Toyota Alphard

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Alphard 2.4 (A)
06 Nov 2009  |  Toyota Reviews
Toyota’s Alphard has been around for a while now, albeit through unofficial distribution channels. But did the recent facelift do more than update just its looks?
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Nissan Elgrand 2.5 Highway Star 7-seater (A) vs Toyota Alphard 2.4 (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Alphard
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
8 out of 8 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Guangster
1st Gear
1 reviews
91 points
85 forum posts Joined on 04-Jun-2010
What more can you expect?  Posted on 05 Nov 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just test drive the Toyota Alphard and was impressed by the room offer inside the car especially on the second row. The seat has a large hand rest and the amazing space to raise up the foot rest. Although with the huge body, the car is able to pick up speed fast, effortlessly and quiet throughout the whole test drive.

What I like
The thing I love about is the dual power sliding doors which is automatic and so convenient which will close itself with a slight push and ensure safely closed.

What I do not like
Price

Marcelo_Faiz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Jul-2012
this is the best car my father had owned!  Posted on 25 Jul 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
My father had just bought this car and it is very luxurious and it was very smooth riding. Comfortability is excellent it is not squeezy like many other MPVs. I dream to have this car since i was 9 years old because my father's friend had owned this car and i feel like im in a heaven car. Five days ago my father said he cant buy the alphard. I was so sad. My father said to wait outside while he get his car. My father arrived with the alphard. I was so shocked. I did not have a clue that he wants to suprise me. This is the best car ever!

What I like
I like everything about this car

What I do not like
I do not like nothing from this car.

JingHng_1990
Clutched
47 reviews
13 points
12 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2010
Nothing for Luxury than the Alphard.  Posted on 28 May 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Hi all! Just test drove the Alphard 2 days ago. It was elegant and distinctive like a Lexus.
Very roomy like other mpv but pick the best only for your family. I love it!

What I like
-Size
-Ride comfort
-Steering
-High quality leather
-Sliding door
-Lots of storage compartments
-Bulid quality
-Looks like lexus on the inside

What I do not like
-Price is on the high end
-FC not its best trend

Eurospeed
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The king of PMV (3.5 V6)  Posted on 28 May 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Personally, i am very much into sports car, but when it comes to family, choosing the right mpv is important. i have tried numerous mpvs but the alphard is definitely one choice they provides status especially. it might be a bit show off to say"no HDB owner's mpv" but the alphard comments respects for chauffering the vips and hong kong stars!

What I like
With the current high specs "s" full option model, it makes you feels like travelling inside a hotel suite. the interior room light and the pilot seats make you want to sit in it forever. the kids will be even be touted to sleep in it with that cozy ambience. it is really worth spending a bit more fr the family sometimes. and the 3.5 V6 model is the ideal self driving owners as it produces the smoothest drive in the mpv era.

What I do not like
Unable to go into old hdb carparks when i need to go for my old town favorite food. of course lowering it with a sports suspension will help. the shape of it might be a bit boxy, hope they can come out with more aero dynamic models in future.

JingHng_1990
Clutched
47 reviews
13 points
12 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2010
Super car  Posted on 04 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
My uncle drives this car for quite a long time for now. Yesterday, I took the car out for a spin and handling was amazing and I was jubilant to see 6 air bags in sgcarmart. Design was quite okay. Less van like compared to Elgrand.

What I like
6 airbags
Sunroof
Knockdown seats
roomy inside
okay looking outside
steering wheel has audio control

What I do not like
Nothing much at the moment.

Diubert
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Only the 3.5 V6 is good  Posted on 20 Dec 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Not driven the 2.4 but I am sure its underpowered and cannot comment on that as I have driven the 3.5L. Its a grat car to accomodate all 7 adults and the ottoman works great. Unfortunately, its beige interior can get dirty quickly if not maintained well. The car is an excellent drive and if you are in the market for a luxurious MPV. Get the 3.5 one. No real regrets. and smooth with more than enough power to tap on

What I like
Space
design
Silent
Relatively maintenance free (as in nothing out of the ordinary)

What I do not like
Petrol consumption is high but as is with the design and weight of these types of vehicles
Some people may not like the bodyroll (my suggestion~fit strut bars and change suspension from TRD)

Lansing
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2009
a passsenger van.  Posted on 23 Nov 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
i had a chance to drive this van for 2 weeks. and i must say its performance is rather disappointing.

When occupied with 7 adults, i have to almost floored the accelerator to pick up. It is only quiet when driven alone.

What I like
its height and presence.

What I do not like
2.4 under powered.

around 6km/l

big turning radius

many car-parks not accessible due to its height. One must really check out the car-park height limit before attempting to enter. Encountered few embarrassing moment when i reach the gantry only to find that it cannot make it through.

blind spot.

Ferraricalifornia
Turbocharged
2 reviews
9,382 points
9310 forum posts Joined on 12-Jan-2009
The showcase of TRUE Luxury  Posted on 23 Nov 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
i was truly blown away after testdriving the Alphard 2.4L by Borneo motors. The way it cruises and drives is just unbelievable. It drives more like a car than a van, like what it's exterior size suggests. Despite having a OMV of over $40,000 Borneo is able to price it at $145,988 and that is true value-for-money for what you're getting.

What I like
Borneo only bring in the 7-seater version, with 3 recliners with legrest. You can't hear the tyre and road noise when on the move as you're in a raised cabin, steering is very light even though the car weighs 1950kg. It's a truly spacious car, not even an S-Class comes near it! Value-for-money pricing, especially if you consider all the luxury you're getting.

What I do not like
Borneo motors don't bring in the Sunroof version, interior stains easily as its Lexus-like Beige, there is noticeable bodyroll even when turning in slowly, but that said, the feeling is far from toppling over! Since Toyota opted for super soft suspension, expect a real bouncy ride, even when cruising at 80kph. The 3rd row is meant for 2 people, and not the usual 3. Performance from the 2.4L leaves the driver and passengers wanting for more. It needs to be revved just to keep up with traffic, resulting in an unappealing engine noise intruding into the cabin. The rear air-con also needs to work hard just to cool down the cabin. Competition from Parallel Importers allows for more options spec if you buy from them. Meant only for business purposes, and not for family use.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Toyota Alphard 4 stars - based on 8 reviews