Recommended for you

PARF cars: 5 mainstream alternatives to consider!

Volkswagen reveals the GTI BBS Concept

Volkswagen reveals the new Golf R Estate

Paintwork protection gets simplified with Lambency


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Video Review - Volkswagen Golf Mild Hybrid 1.5 eTSI DSG Life Plus (A)
21 Jun 2021  |  Volkswagen Reviews
The Golf has won the heart of millions worldwide, will this latest generation do the same? We find out in our latest video review!
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Infotainment system will take some getting used to
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volkswagen Golf Mild Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
6 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

6 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
kkcharles82
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Apr-2022
Touch Accuracy Issue on Android Auto, Reverse Camera crashes often too  Posted on 18 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Owned the Golf Mk.8 Life Plus eTSI since June 2021 and it has been in and out of the dealership to solve a seemingly very small issue.

Discovered that the reverse camera will freeze up (i.E. Showing the last image and not updating) misleading me to think that nothing is behind, but in fact I have moved and the image shown in no more representative of the driving situation. I also discovered that there is a significant touch position offset in Android Auto that is present in the 8.25" Infotainment of the Life Plus but not on the 10.25" Infotainment system of the R-Line. All these have been highlighted to Volkswagen Center Singapore (VCS) for them to address.

VCS did run some check could not fine the problem. The reverse camera issue became so bad that corruption of image occurred once that completely garbled the GUI of the Android Auto side of things, leading me to conclude that the reverse camera system is in fact linked to the Android Auto side of things as well. This dragged on for nearly 3 months.

They later did a software update which cause the Park Distance Control graphics to move from the left to the right side of the screen, obscuring the reverse camera view. The rectification of this issue came after nearly 2 months of waiting where VCS changed the entire 8.25" Infotainment system to rectify the blocking GUI issue. But still, the original problem of reverse camera freezing and Android Auto touch position offset still remains.

To date, I have yet to receive proper rectification of the issue and it is very much an outstanding problem that I will have to address. Hope other owners out there facing this problem know that you are not alone, and you will need to engage VCS robustly to get this issue addressed.

What I like
Car performance is excellent

What I do not like
- Unreliable infotainment system
- Unreliable reverse camera system
- No direct button to do simple things like changing aircon settings

corproral
Neutral Newbie
12 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Sleeker exterior, neater interior. What's not to like?  Posted on 20 Feb 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Volkswagen's new Golf is still the premium hatch to get if you want something a little more impressive than the typical Civic, or Avante.

What I like
The slimmed front lights and angular ones at the rear, to start. This new Golf is overall a much smarter thing to look at once you get acclimated to its new design.

And in the cabin, placing all the controls within the touchscreen has also done wonders, making it much neater and still a pleasant place to be. Everything opens and clicks, thuds, etc with all of the damping that you'd come to expect of a Golf.

The 1.5-litre unit is also quiet, smooth and respectably torquey. Overall a really pleasing thing to drive.

What I do not like
Nothing really, save for the touch controls on the steering wheel, which are really unnecessary and a bit less intuitive to use than regular buttons but thankfully they are only there on the highest spec car.

kiwii
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 15-Aug-2021
Sleek, comfortable and Futuristic!  Posted on 25 Jan 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Been driving the Golf MK8 for 6 months already and it definitely didn't disappoint me. The interior feels like whole new ball game compared to its predecessor and comparable to current generation of conti cars.

The drive feels solid and the handling is exceptional. Fuel economy about 14-15km/l in 70% Highway 30% City setting. The engine is strong as well pushing 148bhp which is the same as the 2021 Audi A5 2.0.

Some super tiny issues with the infotainment system but nothing major affecting the car. The seats feels very sturdy and comfy as well can sit for long hours easily. Many compliments from my friends and families about the interior of the car as well. The stock sound system is amazing and no extra aftermarket parts are needed for ICE.

For its price, IMO this is one of the most value for money car out there.

What I like
-Drive
-Comfort
-Power and torque (0-100 in 8.5sec!)
-easily tunable
-lots of mods out there
-good FC
-Full LED IQ lights (MUST HAVE)
-Sexy rear look
-Interior space is sufficient for family of 5.
-One of the best boot size in its class

What I do not like
-the front bumper can be more aggressive

beatdrive
Neutral Newbie
16 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
A new base Golf, not too bad a choice with all things considered  Posted on 22 Dec 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The first comment I had when I saw the photos of the new Mk8 Golf online, was, woah, what are they thinking with the droopy-eyed design?!

Luckily, after seeing the actual car, it really is something that looks way better in the flesh than in photos. While a considerable change from before, it is a design that starts to grow on you.

What I like
The fresh design that doesn't totally stray from the typical Golf design, it is clearly different, yet retains some elements of the older golf. And this Golf drives and handle very nicely!

The mild hybrid powertrain is sprightly and offers sufficient power for day to day usage.

What I do not like
The materials and design of the interior feels a tad on the budget side, though fit and finish is decent, it feels less premium than expected of Volkswagen, especially when you consider the price of these Golfs

quippery
Neutral Newbie
31 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Comfortable little do-it-all hatch  Posted on 11 Oct 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Volkswagen Golf is now more digital than ever. You get a sizable infotainment screen up front, showy ambient lighting, and there's a pretty nifty digital instrument cluster to boot. But its still all really spacious to sit in, comfortable to ride in and offers up decent enough shove.

What I like
Drivetrain is really smooth and refined. You won't notice the cylinder deactivation and the start/stop cycle is not as irritating in the Golf as in other vehicles.

There's also a fair bit of interior customisation on offer with the screen and ambient lighting, so you can set it up to be more bling or muted to your taste.

What I do not like
It's just ok given the crazy high prices now. You can get a Mazda 3 for a bit less, if you don't need all the gizmos and colours inside, and still have a car that looks just as if not better.

Nord
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Feb-2013
Good driving dynamics but interior controls fustrate  Posted on 10 Jun 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Benchmark chassis dynamics and punchy drivetrain. Beats all 1.6L Japanese family cars in this area. Rides well, feels good.

However, interior frustrates. Base spec cost $25K more than a Mazda 3, yet feels less premium. Infotainment is slightly fussy, made worse by the lack of physical controls that has been discussed to death. At least the higher spec Leon FR has some sliders to play with below the screen, the base spec has none.

Pricing is quite made worse by Cat B COE. It cost a good $2K more a year to run than the increasingly good Japanese/korean counterparts. If this is nothing for you, go for it !

Otherwise, a used Mk 7.5 is arguably a better alternative.

What I like
- Looks handsome in flesh
- Great ride, Good handling
- Good build but basic in base trim for its price
- Punchy drivetrain

What I do not like
- Basic interior, just look at the LCD
- lack of physical controls
- Px

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Volkswagen Golf Mild Hybrid
4 stars - based on 6 reviews