Kia Cerato K3

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Kia Forte K3 1.6 SX (A)
05 Sep 2016  |  Kia Reviews
Kia's ever-popular mid-sized sedan may only be a facelift, but the K3 receives multiple updates that will leave you wondering if it's a brand new model.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Kia Cerato K3 vs Subaru Impreza vs Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Kia Cerato K3
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
80 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
79 out of 80 (98.8%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

80 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Pigjedi
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
10 points
14 forum posts Joined on 28-Feb-2017
Impressive Korean Car  Posted on 09 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this car multiple times while shopping for my new car. Even though I ended up with an Audi as I am a badge whore, this car impressed me enough to make me want to write a review for it. Can you believe it? There was a serious dilemma for me between this car and an Audi.

The interior quality was surprisingly good. Materials were good for its price. Tons of features available as standard. However, my old car was the Kia Forte and when these electronic features fail, you will have tons of repairs to make. Just a warning.

Ride is decent. Noise level ok. Space is good and 5 adults can comfortably fit. The design of the K3 is excellent and looks like a European car. Not surprising as the designer was from Audi. Too bad he is retiring.
The interior dash is a bit too cluttered for me.

The engine is a bit weak though. Not much power from a 1.6L . There is a slight struggle on slopes. Handling is a touch light.

Good value for money car. Get you from A to B comfortably. Tons of features to play with. But not for people looking for a fun drive.

What I like
-Good quality materials
-Spacious
-Great value for money with tons of features and gadgets

What I do not like
-Weak engine
-Light steering

Yongtuck
Clutched
1 reviews
25 points
16 forum posts Joined on 16-Jan-2007
Kia K3  Posted on 16 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought EX during car motor show. Love the driving experience, Korean car indeed improve tremendously, above my expectation. 10/10 good rating from friends.

What I like
Insulation very good
motrex HU with apple car play
large cabin space
good leg and head room space
Chio DRL
Chio tail light
nice 16inch rim
powerful aircon
smooth transmission
feel luxury
high rear bumper design that clear parking kerb easily
at least 10k cheaper compare to jap car of this size

What I do not like
tyres abit noisy
stock speaker not really good
EX model did not come with push start
EX model did not have steering wheel leather wrap

JoshuaChe
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Jan-2017
Great BnB Car  Posted on 24 Jan 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got the SX last week. Enjoying the stable feel of this car, does not feel as wobbly as the attrage which I sat in while taking Uber. Interior feels good and feature packed (although not all features are used). Ventilated seats very shiok

Things I dislike are the poor radio reception of the HU, vibrating feeling (like in manual car gear 1, there is shaking feeling when never properly clutch in) when in 1k-2k rpm @ 40-60kmh, and a little weak pick-up from low speed.

My FC so far on average is 13.0, hoping this will increase after 1k engine oil change.

What I like
Interior (ventilated seats!!)
Stable drive
Parking sensors useful in tight spots
Decent FC, expecting ~14 next 1k service

What I do not like
Weak radio reception
Weak pick-up intially
Vibration at low RPMS.

Whattheheck
2nd Gear
1 reviews
245 points
204 forum posts Joined on 07-Jul-2016
Best Bang For The Buck  Posted on 20 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Reasonable priced. Tons of features. Ppl who sit in my car told me that if I didn't tell them it was a Kia, they would have tot it was an upmarket European car. Fuel consumption I am getting for 70% City/ 30% Highway ranges from 9km/lit to 16km/lit. Depending on how heavy/light footed I am. Aftersales support at Cycle & Carriage is excellent. They won't try to push unnecessary things to sell you during servicing. They go out of the way to satisfy your request.

What I like
Tons of features
Stable ride at high speed
Wide body means a lot of space in the cabin
Excellent after sales service

What I do not like
Acceleration is not as fast as I prefered. But it is a heavy car at close to 1.3ton and 1.6litre engine only.
Fast enough for SG/Msia.

kianewbie
Clutched
1 reviews
33 points
130 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2015
Surprisingly good and reliable car I've owned  Posted on 16 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Drove the pre FL K3 for almost a year. Never regret choosing it.

Almost all passengers commented on the spacious rear passengers area, rear air vent and almost flat surface.

Really enjoying the ride everyday.
Firstly, it will greet you when you approach the car by opening its "Ears" (side mirrors) and light up.

Getting into and out the car is easy and hassle free as the driver seat is automatically adjusted.

With pressed of a button, it will start the engine and my journey starts.

