Suzuki SX4 Sedan

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Suzuki SX4 1.6 (A)
10 Jan 2010  |  Suzuki Reviews
The SX4 comes off a line of very successful and affordable cars from Suzuki. So is the latest SX4 deserving of the same reputation that’s been built up?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Suzuki SX4 Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
17 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
14 out of 17 (82.4%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

17 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
WayneTohBunChin
1st Gear
2 reviews
16 points
44 forum posts Joined on 15-Apr-2016
My first car  Posted on 27 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I bought the older version of SX4 sedan. It's reliable and of course if you take care of it. I bought a 2nd hand SX4 from car dealer, condition was bad at first, but once you send in for timely servicing and take care of it the car will not give you any problem at all! Yes AT ALL!

as SX4 is my first car after i obtained my license, it's a very good and simple car for beginner. Recommend SX4 for new driver.

What I like
1. The veh is 'tall' and has a lot of head space.
2. Huge side mirror. SX4 was my first car, therefore with the huge side mirror, i can use it to do alot of good reverse parking.
3. The interior of the car is nice
4. The car is easy to handle.
5. The boot space is huge. Able to squeeze in one of my friend. And the back passenger seat I'm about to squeeze in 6 mid size friend. ahah! not bad for the 1.6 car.
6. very strong car front. I went into an accident when I started driving for 2 months. My SX4 kissed a chervolet taxi, from my driver seat, i saw the taxi suffered a very bad dent at the boot area and i was telling myself to be prepare to see a dented car front, but to my surprise, my car didnt suffer any dent AT ALL. and the chervolet boot dented in so badly. so, i will say good car material that keep me safe when i kiss the taxi. haha

What I do not like
1. not very fuel efficient, but understandable as it doesn't come with any feature that will ease ur fuel consumption
2. To be honest, nothing much I dislike as I'm someone who are simple. This car is good enough to ferry you from point A to point B without giving you any issue.

Mervynwm
1st Gear
126 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The Sportier NEW SX4 Sedan.  Posted on 10 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the earlier model of the SX4 sedan and only found the engine acceptable at that time.

The exterior is very boxy and not appealing at all except for its boot space. Not even have fog lamps as standard.

The interior was very basic and not much at all. Don't even have things like climate aircon, electric folding mirrors compared to its other competitors.

However, this NEW SX4 SEDAN (advertised as 2010 version) has good improvements.

The exterior styling looks more sportier and curvier (looks like the WRC model except for its a sedan). Also, it comes with standard 16-inch rims (if I didn't remember wrongly).

Interior comes with climate aircon, electric folding mirrors, better audio system, leather seats, better head and leg room (great if you have tall people around).

The drive is quite good and engine is responsive when you rev it. Pickup is ok too. Turning corners are great with lesser body roll with 16-inch. It will be better if it comes with standard 5-speed gearbox.

Price wise is acceptable but options and freebies from agent are limited. Hope they can add more to this like rims upgrade, spoiler, etc.

Overall is a good car to have for this price as compared to other pricier makes out there as not many MADE IN JAPAN agent carried cars are around if some don't mind the brand name (esp. to some business people out there).

What I like
- Sportier looks
- Climate aircon
- Electric folding mirrors
- Signal light indicator on side mirror
- Great head room and leg room on both front and back seats
- Responsive engine during drive and rev
- Acceptable FC for a 1.6L (according to statistics and sales person)
- Better audio system compared to previous model (can't remember if there is aux and/or ipod cable)
- Huge boot space (same like previous model)
- 100% Made In Japan

What I do not like
- No manual 5-speed gearbox option
- No 5-speed auto gearbox
- No remote boot release
- Don't have other rims design or other size to choose from agent. Troublesome that have to go aftermarket.
- Didn't see adjustable steering wheel feature
- No sun roof or moon roof as option

Karthik
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Jan-2010
Comfortable car  Posted on 24 Jan 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
SX4 give more comfortable than some of the cars in the same category. It gave an almost luxurious feel to the drive. SX4 gives a lot of head room even for the tallest of people.

BlackSun
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
9 forum posts Joined on 03-Nov-2009
Made in Japan + Looks + Value for Money + Emotion made up my mind to get the SX4  Posted on 12 Dec 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
After comparing cars like Vios, Latio and even Avante and Polo, I decided to get the SX4.

