Recommended for you

Honda Civic 1.5 VTEC Turbo (A) Video Review

Honda Civic 1.5 VTEC Turbo (A) Review

Here are the steps to get your driving license in Singapore

» Go to articles

Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Honda Civic 1.5 VTEC Turbo (A) Video Review
29 Nov 2021  |  Honda Reviews
A turbocharged 1.6-litre and plenty of interior refinements make the new Honda Civic a quality item to sit in and drive.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Engine is mated to a continuously variable transmission
More expensive than its rivals
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda Civic
spacer
4.0
 
9 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
4.5
spacer
Handling
4.5 Features
4.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
4.0 Engine Performance
4.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Rainfall
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Nov-2023
A Turbo ICE at Cat A Price  Posted on 12 Nov 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The design reflects the grown up civic fans as a familiar namesake. While the exterior may look more poised, it still retains some of its old racing pedigree. Drove the previous Gen for 3 years and test drove this new breed to see if it was worth the refresh and update.

The interior feels more premium than the past, closer to the accord and CRV.
The cockpit is thankfully still rather driver oriented, and while its not as cozy as some of the new comers to this segment, it still feels good and everything you need is there within reach.

It still instills confidence while cornering and the overall ride feels plush and controlled over rough torn roads worn by commercial trucks and trailers.

The sound insulation is still the same though, blocking out some, but not the best in this class of vehicles.

The front is a change that will divide fans, some may grow to like it, while others may opt to differ. I certainly prefer the previous look, the new look is a tad too tame and abiding looking for my preferences.

The rear of the car has its most widely noticeable change, and while the theme is grown up, it has lost some of the unquiet sensation of the past Civic's designs.

It has lost that immediate recognition that you are driving a Civic, and with that, the pedigree of the past generations that many Singaporeans have drove and loved about it.

This car seems to be about being all new and different from its roots, whether or not one invests in this newest family member, only time will tell.

What I like
- Good and spacious cabin

- the driving position is very comfortable, even for bulky lads

- the addition of the safety sensing

- turbo from the factory

- steering wheel is a joy to feel

- the front seats are comfortable

- walk away auto lock is still a joy to use

What I do not like
- the civic has some rattling and clicking noises that appears intermittingly while driving, and like the previous generation, no one knows where its coming from

- Halogen lights on this new design seems out of place

- Aircon vents design can be difficult to clean or vacuum


augus1530
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Jul-2022
HONDA CIVIC -- YOU WILL KNOW WHERE YOUR MONEY HAS GONE TO  Posted on 16 Sep 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Indeed, under Cat-A Sedan choices like Toyota Altis or Mazda 3 may strike as a better choice in terms of value & style. But it's this Honda Civic 11th generation that really shines with it's comfort & joy of driving that eventually shows where your money has really gone to !
Many may avoid this Civic as a selection choice mainly due to it's pricing & exterior design. For me, this Civic design will definitely stand the test of time !

What I like
1) Powerful Engine & Smooth Pickup Speed

2) Love it or Hate it exterior design
(I definitely like this retro & mini-Accord look !)

3) Honda Sensing Safety features makes driving a breeze with it's software drives the car for you in a safe manner !
(of course driver needs to be on the control too)

4) Biggest amount of front & rear seats space (compared to Altis & Mazda 3)

5) Simple yet Premium interior design !

What I do not like
1) CVT sometimes can be noisy but for awhile only once it's speed is stabilised.

2) Seating height can be a little low thus exiting from car may takes time to get used to it.


supresass
Neutral Newbie
56 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Turbocharged power for this new Civic!  Posted on 21 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
If your looking for some turbo power in your family sedan, this Civic is your option. It comes with a new and cleaned up design, along with a more premium interior as well.

What I like
The drivetrain is impressive. It still sounds not-so-great thanks to a CVT transmission, but the cabin is kept quiet enough so it shouldn't really be a problem, and there's acceptable push from the engine as well. Not fast per se, but still enough to make the car feel unstrained on the go.

But the real improvement in the new Civic is its cabin. The honeycomb design is ok, nothing really special to look at in my opinion, but the way the controls click are all very impressive. Build quality is also good, although it still doesn't quite match up to the Mazda 3, which comes with a more clean interior still, all wrapped up in leather.

What I do not like
Yes, yes, halogen head lights, and the use of black plastic everywhere in the cabin, and the engine bay is a complete mess of cabling. You can't have it all I guess.


SFSG
Clutched
1 reviews
10 points
34 forum posts Joined on 19-May-2022
Poor quality  Posted on 21 May 2022
spacer
 

Review
Like
Nice interior
Good Handling

Dislike
Poor QC standard of this car
Halogen headlight

Complaint
Shock absorber spoil, need to replace

Steering clicking, need to replace

Dashboard creaking plastic sound

Door panel give out poping sound every morning and evening

Rattling from seatbelt

Long waiting time of parts

Poor support from KM

All above happen from first day of collecting car


beatdrive
Neutral Newbie
16 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
New Honda Civic!  Posted on 21 Dec 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Design wise, this new civic is probably the best indication of the model growing with its audiences. Back in the 90s Civics are the prime boy-racer cars. Now, like the people who used to enjoy them, the Civic has matured.

