Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class CLA 45 AMG (A)
05 Mar 2014  |  Mercedes-Benz Reviews
The CLA 45 AMG is like a bad boy in a three-piece Hugo Boss suit. But does it warrant hooliganism like its hot hatch sibling A 45 AMG? We find out...
spacer
Facelift

The Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class was facelifted on Dec 2016. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
5 out of 8 (62.5%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
maxsee333
2nd Gear
2 reviews
196 points
58 forum posts Joined on 30-Nov-2018
Review of CLA180 after 2 years of owning it...  Posted on 05 Mar 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
It is almost 2 years since we own the CLA180. My CO got it in late 2017. Exterior is really nice and she was impress by the self parking that resulted in her getting the ride. Sad to say till now did not use the self parking even once, nice to have but not practical considering how long it takes to park itself.

She seriously regretted not comparing to AUDI and Lexus before getting the car. Over the last 2 years, vehicle has a total mileage of less than 6k km. But it broke down recently due to electrical fault. Seriously, 6200 km only and it broke down. Repairs was suppose to come up to 4k on the invoice but was waived off due to warranty of the vehicle for the first three years. What a relief.

Answer given on this issue was electrical fault is something we can't control...ZZz

This car to me is seriously underpowered. The exterior looks fierce and curvy. But the engine performance is seriously not on par with the looks. I compare it to my new Audi A4 which arrive not long ago. It is like comparing a turtle to a hare when u talks about pick up for both. But then most would say comparing a 1.6L vehicle to a 2.0L vehicle is not fair. True in a way, but for the money i need to pump in. There are a lot of better cars out there.

What I like
Car exterior looks curvy and nice.
After sales service is really good.
Vehicle broke down once but Service advisor is really nice and attended to the problem promptly.

What I do not like
Rear headroom is poor.
Engine perfomance is lackluster.
Car Interior looks cheap.
Suspension is poor.
Ride is seriously bumpy.
Not a reliable car at all.

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
139 points
62 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Too small for average sized adults  Posted on 06 Jan 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Small rear seats and limited headroom was an immediate put off. Steering wheel was slightly tilted to left. Very uncomfortable drive. Suspension was bumpy and cla200 was shockingly underpowered. Good price but not worth considering audi has better pricing.

What I like
style
good handling

What I do not like
clumsy suspension
Below average premium car interior(no where near bmw and audi)

Buckrogers
2nd Gear
1 reviews
154 points
32 forum posts Joined on 08-Jan-2006
Most Stylish Mercedes Benz for youngsters!  Posted on 30 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have owned and driven my CLA 180 Shooting Brake for slightly over a year. The initial package did not come with SAT-NAV and I upgraded the HU to include Garmin GPS, SAT Nav and Apple CarPlay. The car is perfect after this upgrade!

Drive is pretty hard at times as I suspect the suspension is a little on the hard side but the handling and cornering are superb, although still a few notches below bimmer 320 but better than the Bimmer 730LI (spaceship hahaha).

Space is a little tight for 3 passengers at the back but sufficient for 2 with the armrest down (cupholders as well).

What I like
- coupe like and sporty shape with frameless door!
- huge truck space
- buttons and controls are within reach
- comfortable seats
- auto park feature
- good safety sensors
- cruise control, speed limiter etc

What I do not like
- heat intrusion into the cabin
- slightly high road noise (due to the frameless door)
- lousy battery installed during manufacturing (battery flat at 12-13k mileage)
- high rear seat head rest (low back mirror visibility)
- no distronic installed as standard.

Phcar
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
8 points
5 forum posts Joined on 01-Sep-2011
Lexus  Posted on 23 Dec 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Last week I had a chance to test drive the Mercedes CLA180 that my cousin had just purchased it. The car looks great for the outside and it definitely is a coupe series instead of a sedan because of the slopping back of the car. My opinion on most mid size Mercedes is that the front door opening is to small and it always will hit your head if u r slightly more than 5.8 feet in height. The car inside is small as said it’S a coupe. The front dashboard has a standing monitor built like most cars nowadays and it looks like a lap top standing which is not conceal nicely or build in neatly, our heat here will boil the monitor up when park in the open! The console is very simple just like any ordinary small Japanese car.
As I was drinking the car I felt the engine is sluggish noisy and and cooling system temperature seem high, I don’T understand why most European cars temperature are quite high especially when you open the bonnet. The engine insulation and car insulation is poor while driving it.
I like the driver seat very solid and comfortable and back seats are small and low. I felt that the smaller Mercedes are built like most Japanese cars nowadays as the prices for CLA and C class are very affordable.

