Kia Cerato K3

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Kia Forte K3 1.6 SX (A)
05 Sep 2016  |  Kia Reviews
Kia's ever-popular mid-sized sedan may only be a facelift, but the K3 receives multiple updates that will leave you wondering if it's a brand new model.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Kia Cerato K3 vs Subaru Impreza vs Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Kia Cerato K3
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
80 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
79 out of 80 (98.8%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

80 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
MarcusM
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
24 points
9 forum posts Joined on 29-Jul-2010
Value for money car compared to many others!  Posted on 04 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I was on the lookout for an economical, value for money car and settled for K3 over Mazda 3 and Hyundai Elantra. 2 months into ownership, I have no regrets over my purchase despite general negative perception that many others have of Kimchi cars. I must say the Korean car makers have really caught up with its Japanese counterparts in a big way!

What I like
- Spacious interior and car boot
- Smooth and quiet acceleration
- Rear aircon included

What I do not like
- Heavy door
- Fuel efficiency has room for improvement

Le_Dad
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
28 forum posts Joined on 21-Dec-2013
Simply love the car  Posted on 01 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Still getting used to driving the car as I just collected yesterday. Nice exterior and features helped me choose this car over others.

Simply love the ventilated seats which help to cool the driver's seat while driving in the hot weather of Singapore.

I was overwhelmed with the number of features offered by SX. Great price with the number of features on offered.

What I like
Ventilated driver's seat, Bluetooth interface, DRL, rear air-con

What I do not like
Sales tactic by C&C, signed up for non-guaranteed package which totally had ZERO chance to secure the COE. Was forced to upgrade to guaranteed bid by topping up.

C&C should do without the non-guaranteed package and offered only one package for all potential buyers.

Eurostyle Head Unit is not standard item.

teomingern
6th Gear
5 reviews
3,382 points
4857 forum posts Joined on 02-Jan-2016
Quality choice, superb value  Posted on 23 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I test drove the SX model. The ride quality is pretty good even though the car is shod with large rims and low profile tires. Road imperfections are transmitted but are muted and merely convey information rather than being irritating or jarring. Handling is pretty good too, tracks well, responds quick to steering input, turning radius is quite small. The car is loaded with features, many of the electronic features are adjustable via the trip computer. For example, the one-touch turn signal number of repetitions can be adjusted from 3 blinks, 5 or 7. Build quality is very good as well, doors shut with a firm damped thud, all buttons, switches, levers clicked into position with a well damped muted click, feels solid with no slop. The ergonomics of the car is really pretty good. Everything falls to hand easily.

What I like
Fantastic feature set for the price. Nothing comes close in this category except the Elantra which has a more comprehensive feature set but is more expensive).

What I do not like
The exterior design isn't really very nice lar... the DRL is mounted too high up so that it's a distraction to other drivers. It gives the Forte K3 a perpetual pinched frown from the front. This is of course subjective.

The high end 7" entertainment system should come standard on all trims.

coolbluepica
2nd Gear
3 reviews
200 points
552 forum posts Joined on 02-Apr-2015
Fantastic car  Posted on 09 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I just collected and been driving for 2 days, felt very pleased with the car. The exterior styling is superb that makes other drivers want to take another look. Nice headlamps, rear LED lamps, chrome door trimming, interior leather looks posh and is comfortable. Great features like the welcome lighting, headlights delay, auto boot unlock when smart key is near proximity. Excellent Eurostyle head unit with great GPS functions, quite good sound quality stock speakers.

What I like
1. Welcome lighting with headlight delay.
2. Push button start.
3. Smart key
4. Vented driver seat
5. Eurostyle head unit
6. Interior and exterior styling
7. Leather seats

What I do not like
1. Stock Nexen tyres.
2. Front doors are too long that make difficulty to open door with ease.
3. Long wheel base and wide chassis makes parking slightly more difficult, which is good as the chassis is of a 2.0L car.

Hyundaielantra2012
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Feb-2012
KIA K3 EX  Posted on 19 Mar 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The 1.6 EX has less features than the SX but it is 100Kg lighter than the SX and it picks up actually is much better and lighter car.

What I like
Comfortable ride, big boot and better pick up.