The insulation is quite good too with almost only tires noise.

What I like
Spacious rear passenger seats
Cruise control
Ventilated seat
Memory seat
Rear air vent

What I do not like
2 Air bags (maybe because 1 batch ahead got 6)
Halogen Headlight (maybe because 1 batch ahead got HID)

Multi
5th Gear
2 reviews
1,244 points
1666 forum posts Joined on 02-May-2003
KIA - The power to Surprise - Yes indeed  Posted on 12 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was deciding between the Elantra and the K3 and eventually chose the K3 due to the better interior quality material used and the full features of a luxuries model. Power from the 1.6L Gamma engine is adequate but nothing to shout about. If full load of 5 pax, it struggle abit when taking off but when the momentum start rolling, its smooth sailing all the way. Interior sound proofing have improved, gearchange is smooth, FC I'm getting 13.2L/Km which is a far cry from my previous SUV which the best is 7L/Km.

What I like
1. Memory seat
2 rear air con
3. Motrex system which support Android Auto
4. Passenger side Auto window down/up
5. Smart trunk
6. 17" Rims from KIA factory

What I do not like
1. No HID as standard
2. Noisy Nexen tires

limzanat
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
7 points
73 forum posts Joined on 25-Sep-2016
Most Bang For Buck Car in Cat A, Conti Feel in asian Car  Posted on 11 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving this car(SX Version) since 19 nov 2016 and i must say that this car is WOW ! I was in the market for a new car as my previous vehicle was spoiling every month as its time is due. I have quite a heavy usage so i was very surprised at how this car can really cover the distances with such comfort. The sound insulation is very decent for its class, The features just leave you amazed for its price. The performance is very nice but may say its sluggish due to its heavy body but once you are up to 80-100km you will value the sturdy feeling on the highway. Engine is very quiet and the Aircon with its auto function makes it so easy, plus my passengers love the rear aircon. Legroom for front and rear passengers is very spacious and i am about 1.8m. The Ventilated seats are a Fantastic function in our country where its hot and humid so it cools fast, especially after lunch and you come back to the car. I can keep going on and on the features and its just a Cat A car. I really recommend this car.

What I like
- Feature pack car for CAT A
- Ventilated seats
- The Look of this vehicle
- memory seats
- Bluetooth function
- 17 inch rims ( I Like the sleek look)
- Smart Trunk ( Use alot when coming back from shopping)
- silent engine
- Driving Presence on the road due to its wide body

What I do not like
- The Nexen tires ( Personal choice prefer more grip from my tires and can be a bit of a rough side)
- Fuel Consumption ( This is also dependent on your driving habits and timings)
- Nothing else as i really love this car

Dragonhowe
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
2 forum posts Joined on 11-Dec-2016
Change the logo and you would believe it is a conti car  Posted on 11 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this car twice as well as Honda City, Hyundai Elantra Elite, and Mitsubishi Lance EX. Found that in terms of value for money, comfort of ride, driving experience, features, feel of the cabin and the exterior design, this car wins hands-down.

The Honda has a powerful and responsive engine and wins the K3 during acceleration at lower speeds. The interior design of the Elantra does not feel as high class in finish compared to the K3 and the Lancer loses hands-down in terms of features.

I have been driving the car for more than a week now. Wonderful ride on the expressway - quiet, the engine purrs gently and cruise control, wow, it is such a wonderful drive experience. Gear shift is smooth with the option to override with the paddle shifters. This is necessary especially when the terrain changes to up slope, it sometime changes to too low a gear and the engine revs at about 2700 -2800 rpm.

The K3 is a significant upgrade on my previous car, Cerato Forte SX. I love the Electric Memory Seats which comes with ventilation. On a hot day, it almost feels luxurious! The seat moving back upon offing the engine and opening the door is wonderful and makes it so easy to get out. Rear aircon and multizone aircon is wonderful too especially when driving in hot weather, passengers at the back now have a comfortable cool ride as well.

A little known feature - the glove compartment can be cooled to the aircon temperature to store drinks etc!

Smart trunk system is perfect. I no longer have to fumble for the keys in my pocket when I am holding many things.

What I like
- Packed full of features, like a conti car
- Quiet cabin generally, sound proofing much much better than last generation.
- good drive with smooth gear changes and cruise control is beautiful!
- very attractive exterior - the SX has 17 inches sports rims and a small spoiler and chrome exhaust tips. On top of it, I love the headlights design and the LED Daytime Running Lights. Grilles definitely look better than the pre-facelift version too. Planet Blue is a very nice and special colour with a different flavour when under light and when not and presents a further different feel when under bright sunlight.
- the sales executive Gary is very helpful and knowledgeable.