What I like
The S series

What I do not like
Shape is weird
Overall insulation is poor
Engine performance normal
Very simple interior dashboard console
Cooling system is poor

Momokai
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
9 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Has to be the best-value Mercedes Benz!  Posted on 06 Sep 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
One of the most beautiful midsize luxury sedans (coupes) in the market. While the C Class is the baby S Class, this CLA is certainly the baby CLS (but much better looking).

A little sluggish from stop, this car's acceleration kicks-in at mid-range. 7G is a beauty as the gears shift up quickly to ensure a balanced fuel/performance approach. The handling is faultless, brakes superb. Due to the dynamic suspension setting, the ride can be unforgiving at times, but the cornering is near perfect with little to no roll. On the whole, a nice package from Mercedes Benz. Personally, I find this better built than the C Class.

What I like
Plenty to note:
- looks great (the baby CLS)
- excellent handling (and the ideal steering wheel)
- stability on the run
- fuel efficiency
- quality finishing
- excellent seats, especially driver's seat
- lack of keyless entry and start/stop
- frameless windows - makes it look like a coupe 5 times more expensive.

What I do not like
There are a few surprises:
- engine heat intrusion
- road noise intrusion
- lag in the turbo
- high engine temperature
- firm ride quality
- a GPS that can't be used

Wolfverine
2Fast2Furious
10 reviews
22,961 points
849 forum posts Joined on 04-Dec-2005
Nice looking 4-door coupe  Posted on 19 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The exterior styling is the primary selling point of this model. I find it weird for folks to comment on the sloping roof and the discomfort for the rear passengers knowing jolly well this is a coupe! I personally find the rear headroom acceptable for a small coupe like the CLA.

However, the overall ride comfort is quite harsh.

Singaporeguy28
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Dec-2012
Best Car I've Owned!  Posted on 07 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is the most spacious coupe you can find in the market. Many people say the back headroom is too low, but really this was great for my young family. My 1.68m tall wife was ok with it sitting at the back. Being young, I wished for a great looking sports car coupe so this car is really a godsend. It's spacious in the front, has killer looks, and still allows you to put your family behind. I think when I get older, I'll consider the C200 family sedan, but for now I prefer to drive something my age agrees with.

I've owned this car for about 3 years now and it's my best ride so far. Previously I was driving a BMW 5 series and Honda Civic. I'm glad I chose the CLA200 over the CLA180 because the CLA180 is simply underpowered. The CLA200 is a big jump, with the acceleration at the useful lower revs of about 1400-1700rpm. The BMW I drove earlier is rather wide, which makes HDB carparks hard to manoevre. The CLA200 is easier. If you have a child, this makes opening doors that much easier.

What I like
I owned the AMG Line which cost $10,000 more at C&C and the lower suspension gives me more grip when I drive, especially cornering. The steering is precise and the acceleration is great. This is such a good looking car, Mercedes uses it to drive all their worldwide advertising campaign. So I'm very proud of this. It gets a lot of head turns. I also like the big boot, which is larger than the C200 boot (longer). C200 is taller. The FC is now great after driving for 3 years. When bought new, it was just very average until I hit about 15,000km. I also love the frameless door.

What I do not like
In hindsight, I think I would buy one at 2nd hand because the AMG Line is so expensive when bought new. At 2nd hand, it cost just a little more. I also don't like that you have to press the air circulation everytime you start the car, C&C says it's a safety precaution. But I think it's a bad excuse.

HumdeeDumdee
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
18 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Jul-2016
Design and comfort  Posted on 14 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I collect my CLA200 about 2 months back. Bought it during Chinese New Year when Cat B COE was lower than Cat A. So the CLA180 and CLA200 were priced the same. It makes sense to go for the CLA200.

What I like
I like the design of the car and its comfort drive. When put in the Sports mode, I can really feel the power of the car. I usually drive at Comfort mode.
The back is more spacious than I thought. Boot space is larger than I expected. I t can fit in 2 pieces of 26" luggage and 1 20" luggage nicely.

What I do not like
There are certain design flaws e.g the multimedia screen blocks the front sensor indicator. If Merc can do something about it, that will be good. I am still getting used to the gear box. The coupe design make the rear passengers getting in and out of the car challenging.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class 3.5 stars - based on 8 reviews