What I do not like
Less features than the SX.
16 inch rims instead of 17 inch.
Lousy EURO STYLE HU cost me $2K to upgrade which cannot even have bluetooth streaming. What age is it now?
Poor cornering given I drove a old KIA KOUP before and it has significant body roll.
EX is lighter a lot and already a bit sluggish, I cannot imagine the SX will be jaw dropping fast? :>

Alfredha
Clutched
1 reviews
27 points
65 forum posts Joined on 16-Jan-2016
This car is a 'Gem'  Posted on 04 Mar 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Somehow Kia has managed to get the Kia K3 right. Overloaded with gadget and functions, you will only find in more expensive cars.

I use too drive 3 generations of a Japanese brand, until I test drove the Kia K3 in first week of January. Paid a deposit on the spot.

Got my car 3 days ago and 'no regrets'

Its like ,this car was meant for me.

What I like
Nice price point.
Very nice design and curves.
Very comfortable and quite spacious interior, thanks to the memory/electric seat.
steering wheel adjustable for better comfort.
The seats are well cushioned and supportive. Great lumbar support.
Nice euro style set for the SX
Comfortable long ride.
Big boot.

What I do not like
Wish it was 6 air bags or 4, not the 2, which is standard.
Slightly lacking in power.

Kwoni
2nd Gear
1 reviews
111 points
225 forum posts Joined on 01-Jul-2011
Impressive and Feel like Contis  Posted on 27 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought the SX model. The car is feature packed and has the continental feel.

Things you will not get in most Japanese rides include electronic seats, ventilated seats, cruise control, paddle shifters, Full steering controls, lighted glove box and compartments, front parking sensors, hill assist, VSMS traction control, etc.

Test driven this car together with Altis. The comfort level is almost comparable. Engine is responsive and gear is smooth if you do not floor the panel. K3 is quiet and absorb most road bumps well, feel very stable even at high speed (above 100kmh), and I dun hear any wind noise at all. There are insulations around the doors, boot, and event the bonnet. Leg space is plenty and boot space is more than sufficient for a road trip up north for shopping.

The only drawback I thought was the power.

Its a shame that most people still feel Korean brands are 1 class lower than Japanese makes. I will think otherwise and Korean cars are much more reliable nowadays. Know people who drove a Cerato for more than 5 yrs without any major issues, and I'm confident this car will serve well.

Given the features and comfort, this car is definitely worth the bucks.

What I like
Continental Feel
Features packed, especially the ventilated seats
Stable
Quiet and comfortable

What I do not like
Power and acceleration can be improved
No other things I can think of.

Robinsoul
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
22 points
2 forum posts Joined on 24-Mar-2010
Mitsubishi Lancer Ex  Posted on 11 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Nice car that pack with features like a conti, now kimchi is the up coming brand. I have never cross my mind to view this particular model or brand, but since I bring my car for recalled at C & C.. Might as well look around as my car left 2 years. SX model offer a lot more features, key function that I like is the memory seat as my wife would sometime drive the car. 1.6 with cruise control, wow...
Although we might not even use cruise control in sg, but is good to have it.
It would be better if they upgraded the suspension.

What I like
Memory seat, interior design, tail lights, big boot.

What I do not like
Power, suspension, steering, handling.

Jeff84
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Sep-2010
An upgrade to the old Forte  Posted on 10 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Had previously owned a 2009 version of the forte without major issue. When it is time to shop for a new car due to 45K COE, i decided to compare around the Jap and Korean made. However, K3 stand out the most among all the various car that i tested drive in term of exterior, interior and engine insulation. Among those are altis, slyphy, Mazda 3 and elantra. Korean brands has come a long way as compare to 10 years ago, in term of style and performance.

K3 definitely stands out in term of the exterior and features it has among the cars in the same class, while the price is also among the most attractive in the class. Jap cars are almost 10K more expensive with lesser features.

Had just reach the 1K, enjoying the improvement in noise insulation as compared to the previous version, while the pick up is smooth. However, i suggest this car is definitely not for a heavy foot driver as it will not response as quickly as what you expect from a Mazda 3. While FC is still pending, however this is dependent on driving style and road ratio travel.

Overall, a good car with nice features such as memory seats, auto retractable seat when exiting the car and uphill assist which you won't find in the same class of vehicle. I would say it is a reliable family car without paying over the odds.