Made in Japan - never underestimate country-of-origin. MIJ was a priority even for a compact eveyday car. Plus Suzuki just used SX4 body, interior and chassis for WRC so I'm assured. I'm a little more discerning than practical.

Looks - new crossover design, big & tall, aggressive and purposeful. No complaints about how this car looks so far from users.

Value for Money - rear disc brakes, bodykit, leather seats, revvy and bulletproof VVT engine donated from Swift Sports. FC is average but that's compromised for bigger body, larger wheels and sturdier suspension system.

Emotion - to pay S$50-60K big ones I gotta love my car. I drive everyday and see about 20-30 Vios, 10-15 Latios and more and more Avantes. How many SX4s? Sometimes none. Unpopular? Maybe due to marketing and herd mentality of Singaporeans. Unpractical? Never and has a few class-leading features. Exclusive? 100% with Made in Japan pride to boot.

Just my choice opinions and other cars stated have their own strong selling points

What I like
1. Made in Japan. Same as my big ticket items like LCD TV, laptop, fridge and Hifi system. Pay more, expect and get more.

2. FC - 13-14km/L. 60% highway and 40% city driving.

3. New crossover looks. Bit more exciting and unique on the roads.

4. Handling. Very little cornering tilt compared to my pervious Latio, even when the SX4 is taller.

5. Body kit and better stock sound system compared to my previous Latio.

6. Very quiet compared to other models except Avante.

What I do not like
After using the car for some time:

1. Door key needs to be flicked twice to open all doors. No keyless entry.

2. Driver's auto window winds down with a push of button, but needs to hold button to wind up again.

3. Armrest is shakey due to narrow mounting and screw attachments.

4. Boot does not have latch to open. Needs key or release catch under driver's seat.

Nothing else.

Redsunns
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Test drive but gave it up  Posted on 10 Oct 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drive last year once. The room space to me is abit crampy, but the handling of the car is nice. As stated in the reviews, it give a driving luxury feeling.

But the ahpek/uncle sales who entertained me is kinda of ai-mai ai-mai attitude... and cannot give me the trust in him... knowledge on the car in lacking. In the end, i settled for Latio.

What I like
Car itself other than room space.

What I do not like
Customer service
Cramppy feeling

Chankb
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-May-2009
Most reliable car I've owned  Posted on 17 Jun 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
SX4 give more comfortable than some of the cars in the same category. It gave an almost luxurious feel to the drive. SX4 gives a lot of head room even for the tallest of people. The car comes with 2 SRS airbags and ABS with EDB to make sure the car stays on the road.

Johnnyong
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2009
Suzuki SX4 is a dose of fresh air in the compact sedan market.  Posted on 10 Jun 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The SX4 Sedan reflects Suzuki’s brand values i.e. giving buyers a strong and competent package at a very reasonable price. For all its virtues and qualities, SX4 Sedan raise above the competition.

What I like
- SX4’s tall roofline
- ample headroom
- reasonable rear legroom
- Huge luggage area

What I do not like
- Small rims, 16inch would have been better
- Below average FC, about 9km/L (combined) in my case

Pandaeyes
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
4 points
364 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2006
Not too bad for a mid range jap car!  Posted on 18 Mar 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
A Jap car with Italian Styling by Guigaro who designed Alfas and Fiats. Sister car in Europe is actually Fiat Sedici.

What I like
1) Front looks, fierce styling

2) Boot Space is enormous

3) Great interior

4) Nice leather seats that hug you

5) Handling as the suspension can be hard

6) Great engine; not as refined as Hondas but in my opinion, it has a strong engine that can revved up to 6000rpm without feeling any strain. Sporty note to it probably due to the fact that the engine is borrowed from the Swift Sport.

7) It has the same amount of torque as the swift sport but this has a de-tuned bhp from the swift sport.

What I do not like
1) Lack of aftermarket modifications to cosmetics, e.g. spoilers, massive body kits.

2) No manual transmission. I do not see why the manual trans could not have been brought in when all base models in other brands like Toyota can bring in.

3) Hate the butt of the car. Ugly in my opinion.

