Recommended for you

Elfyn Evans maintains title bid in Rally Mexico

Toyota Yaris Cross launched in Singapore

Stellar new horizons in the Toyota Yaris Cross

Rule change allowed access to bigger loans


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid 1.5 Excite (A)
11 Feb 2021  |  Toyota Reviews
The new Toyota Yaris Cross combines a bold design and ample equipment with an outstandingly efficient and easy-to-use hybrid powertrain.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid vs Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
4 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
2.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

4 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
SpecWar
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Sep-2021
Fuel saving and Unique looking mini SUV  Posted on 28 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Bought the Yaris Cross in February 2021 and only received it on September 2021. Initial delivery date was May 2021. A long waiting time with no compensation or service recovery from Borneo Motors. No courtesy loan vehicle was offered for the inconvenience caused. Take it or leave it attitude from the company. SEs were friendly but hands tied by company.

Been driving it for almost 3 weeks, very good fuel economy and very unique looking mini SUV. However, very poorly/lousily spec-ed by Borneo Motors Singapore.

Excite 1.5 Variant ($5K more than base model)

Dislike:
1. No 18 inch wheels (same 16 inch wheels as the base model, unlike overseas variant)
2. No 360 panoramic camera (unlike overseas variant)
3. No build in/integrated GPS in infotainment system (needs to use wired Apple CarPlay or Android Auto, unlike overseas variant)
4. Dim halogen light bulbs used for interior lightings and car plate.
5. Cheap scratchy 90s feeling interior plastics and weird fabric at the door panel.
6. Gear lever console looks like old 90s. No leather gear shift gaiter cover (unlike overseas variant).
7. No Automatic Parking Assist (unlike overseas variant).
8. No Electric Tail Gate (unlike overseas variant).
9. No E-Four Variant offered (unlike overseas variant).
10. Currently no face lifted or adventure variant model offered.

Like:
1. Very very good fuel economy
2. The unique looks
3. The integrated Heads Up Display (HUD) for Excite variant (the only reason to get Excite)

The suspension is not as harsh compared to previous generation of Honda Vezel.

Yaris Cross is a nice mini SUV only to be under spec-ed in Singapore by Borneo Motors.

heckz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
9 forum posts Joined on 05-Jan-2021
Review from 1time car buyer  Posted on 05 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I spent 4 mths looking at cars ranging from petrol to electric, entry to 170k, before placing a deposit on hybrid Yaris cross.

What I like
1. Not a boring/uncle style looking car. (Uncle style = cars that a typical uncle will buy and drive)
2. Gold brass Color is nice and able to stand out. I am able to see my car easily from rows of cars. No need to spend a lot of time finding my car when I forget where I park.
3. Safety features. 5stars from Europe safety standards, blind spot monitoring, lane detecting etc. As an inexperienced driver, such technologies help me alot and give me confidence on road.
4. Quick torque
5. Reliability of Toyota brand. I'm a lazy driver and I just want my car to perform its task without giving me trouble.
6. Petrol price is never an issue to me. Less than 4litre per 100km. What is petrol price.
7. Comfortable to handle the size
8. Height of the car is very friendly for elderly and newbie driver like me. Knock on the corners of the road Is okay, heart also not painful. But of course, better not to knock.

Out of all these, what I am paying for is on item 3 as item 3 is why the car is being price at this level and for the cars cheaper than this, may not have and would compromise on this.

What I do not like
1. Sound system is normal. ( sorry, my standard is boss system. But this can add on later if I want to.)
2. Behind space is very tight for 3pax. Better to ferry 2 pax behind than 3pax for long trips.
3. Headlights r always on, can't switch off.
4. The material on the door. Plastic is better than that. Hard to clean off if there is dirt. Do not think that can last long for cleanliness. ( may change in 1 to 2yrs time)
5. Small tank size. Each time top up can drive for another about 600plus Km. Not as expected. If top up petrol too little, may not be able to detect.
6. No aircon for behind passengers. Need to blast aircon. But aircon is strong to be blasted.

ilovetoyotacars
Neutral Newbie
23 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Looks almost like a Yaris GR, from the rear at least...  Posted on 19 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Yaris cross looks interesting, the rear really reminds of the Yaris GR hot hatch that everyone is going crazy about. The front reminds of some kind of insect, abit odd looking, but I can see how it might appeal to some people. The blacked-out headlights are a nice touch for me.

While the exterior is all pretty cool, getting into the Yaris Cross immediately reminds of its price point. The interior feels rather low quality and design feels old. Lots of hard plastic is used in the construction of the interior.

The engine isn't anything special, but it sure is sufficient for this relatively small car. The hybrid system also allows good fuel consumption. Not muich gripe about its powertrain.

What I like
- Interesting design
- good fuel consumption
- Toyota reliability

What I do not like
- A little pricey for a car of its class
- Interior feels cheap and poor fit and finish

Nord
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Feb-2013
Tough Call  Posted on 26 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Disclaimer : Review is based only on test drives, do not own the car

Pros
- Refreshing bold Look
- Good active safety features
- Decent space internally for a small SUV
- Very fuel efficient, much better than Kicks Epower. 25km/l is possible. 20km/l must be easy.
- Ride quality is surprisingly good. Its damping is quite unlike the old econobox crashy small car. In fact it rides better than a BMW F20. This is its best trait !
- CarPlay !

Cons
- Unrefined engine that turns on quite often
- Cabin looks funky, but hard plastics everywhere. No proper arm rest for the driver nor rear passenger. The Nissan Note is alot better in this respect. The similarly priced Subaru XV feels like a limo next to this. E Power kicks which is already trashy, beats this.
- Halogen headlamps for a high tech car ?
- Kicks drives so much better. The hybrid system cuts in quite abruptly, and electric system provides little torque. If you are a heavy footer, u will hear the buzzy engine all the time.
- dismal sound system

In conclusion, funky looking car that rides very well, but with a disappointingly cheap interior for a $104K car. At this price you still have to live with 19th century halogen headlamps. A $95k Seat Arona is alot more fun to drive and a car I would rather drive. If you want the joy of new technology in the form of some electric drive, the Kicks drive better but it is nowhere as efficient. Would I buy one ? At $104k tough call. At $95K, I think I would.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid
3.5 stars - based on 4 reviews