-testing in the showroom.

What I like
Exterior styling is quite nice although it is another "mini-SUV" type car which I don't particularly appreciate... Still, the higher height was a good consideration for my parents (so they dont need to bend too much to get in and out)

What I do not like
Despite the exterior, the interior is actually quite barren (I dare say even worse than the Vios?). Everything feels hard and cheap. Disappointed.


SpecWar
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Sep-2021
Fuel saving and Unique looking mini SUV  Posted on 28 Sep 2021
spacer
 

Review
Bought the Yaris Cross in February 2021 and only received it on September 2021. Initial delivery date was May 2021. A long waiting time with no compensation or service recovery from Borneo Motors. No courtesy loan vehicle was offered for the inconvenience caused. Take it or leave it attitude from the company. SEs were friendly but hands tied by company.

Been driving it for almost 3 weeks, very good fuel economy and very unique looking mini SUV. However, very poorly/lousily spec-ed by Borneo Motors Singapore.

Excite 1.5 Variant ($5K more than base model)

Dislike:
1. No 18 inch wheels (same 16 inch wheels as the base model, unlike overseas variant)
2. No 360 panoramic camera (unlike overseas variant)
3. No build in/integrated GPS in infotainment system (needs to use wired Apple CarPlay or Android Auto, unlike overseas variant)
4. Dim halogen light bulbs used for interior lightings and car plate.
5. Cheap scratchy 90s feeling interior plastics and weird fabric at the door panel.
6. Gear lever console looks like old 90s. No leather gear shift gaiter cover (unlike overseas variant).
7. No Automatic Parking Assist (unlike overseas variant).
8. No Electric Tail Gate (unlike overseas variant).
9. No E-Four Variant offered (unlike overseas variant).
10. Currently no face lifted or adventure variant model offered.

Like:
1. Very very good fuel economy
2. The unique looks
3. The integrated Heads Up Display (HUD) for Excite variant (the only reason to get Excite)

The suspension is not as harsh compared to previous generation of Honda Vezel.

Yaris Cross is a nice mini SUV only to be under spec-ed in Singapore by Borneo Motors.


heckz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
9 forum posts Joined on 05-Jan-2021
Review from 1time car buyer  Posted on 05 Sep 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
I spent 4 mths looking at cars ranging from petrol to electric, entry to 170k, before placing a deposit on hybrid Yaris cross.

What I like
1. Not a boring/uncle style looking car. (Uncle style = cars that a typical uncle will buy and drive)
2. Gold brass Color is nice and able to stand out. I am able to see my car easily from rows of cars. No need to spend a lot of time finding my car when I forget where I park.
3. Safety features. 5stars from Europe safety standards, blind spot monitoring, lane detecting etc. As an inexperienced driver, such technologies help me alot and give me confidence on road.
4. Quick torque
5. Reliability of Toyota brand. I'm a lazy driver and I just want my car to perform its task without giving me trouble.
6. Petrol price is never an issue to me. Less than 4litre per 100km. What is petrol price.
7. Comfortable to handle the size
8. Height of the car is very friendly for elderly and newbie driver like me. Knock on the corners of the road Is okay, heart also not painful. But of course, better not to knock.

Out of all these, what I am paying for is on item 3 as item 3 is why the car is being price at this level and for the cars cheaper than this, may not have and would compromise on this.

What I do not like
1. Sound system is normal. ( sorry, my standard is boss system. But this can add on later if I want to.)
2. Behind space is very tight for 3pax. Better to ferry 2 pax behind than 3pax for long trips.
3. Headlights r always on, can't switch off.
4. The material on the door. Plastic is better than that. Hard to clean off if there is dirt. Do not think that can last long for cleanliness. ( may change in 1 to 2yrs time)
5. Small tank size. Each time top up can drive for another about 600plus Km. Not as expected. If top up petrol too little, may not be able to detect.
6. No aircon for behind passengers. Need to blast aircon. But aircon is strong to be blasted.


ilovetoyotacars
Neutral Newbie
24 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Looks almost like a Yaris GR, from the rear at least...  Posted on 19 Aug 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The Yaris cross looks interesting, the rear really reminds of the Yaris GR hot hatch that everyone is going crazy about. The front reminds of some kind of insect, abit odd looking, but I can see how it might appeal to some people. The blacked-out headlights are a nice touch for me.

While the exterior is all pretty cool, getting into the Yaris Cross immediately reminds of its price point. The interior feels rather low quality and design feels old. Lots of hard plastic is used in the construction of the interior.

The engine isn't anything special, but it sure is sufficient for this relatively small car. The hybrid system also allows good fuel consumption. Not muich gripe about its powertrain.

What I like
- Interesting design
- good fuel consumption
- Toyota reliability

What I do not like
- A little pricey for a car of its class
- Interior feels cheap and poor fit and finish


Nord
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Feb-2013
Tough Call  Posted on 26 Mar 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
Disclaimer : Review is based only on test drives, do not own the car

Pros
- Refreshing bold Look
- Good active safety features
- Decent space internally for a small SUV
- Very fuel efficient, much better than Kicks Epower. 25km/l is possible. 20km/l must be easy.
- Ride quality is surprisingly good. Its damping is quite unlike the old econobox crashy small car. In fact it rides better than a BMW F20. This is its best trait !
- CarPlay !

Cons
- Unrefined engine that turns on quite often
- Cabin looks funky, but hard plastics everywhere. No proper arm rest for the driver nor rear passenger. The Nissan Note is alot better in this respect. The similarly priced Subaru XV feels like a limo next to this. E Power kicks which is already trashy, beats this.
- Halogen headlamps for a high tech car ?
- Kicks drives so much better. The hybrid system cuts in quite abruptly, and electric system provides little torque. If you are a heavy footer, u will hear the buzzy engine all the time.
- dismal sound system

In conclusion, funky looking car that rides very well, but with a disappointingly cheap interior for a $104K car. At this price you still have to live with 19th century halogen headlamps. A $95k Seat Arona is alot more fun to drive and a car I would rather drive. If you want the joy of new technology in the form of some electric drive, the Kicks drive better but it is nowhere as efficient. Would I buy one ? At $104k tough call. At $95K, I think I would.

Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid
3.5 stars - based on 10 reviews