Babygoh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Cheap and good japanese car.  Posted on 12 Mar 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Compare to tomyam cars and kimchi cars, this sushi car really make your money worth every single cent out of it.

What I like
- good FC (13.5km/l)
- comes with stock bodykit
- nice driving view and handling
- sporty
- very huge car boot
- cheap for a japan made car
- very classic interior
- auto a/c

What I do not like
- not much after market parts
- 15" rims.
- car still look high even if you upsize your rims to 17".
- no spoiler

Aric_68
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Awsome Sporty Sedan  Posted on 12 Mar 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This car was not in my first car selection until i test drove it. The feel was great and i was very impressed with the comfort, sporty and handling!

What I like
Mostly everything about the car itself.
Original bodykits.
Great handling.

What I do not like
Only 1 thing i don't like is the 15 inch original sport rim is too small for this car. I prefer this car fix with 17inch sport rim + 215/45/R17 tyre! :p

Jeff_y3
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Lousy dealer  Posted on 08 Mar 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The authorised dealer is not keen to bid for a COE for potential buyers. Booked my SX4 for more than a month and the dealer bid very low for 2 rounds of bidding. Wondering why they accept the our deposit if they're not interested to register our car.

What I like
Nice interior and accessories.

What I do not like
Lousy dealer.

Spurs88
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Best of the Lot  Posted on 05 Feb 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought this last month. Car admired by many. Best car I owned for the past 10 years

What I like
Comfortable, good FC

What I do not like
None

Cheeky21
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Good Car -- not a good dealer, " Champion motors"  Posted on 09 Oct 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Hi JR0031, while I was reading your story, I felt you are narrating my story. We are exactly in the same boat. I am very much frustrated on my opportunity loss.

While the biding was going on, the dealer did not bother to tweak the reserve price at all,and remained silent to the actual movement of the bid value. It was a clear message that the dealer doesn't want to register our car.

What I do not like
Support from the dealer.

JR0031
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Great car, but not-so-great dealer  Posted on 09 Oct 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Although the performance and characteristics of the car are essential considerations in buying a car, the service and attitude of the dealer towards its customers or potential customers are equally important. Unfortunately, while the SX4 is a good car, the dealer Championship Motor does not inspire confidence in me.

Months ago when the COE was down, I ordered an SX4 sedan. However, the company has failed to secure a COE for me after the previous 2 biddings. My friends who bought from established dealers like Toyota on the other hand have already received their cars. At the last bidding, the reserve price which Champion Motors set was few hundred dollars lesser than the eventual COE price. What appalled me the most was that they did not bother to revise the reserve price at any point in time during the bidding. This shows a lack of effort on the company's part and they are more interested in saving that few hundred dollars than making a genuine attempt to secure the COE for their customers. Although the contract says "3 non-guaranteed bids", many of you familiar with cars will know that Toyota and Honda also give non-guaranteed bids. Some of my friends who bought their cars from Toyota even thought they had a guaranteed bid because they got their cars at first time of bidding.

My impression is that Championship Motor probably reduced the price too low when the COE was very low, and they're have difficulty securing the COE for customers as soon as possible because they have a very small margin to play with. So now I am left with no car and I have missed the window when the COE was low and other cars were very cheap. Who's going to compensate me for the opportunity costs that I have lost?

So for those of you thinking of buying a Suzuki car, please bear my story in mind and decide for yourself if you want to risk unnecessary delay or even not receiving a car at the end of the day, esp when you are paying a substantial sum of money for your car.

What I like
Mostly everything about the car itself

What I do not like
The dealer

Affliche
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Very good Sporty Drive  Posted on 09 Oct 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Great car for the family man who enjoy a sporty drive!

What I like
-Tall roomy Interior
-Stock equipment perfect would be good to stock GPS too
-Standard stock body kit
-Ferry 5 adults with ease
-Strange blend of sports & comfort
-Sporty and zippy city ride
-Nice, comfortable cruise @ 100KM

What I do not like
Average FC
-11 to 12 KM/L (90 % City driving)
-15 to 17 KM/L (90% Expressway driving)
-50% Cycle is about 13KM/L

They should have throw in a rear lip and it would be perfect!

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Suzuki SX4 Sedan 4 stars - based on 17 reviews