This new Civic has a milder, but classy look, I suspect it will age much better than the outgoing model.

What I like
- Simpler, classier design
- Quality interior
- Same nice Honda drive as expected

What I do not like
- Looks like power has been curbed, probably for the sake of COE category here. Would likely be able to unleash more power with aftermarket mods and tunes.


Conan86
1st Gear
8 reviews
48 points
88 forum posts Joined on 08-Jul-2019
All grown up but lost some mojo..  Posted on 21 Dec 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
Had hope that this generation of Civic had really improved after browsing thru some reviews. Turns out the reviews may have been too lenient on the car.. Interior styling is pretty nice and practical. Exterior is really questionable.. But it can look good in certain colours. Sadly the engine is down tuned to fit into our unique market but it can't be helped since this is ultimately a BnB car. The car expectedly drives ok and well during normal conditions.. Push a little harder and you'll realise that it's not meant for any form of spirited driving with its engine and CVT setup.. Handling of the car is good but it's Japanese competitors are also good if not better in this aspect..

What I like
+ Wireless Apple CarPlay
+ 1.5L turbo means lots of potential at your own risk
+ Spacious and practical cabin
+ Honda Sensing and Lane Watch
+ Nice illuminated scuff plates

What I do not like
- CVT drone is terrible when pushing a little harder
- Loud engine and road noise
- NVH is average
- Halogen headlights!!!?? On the flip side it's cheaper to replace if the bulb blows… but come on….
- QC/Build Quality.. not sure if it's due to MIT..


turbotan
2nd Gear
1 reviews
115 points
154 forum posts Joined on 18-Jan-2016
Huge upgrade from the 8th generation civic  Posted on 08 Dec 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Having owned this car for about 2 months now, it simply brings a smile to my face when I drive it. No doubt it may not be the fastest car around but the handling is one of, if not the, best in this class. The steering is so light compared to my old car and the spacious interior and comfortable seats also feel very premium. Even the doors feel solid and heavy compared to my previous car which felt light and cheap. Initially was comparing this car along with the Cerato, Avante and A3, but went for this car instead. In fact, I bought the Civic even though I only test drove the Cerato and Avante which I felt the enjoyment in driving these two cars was sorely lacking. Plus, having owned a Hyundai before my previous car I can say that although they have improved leaps and bounds, you still can not get the same fun factor compared to driving a Civic. Also comparing with the A3 which I felt was quite cramp inside especially the rear. While the other Korean makes have lots of fancy features which the Civic doesn't have, the drive itself beats these two cars hands down. To be honest, most features that you need are already equipped in the Civic unless you want to nitpick. Of course there will be comparisons to the 10th gen turbo which produce much more power and torque, but due to the nature of the COE this car was down tuned to cater to Cat A. Nevertheless it is still adequate for daily driving and pickup is just enough to overtake most cars. Although I have found a couple of tuners who are able to unlock much more power from the engine I will enjoy it for now. Honda sensing is much improved to my surprise compared to the first generation Vezel sensing, it really adds a lot of confidence in your driving and I can say that it is pretty accurate. As for the exterior, looks are really subjective - I didn't like the look of it initially from the pictures but you have to see the car in person to really appreciate it. It no longer has the boy racer wannabe looks from the 10th generation where the fake vents doesn't make the car look nice (unless it is the Type R), instead it looks more mature and more Accord like. Overall I am really pleased with the car so far - does it justify the price tag compared to the competition? Maybe not. But is it a better car than the Korean cars? For me that's a definite YES.

What I like
- Responsive engine and smooth CVT
- Cabin Space
- Honda Sensing performance
- Great handling
- Wireless Apple Carplay
- Premium feel across the board in the interior

What I do not like
- Wireless charging performance is tacky if you use a MagSafe case.
- Head unit Equaliser could have more tweaking options
- Wished it came with Dual pipe exhaust instead (Look nicer)
- No LED headlights (because FOMO, not like you can see when you are sitting inside)


quippery
Neutral Newbie
78 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
All round refinement for the family  Posted on 28 Nov 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
The new Honda Civic now comes with a simplified exterior design that is a little more grown up than the previous generation.

What I like
The turbocharged engine may be less than what most people are expecting, but still delivers on smoothness and refinement. It is paired to a CVT but it still sounds ok as long as you don't push the engine too hard.

Cabin feels properly premium and well put together. I think the honeycomb pattern in the dash will give all passengers something to talk about and the air-conditioning vent controls are a classy touch.

What I do not like
The new Civic is asking for a lot and does not even come with LED headlights when the Honda City does. Lane watch should also give you a camera feed on both sides of the car instead of just the passenger side.


kobayashiGT
Twincharged
1 reviews
29,645 points
14548 forum posts Joined on 21-Oct-2013
Great car - does everything I need  Posted on 26 Nov 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Simply the most enjoyable car to drive in all respects. Excellent driving position. I've previously owned eight Honda Accords over 30+ years. I wish the current Civic had been available sooner. The styling is "Marmite" - you love it or hate it. I have got used to it and like it.

What I like
cvt transmission beautifully smooth.

What I do not like
Fuel consumption slightly lower than I had hoped

Honda Civic
4 stars - based on 9 reviews