What I do not like
- engine not so responsive and powerful at lower speeds
- on rough roads, the tyre generates quite loud road noise.

Edwin84
Clutched
1 reviews
36 points
15 forum posts Joined on 11-May-2012
Best Sedan at Affordable Price  Posted on 14 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
For a low and affordable sedan which includes features like rear air-con; Leather seats; Spacious leg room for both passengers and driver; Cruise control; Bluetooth interface; Etc., it's really a must buy.
The fuel consumption is at an average of 14 Km/L, top speed tested on Malaysia road was 160 Km/hr very stable.

What I like
Imagine paying lesser but getting a conti car feel, who won't like that?
Lower Fuel Consumption; big leg space; big boot for 3x 26" luggage, stable turning, fast response.

What I do not like
The DRL design for 2015 version seems abit odd because the light is shining upwards instead of downwards.
The headlight should use LED instead of Halogen, to get that upper grade feel.

Alanchensc
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2010
Value For Money Family Sedan  Posted on 04 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drive Toyota Altis, Honda HRV, Volkswagen Jetta, Hyundai Elantra and Kia K3 Forte.

Toyota Altis (basic model) - Over price Japanese model cos too many people buy? $108K selling now with no leather seat, no auto head lamp, Apple car play.

Honda HRV (Vezel) - Engine roar like a tiger unless you like the poor insulation in the car

Hyundai Elantra - Interior plastic feeling and no 16" Rim unless you go for the highest spec Elantra - of course you have to pay more

Volkswagen Jetta - $108K for a basic and $118K for sporty model but no electronic seat - not worth it

Kia K3 Cerato - Value for money (see features I like below - bought the EX model)

What I like
1) EX model also comes with auto head lamp

2) Leather seat for EX model

3) Big boot space

4) Rear air-con

5) Nice exterior body curves with LED daylight

What I do not like
1) $7K for SX model - not worth it.

2) FC claimed 14.7 km/l but I guess in city driving maybe can reach 11 km/l

3) No HID lamp even for the SX model

D3vilstar
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
17 points
16 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2011
An big wow  Posted on 02 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
My 1st test drive unit
- drive is valuable for this kind of pricing as seem like KIA is going towards more conti style

Overall - if you have more budget , go for the higher end model

What I like
Features for higher end model
eg
- auto head light
- boot open
- welcome light
- electric seat
- Boot very spacious

Conti feeling

What I do not like
- steering wheel a bit too light
- Car is noisy - passenger complain too

zenedu
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Jun-2016
This is soley based on a test drive only  Posted on 05 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
It provides you the comfort level of a make believe continental car with many gadgets like flex steering which basically means up/down & forward/backward adjustable steering. The ride is not bad but it feels a little wonky on the turns. However, overall it drives well enough for our sg roads.

What I like
What I was fascinated about the car was the features it packed for this price tag. And I am only talking about the facelift EX model. There is a button that allows you to choose 3 different type of driving modes which is the feature that the sales guy keep blabbering about to me during the test drive.

What I do not like
SX model vs EX model : great disparity in terms of features.. no diff in engine ok guys!?

Gear drops down to lower gear before it revs up again during overtaking. According to the sales guy, it is a feature of kia to give the driver more UMPH! during overtaking. Subjective. I feel it wastes time dropping a gear before it revs up right?

Anyway, thanks for reading.

jamesim7
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Jul-2016
The facelifted Kia K3 2017  Posted on 11 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I've been car hunting and realised that there's no review on the facelifted 2017 K3. Went to the showroom and decided to bring it for a spin.

One thing that strikes you about the K3 are it's curves. The fluid lines meet each other so nicely and it gives you a really good feel for the car. Be prepared for a bold and expressive set of front and tail lights, coupled with an aggressive looking front grill.

Step inside and you'll be greeted by the very feature packed console, together with the ventilated electric memory seats (the ventilated seats now extend to the passenger as well). The roofline is slightly lower than other cars due to it's inclination towards a "Coupe" Style. Leg room is manageable, but if you're a 1.8er, sitting at the back may be a bit difficult. The ride height is somewhat lower too. Boot space is sufficient without qualms.