What I like
- Features
- Exterior
- Interior
- Ex Audi Designer
- Price
- Better sound insulation as compared to the previous version of Forte.
- Very responsive SE, (David Phang, Alexandra branch)
- price
- fast delivery ( 9 Working days upon securing COE)

What I do not like
- lack of colour choice, (only 6 colour)
- low trade in value by C&C

Niz0302
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
3 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Features Packed car  Posted on 05 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have to admit, when I purchased this vehicle in Jan, I have some doubts in its capabilities.

But once I have driven the car for 2-3 days, I have to admit I am very impressed by its performances.

It definitely worth every penny I spend on.

What I like
1. LED lights

2. Different mode of steering

3. Keyless ignition

4. Big Boot space.

5. Rear Air con

6. Efficient Sales lady - Janice Mao at Leng Kee Showroom

7. Bluetooth entertainment with rear camera for reversing.

8. Fast delivery - I waited double quick time of 3 weeks!

What I do not like
1. Too many features that can confuse me!

2. I cant think of any at the moment

Afietay1234
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Jan-2016
Believe in Kia nowadays  Posted on 16 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Comfort and function should be the best in it's class.
Fuel consumption is till 10l/100km during city and burnt in period
Monitoring after 1k servicing

What I like
Function and handling

What I do not like
Engine performance is a bit weak

Mralfredoh
Clutched
2 reviews
45 points
40 forum posts Joined on 20-Sep-2012
Reliable and Sufficient for Singapore City Driving  Posted on 12 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
This is the most feature packed 1.6litre car in the market as compared to the Honda Jazz, Honda City, Toyota Vios/Altis or even the Hyundai Elantra.
Fuel consumption has definitely been better since day 1 and it is definitely better than the previous model of Kia Forte i drove.
A great improvement to the Features of this car.

What I like
Features

What I do not like
Engine lacks power but enough for City driving not sporty quarter mile sprints.
Handling is definitely suited for comfort driving.

Alvantan
Clutched
2 reviews
45 points
72 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Good Car, Bad buying experience with lousy SE  Posted on 11 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
3 months of owning the sx sports. FC has been improving month by month. Good boot space which fitted my 2 hugh luggages which my previous s280 couldn't! Rear leg room sufficient for 1.7m, tho headroom abit low, but still acceptable. Rear Aircon not really effective and still rely on front a/c to cool the rear passengers. Middle passenger gets the 3 point seatbelt as well!

What I like
- memory seats if there's more than one driver for your car.. easily switch back to my comfy position.
- ventilated seats, for my open carpark workplace, cool the seats before drive off!
- sunroof, can be ajar, letting the heat out faster.
- reasonable FC (12km/l 50% Highway/City)
- front sensor
- auto dimming rear mirror
- signal level on left (for those used to continental cars)
- courtesy light from side mirror and unfold when near car

What I do not like
- Jovis Tan Boon Tuan, the SE at Lengkee showroom
- reverse cam and eurostyle (touchscreen/gps) not standard items
- DRL unable to off
- the side skirt of factory fitted bodykit

StevenGoh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Aug-2014
Is the best 1.6ltr car i ever owned  Posted on 28 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Full spec which can't find all in 1.5 0r 1.6 ltr car smooth pickup good fuel consumption can hit about 13 to 14 km in normal drive

What I like
nil

What I do not like
nil

Tanguanpoh
Clutched
1 reviews
39 points
34 forum posts Joined on 31-Mar-2010
Kia Forte K3 SX  Posted on 16 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Been driving my Kia Forte for 4 years and saw the ad Kia k3 introducing the sports model which attract me to visit the showroom.

Once i test drove the Kia K3, i was attracted by the amount of features and level of options available in the K3. Comfort level was a great improvement compared to my Forte.

What I like
Loved the ventilated & electrical memory seats, Flex steering, Improved insulation compared to the previous generation forte and quietness of the overall cabin and many more. Attractive Taillamps, sunroof, rear aircon and HID/DRL all came as standard cos mostly these equipments only can be found on two litres car. Cabin feel and quality improved dramatically compared to the previous generation too.

What I do not like
Radio reception not good
Leaves tend to get stuck on the sides (frame) of the front and rear windscreen
Horn trigger position is too low

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Kia Cerato K3 4 stars - based on 80 reviews