Recommended for you

BMW to offer Legend Edition iX3

BMW to support the 2022 Cannes Film Festival

Refreshed BMW iX3 now in Singapore

Have you found the One?


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Car Review - BMW iX3 Electric Impressive [74 kWh] (A)
26 Aug 2021  |  BMW Reviews
Despite its unexciting looks, the new BMW iX3 delivers a practical and usable electric SUV experience, and is priced very attractively as well.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Uninteresting to look at
Interior design is slightly dated
Not as spacious as a bespoke EV could be
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The BMW iX3 Electric was facelifted on Nov 2021. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW iX3 Electric
spacer
3.5
 
7 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
3.5
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.0 Interior Design
3.5
spacer
Value for money
3.5 Engine Performance
4.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mervynwm
1st Gear
135 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The Electrifying X3, iX3.  Posted on 04 Sep 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 2.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Was wanting to try an EV to see its performance, so went by BMW to check on the iX3.

From the SE, there is an iX model that is made in Europe but this iX3 is made in China, so as to meet demand of orders.

Exterior look, its similar built to the petrol X3, the compact SUV series that has LED lights, electric tailgate, but cannot recall that if there is sunroof option.

Interior is quite basic which looks dated to me if you are ok to accept it as a BMW though. Comes with large display, virtual cockpit too.

Drive is simple, put to drive mode and there you go. Acceleration is no issue as its an electric motor. Has lane departure assist, HUD, active cruise control, drive modes selection, etc.

If you wonder EVs are quiet, you are right but BMW thinks for drivers whereby it incorporates the "Sound" Turning feature which you can have exhaust sounds to thrill your drive like a petrol drive.

Parking is a breeze too as its embedded with the one found in 3 series onwards.

Overall, its a reliable brand to own an EV but only is made in China that is considerable.

What I like
Comes with portable charging box
Dual Electric motor
Comes with option exhaust sound
Comes with many features
Full AUTO park feature

What I do not like
Made in China
No sunroof option
Price


isharamaduka
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Jan-2023
Best car I have driven  Posted on 22 Jan 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Making the transition from ICE to EVs and boy this car does not disappoint. Give you that magic carpet riding experience with BMWs superb interior finishes. Good option for those who are making the transition as the most of the control buttons are as same as the ICE version. The version sold in SG (M sport impressive) comes with all the goodies such as HUD, Panoramic sunroof and most BMW safety features.

What I like
Looks and feel the same as a regular X3
Powerful enough to win most of the traffic light grand prixes and can give entry level Porsches run for their money
No need to go to petrol station ever again

What I do not like
Wished it came with the new BMW i drive 8 system with the curved screen
Lack of a frunk


nashstruck
1st Gear
1 reviews
44 points
77 forum posts Joined on 18-Apr-2015
Our first BMW - amazing!!  Posted on 28 Oct 2022
spacer
 

Review
Bought this from salesman Benedict after test driving at PML. Lots to love including the amazing tech not seen in the regular X3, the luxury leather interior and M sport package coming as standard. The car is heavy but the single RWD motor seems powerful enough to provide a smooth high torque acceleration although you can feel the regenerative braking kicking in on/off when you take your foot off the pedal. I'm ok with it … Anything to help my mileage improve even further! It so super silent that it confused us whether the car was even turned on! Definitely a diff feeling when driving an EV.

Look for Benedict and he'll help you out - he's Super friendly, honest and gets straight to the point. He also entertains lots of enquiries from his excustomers. He helped us decide what model would be the right fit for us.


supresass
Neutral Newbie
33 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Early BMW electric effort shows promise  Posted on 21 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
This is one of the early BMW all-electric cars before the huge iX and the yet to arrive i7 gets here, so its more likely to be your average shoppers entry into the world of electric if you're already set on buying a BMW.

What I like
Ignore the blue pieces around the car and this could really pass off as any regular BMW X3, which is no bad thing. The car now has a new front design and angular taillights, which look a bit overdone. Just a bit.

The interior is also almost exactly the same as the regular petrol X3, although you do get quite a few extra goodies like the premium speakers and safety systems.

Power from the iX3 is ok. You have to put your foot down to get the car to launch forward, and it still feels its height and weight when you throw it around some turns.

BMW will sell you the iX3 with a charger box so if you stay in a landed property, this should be a no-brainer.

What I do not like
You guys think the BMW i Blue is a bit too much?


aerolith
Neutral Newbie
32 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
An electric SUV for those still afraid to make the jump  Posted on 07 Feb 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
There's a new facelifted BMW iX3 in town. You get a new badge in the grille, although the blue side skirts are now gone on the outside.

And on the inside, the start button is now on the centre console.

Off the bat you can tell the iX3 is designed to be the conservative product, designed more for the everyday consumer, especially next to the radical design of the BMW iX.

What I like
True to its exterior form the iX3 is very familiar to anyone used to driving a BMW. Leave the car in comfort mode and there isn't any undue jackrabbit urgency you see in other electric cars. It's quiet, turns sharply and drives over bumps in a very assured manner. All great BMW traits, especially for SUV shoppers.

Interior build quality is also high. Very high.

Overall a very solid choice when it comes to the segment, even when compared against the best of the petrol-powered rivals.

What I do not like
I guess for some the iX3 could pass for any other X3, a car that already has been around for quite some time, and just not up to the same flamboyant standard that we see from the 4 Series lineup, or the iX, or the M3, etc. You know what I mean.


quippery
Neutral Newbie
53 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
No fuss premium electric SUV  Posted on 25 Jan 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
It is cheaper than the regular 2.0-litre X3, yet has plenty of power and you'll surely appreciate all that electric instant torque in an SUV, especially if you're caught in traffic. Just don't get the garish blue body pieces.

What I like
Electric drivetrain makes the car feel quick next to its petrol-powered cousins, but you really need to switch it into its sport mode to get the most out of that 282bhp and 400Nm of torque.

Still, that means its still a nice relaxed cruiser on the roads. Talking about relaxed, the car is also very well-built and very comfortable to sit in when you're out and about.

What I do not like
Do opt to have the bright electric blue body panels removed.


Laserjet
Neutral Newbie
12 reviews
0 points
815 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2006
An electric-powered car rather than a full electric car  Posted on 25 Jan 2022
spacer
 

Review
Like:
- Suspension and steering as expected of a bmw
- Drives well and multiple times more powerful than the petrol version
- Not expensive

Dislike:
- No fancy electronics, feels like an electric-powered car rather than a full electric car.
- Made in china

BMW iX3 Electric
3.5 stars - based on 7 reviews