A test drive and you have to acknowledge that it isn't the quickest car out there. In fact, there are many cars that drive better and faster. There were a couple of turns that I initially had the tendency to oversteer, but after a while, you'll get used to the car and your instinct takes over. (It was in comfort mode) Drive visibility is great, and though I'm not a fan of the reverse camera, it's still a good-to-have feature. Despite all these, we all know this car isn't built to fly of the lines or get your century sprint under 10.

I had a go at the Renault, Peugeot, Hyundai, Citroen and Mitsubishi showrooms, and I'm pleased to say I am waiting for the delivery of my new 2017 K3. Despite all it's shortcomings on acceleration and gear changes, it's comfort at cruising speeds and the features that come with the car, for the value it brings is something you cannot look past without taking a second look. Managed to get a great deal from them too.

Speaking of which, when was the last time you took a second look at the car driving past and noticed it's the K3? If you're looking for a point A to B car without much fuss and plenty of toys to play around with, this may be the car for you.

What I like
It's affordable pricing brings a new paradigm to features and functions offered of similarly priced cars. Sure, it's a Kia, but they have come a long way. The build quality is decent and the ergonomics of the console in the driver's perspective is very well thought of. A very sensible car for basic usage. Though subjective, the handsome good looks of this car won't go unnoticed.

What I do not like
If only it drives like it looks. Acceleration is dismal with the tendency of oversteer (again, in comfort mode) and gear changes are not the quickest. Noise insulation is not the best too, with road noise accompanying your drive. However, I tend to blame the Nexen stock tyres that are bundled with the car.

poseidonlee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
11 points
7 forum posts Joined on 01-Feb-2016
A bit upgrade to my previous car!  Posted on 14 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Previously drove a made-in-thailand Honda, so when I first collected my k3, it was full of "Wow". Driving k3 EX for nearly 3 months now, this is what I feel ...

First thing my whole family noticed was of course the spacious interior, more leg room and better width. Then there is the rear air-con that my kids are going crazy about! The sound insulation is adequate, road noise unavoidable on poorly maintained "Rough" Roads, some says it is the stock nexen tyres. In general, it is quite well insulated.

The interior styling is nice imo, like the central console slightly tilted towards driver. Strategically placed elbow cushion rest on the doors are much appreciated. Glove compartment is lighted. Adjustable headlight tilting angle. Configurable things like folding side mirrors, auto headlight, headlight delays and fast signaling etc are really useful.

The driving experience itself take a while to accustom for me. Came from CVT, this AT feels weird at first with the gear shifting feel. As many has mentioned, pick up is poor, probably due to the heavy "Body weight". However, once you are running above 80km/h on expressway, you will really cherish that stable, smooth and in control driving experience. One of feature I love most is no matter which steering mode you choose, the steering wheel will auto-tighten once you are hitting a higher speed on the expressway, this is a very good safety feature.

Overall I am very satisfy with this purchase. Really does not make sense these days to pay $6-10k more for same class made-in-thailand Japanese brands.

What I like
- Selectable steering wheel mode (comfort, normal, sports) with auto-tightening on high speed.
- quick trigger signalling, configurable 3, 5 or 7 times of left/right signal. Useful in lane switching, trigger and forget, no need to deactivate the signalling.
- stable, quiet and smooth cruising, ya, and of cos the cruise control.
- DRL improve presence on road for safety.
- 6 speaker audio setup by default.
- REAR Air-con
- spacious interior and adequate boot space, with fold down rear seat!
- auto boot open

What I do not like
- Pick up can be improved.
- FC can be improved, then again, so heavy car ... I guess this is the price for a heavy stable and safer drive.
- The eurostyle 7" touch screen HU is not very good. Navigation slow to catch on satelite signal. The music player is horrible without ability to select by folder in my 500 songs usb!
- under-bonnet heat/sound insulation board not given.
- a lighter rim and better tyre?

drwatson
1st Gear
1 reviews
70 points
206 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Value for Money Car  Posted on 11 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Fully packed features. No other car comes close for the same class except for conti car.
Air con Seats - using it daily
Sunroof - using it when the night is cool or after a physical exercise(Sweat smell)
Memory Seat - Very useful as my GF drives as well
Electrical Seat - Good to have vs manual one.
Auto Dimming Rear mirror - very useful at night

the DRL and the rear LED looks really good especially at night.
Definitely a value for $$ car to have in Singapore!

What I like
The many features
DRL
Rear LED

What I do not like
Pick up speed can be better.
FC can be better

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Kia Cerato K3 4 stars - based on 80 reviews