Recommended for you

The Toyota Harrier could well be a premium car

Toyota plans to release the new Harrier soon

The Toyota Harrier arrives in Singapore

Paddle shifters - are they better?


This car has been nominated as best Hybrid

Nominated car
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - Toyota Harrier Hybrid 2.5 Luxury (A)
09 Apr 2021  |  Toyota Reviews
The Toyota Harrier is spacious and sophisticated looking, with enough space for the entire family. Should you get one?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Harrier Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
2.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
2.5/5
spacer
Value for money
2/5 Engine Performance
3/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Notabot
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Jul-2021
Forget the badge. Here's my argument.  Posted on 02 Oct 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Had this car for the past 4 months and average 20km/L. Under hard driving 17 km/L. Car handling is ok but it isn't built like a sport car. Roomy interior, has all the creature comforts, should be on your list if you're looking for a vehicle to just use, service and when it's time, change to something else rather than fussing about how expensive or rare the parts are or how expensive the labour is.

meeloh2002
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jun-2014
Harrier Hybrid 2.5 Elegance  Posted on 16 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
After driving for a month 2000km. The fuel consumption range from 19 to 24km/landing. Avg 20km/l under Normal mode. It is a huge car especially the width makes publicparkingtricky. Console with Android car play of 8 inch is disappointing with a 12 inch frame. It is a huge and heavy car that make you feel not to drive fast. Missing the urge or mojo but just cruising along to enjoy the comfort of the car. Overtaking is no issue at all.

What I like
1. Fuel saving. Avg 20km/l Normal mode.
2. Comfort
3. Huge interior
4. Ease of servicing.
5. Smart sensing air con
6. Height of car.

What I do not like
1. 8" display console instead of 12"
2. Memory seat some time not remembering especially after car wash.
3. Fan noise from the hybrid battery under the rear seat need getting used to.
4. Car carpet is disappointing
5. Cannot off the headlight manually
6. Black Vue car cam not as good as Thinkware.

Cartizen
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Aug-2021
Harrier has lost its identity  Posted on 25 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
European clone. Trying to copy Jag. Now priced even more than Conti and yet resale drop by 30% Within 1 year. Lost identity. Borneo Motors greedy.

What I like
Reliably boring.

What I do not like
Interior is designed and made by Toyogo !!

$180k for a Toyota SUV. LOL

Cramped- trying to copy coupe styling of Conti yet engine is feeble

carahoe
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
The hybrid version of a popular Toyota doesn't disappoint  Posted on 03 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Harrier has been one of the nicer SUVs available in the market. The updated design on this hybrid model looks very pleasing, with design cues that reminds of higher-end luxury European brands such as Jaguar. Definitely a good thing.

The interior of Toyota has always been OK, not too fancy but nicely built, this time round they managed to give the interior a more luxurious and updated feel.

What I like
- Nice European style design
- Love the moonroof!
- Good fuel consumption
- Sufficient power

What I do not like
- Quite expensive for a Toyota Harrier
- 2.5 litre, EXPENSIVE road tax! Since it is a hybrid, they should have went with a smaller engine.

quippery
Neutral Newbie
21 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Smooth sailing with this hybrid  Posted on 01 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
You get a sleeker looking exterior with the new Harrier, and the hybrid gets you good fuel economy as well!

What I like
17km/L easily achievable even on a short test drive. The engine is strong enough, and its really quiet and smooth. The ride is good as well. I would say its decently comfortable, and you get soft padding all around the cabin.
If you get the higher-spec hybrid there's a cool sunroof that can be frosted like in those hotel rooms so the light coming into the cabin is not as harsh. Great for romantic evening drives, or if you drive to work early in the morning!

What I do not like
nil.

FaradayCool
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-May-2021
The Harrier has been destroyed by Toyota & Borneo Motors  Posted on 20 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the Premium version. Exterior looks dubious, and a rip-off of another make. Interior is claustrophobic for a car this big. Gloomy black lining with tacky media center. Plenty of cheap plastic from the Toyota models 1/3 this price. Muted with dampening. Horrible whiny hybrid when accelerating. Blinker signals at the bottom !! What was Toyota thinking ! Arrogant Borneo Motors staff as if the car is so high in demand that I had to get their attention.

What I like
Free aircon at showroom

What I do not like
The Harrier has been destroyed. $190k for a pseudo-Lexus wannabe ??? Tsk Tsk. Borneo Motors Singapore are getting very very greedy and arrogant

Motor
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Apr-2021
Catfish styling  Posted on 28 Apr 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Intriguing looking at first, but the more you look it at, the more it looks like a catfish trying to copy a Jaguar SUV. Not well put together. Some plasticky bits don't fit together at the window seals. Feels like a large Prius to drive. Cabin is quite well insulated but sooo claustrophobic for an SUV this size. The outgoing Harrier was much more manly than this catfish.

What I like
-Some safety features

What I do not like
-Whining drone engine
-Poor Borneo Motors aftersales support likely. They can't fix things when their cars go wrong
-Claustrophobic for a car this size thanks to coupe-esque styling tacky
-Overpriced. estimated 30% depreciation within first year !
-Tiny signal lights at the bottom rear. Invisible to car behind. Accident waiting to happen
-Tacky looking infotainment, tiny screen, huge bezels

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Toyota Harrier Hybrid
3 stars - based on 7 reviews