Related Articles

How does VES affect your car-buying decision?

Mitsubishi Attrage proves its mettle

Mitsubishi Attrage now available in Singapore

Puma celebrates endless reinvention with Scuderia Ferrari


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mitsubishi Attrage 1.2 CVT (A)
06 Jul 2015  |  Mitsubishi Reviews
Will the Mitsubishi Attrage do things differently enough to be a strong seller? We run around in it to see what this compact sedan can do.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mitsubishi Attrage
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
22 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
19 out of 22 (86.4%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

22 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
gamester2007
2nd Gear
1 reviews
124 points
33 forum posts Joined on 06-Jun-2017
Fun & Zippy Ride for City Drive!  Posted on 19 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
MY2019 Attrage Style :) Having previously driven Attrage with Smove, I can really tell and feel the difference between a brand new one and a rental car. A new Attrage drives way beyond my expectation. Rental car probably been driven by many, feels like driving a toy car given the ultra light steering as compared to the much sturdy drive I exprienced so far. I would choose not to drive in Singapore and save on the car expenses incurred. But with kids and grandparents in the family, Mitsubishi Attrage really provides the much needed convenience and comfort for transport.

What I like
Good entry purchase price for first time car buyers like me at below $58k
Full Body Kit (Skirting, spoiler and boot's looks grow on me)
Shark Fin on top of car instead of Radio Antenna
More back pockets for storage for Driver and front Passenger seats
Large boot of 450L for my groceries, luggages, baby stroller and baby items.
Leather seats with red stitches
Seating space big enough to accommodate my big sized family (Big build and Tall at 1.85m)
Rear camera when reversing
Good Fuel Consumption but I myself am very lightfooted so easily achieve 16km/L for 70-30 city-expressway driving. I keep my rpm mostly below 2k.
Not too huge a car size so is easier for me to drive around and when turning corners.
Cruise control at 70-80km/h for my journey on KPE, Mandai Road and KJE/PIE.
Traction Control for added safety
6 airbags for added peace of mind
Decent number of storage areas with cup holders and hooks for hanging items
Rikecool solar film for back seat windows and top of front windscreen
Touchscreen Headunit with easy controls
Bluetooth and Headunit controls on steering wheel
Stable car for me so far maybe because I drive within my own slower comfortable speed
Many additional car features that can be purchased cheap for personal upgrade preferences.
Keyless entry
Welcome and lock blinking light
Keyless engine start
Hill Start Assist
Small turning radius of 4.8m for easier u-turn manuevring
Fog lamps as DRL
And many more features I have yet to list here

What I do not like
1.2L engine can be improved though is sufficient for me.

s_venkatesh78
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
15 points
1 forum posts Joined on 18-Jul-2019
Mitsubishi Attrage - Value for Money  Posted on 18 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
This is a point to point car. If you are a small family with 4 members this is the best car that you can thinkof. No issues or vibration while driving at a speed of 90 kms/hr speed in express ways. I have seen a lot of people claiming noice and vibration but i don't feel anything (Not sure if they have improved this in the latest models)

This is an apt family sedan to drive within Singapore or occational visits to KL.

If you are a aggressive driver and a racer - This car is not meant for you... [Anyways in Singapore you can't even if you drive ferrari] :)

What I like
1. Price

2. Fuel Consumption - Avg 12 Km in City / 15 Km in expressways

3. Comfortable interior space & boot space

4. Lot of high end car features (start button / cruise control / skid control / much more which all high end car has)

5. Less recurring cost per month considring this being a light car. Even heard from my friends that the parts availability and the cost is in our side :)

What I do not like
1. Pick up

Nothing much at this point.

lokeloh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Mar-2019
Most reliable car I've owned!  Posted on 27 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
This is my 2nd Attrage 1.2 compare previously 2016 model really difference than 2018 model.
purchase price at below $58k plus 2K service credits is very good for local family own a vehicle.

What I like
Large boot of 450L for my groceries, Rear camera when reversing (Sport Model)
Fuel Consumption about 17km/L 90 speed journey with Cruise control.
6 Airbags and Traction Control for added safety (previously model only 2 airbags).
Touchscreen Headunit with easy controls Bluetooth and Head free controls on steering.
Small turning radius of 4.8m for easier u-turn manuevring, keyless engine start and remove boot.
The Sell consultant was very friendly they made you clear before booking at UBI C&C.

What I do not like
This budget I have no comment.

MarkerPen
1st Gear
15 reviews
54 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2011
Cheap in every sense of the word  Posted on 17 Feb 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
If you want the cheapest car you can get from a proper Japanese brand then this is it. If you want anything else, look elsewhere.

This car has nothing going for it except the price.

It looks disproportionate and slab-sided when viewed from the rear especially.

The weak and horribly noisy 1.2L 3 cylinder engine is certifiably one of the worst engines I have ever experienced. There is zero power for overtaking and the engine and CVT noise when accelerating hard sounds worst than a diesel. Cabin insulation is very poor as well. Cabin design is uninspired and quality is bad. Do not believe the claims of it being a Eco-Sedan able to achieve 21.8km/l. You'd struggle to get more than 10km/l because of the lack of power means you have to step harder to get moving.

You are better off buying a Perodua Bezza 1.3L which has a more refined Toyota VVT-i engine with more power.

What I like
- Price for a Japanese brand

What I do not like
- engine
- gearbox
- looks
- fuel economy

value
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Dec-2018
Great value, if you don't mind vibration at idling  Posted on 04 Dec 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I was considering the Attrage & the Hyundai Accent. Here are a few observations that were not so obvious looking at the brochures. (CAPITAL means better).

Conclusion: Attrage for those who value low price & good fuel economy. Accent for those who value smooth engine, and don't mind paying $8K more.

Possible Deal Breakers

Engine Idling - Attrage: not smooth (has vibration). ACCENT: smooth (no vibration).

Transmission (CVT) - Attrage: D & B (B=L) gears only. ACCENT: D & +/- shift (6-speed selectable)

Fuel Economy - ATTRAGE: 20.4km/L (expect 16km/L - 20% Discount). Accent: 15.6km/L (expect 12.5km/L - 20% Discount)

Electric folding mirror - ATTRAGE: yes. Accent: no


Others Features

Brakes - Attrage: front Disc, rear drum. ACCENT: front & rear discs

Boot space - Attrage: 450L. ACCENT: 465L (on paper not much bigger, but looks clearly deeper)

Width (Space) - Attrage: narrower than ACCENT by 30mm.

Airbags - ATTRAGE: 6. Accent: 2

Sports Rims - ATTRAGE: yes. Accent: no.

What I like
Low price.
Best fuel economy.
Electric folding mirror.
Sports rims.

What I do not like
Engine vibration at idling.
No (+/-) shift to select gear, only B (=L) gear.
Narrow width.
Rear drums.

yishunite
Premium User yishunite
5th Gear
3 reviews
1,906 points
480 forum posts Joined on 07-Aug-2018
Competent tool but not more than that  Posted on 15 Aug 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I test-drove the Attrage after being attracted by its headline low price. I really wanted to like this car so I could buy it, because I can't help feeling cars are overpriced in Singapore, having lived overseas a long time. Unfortunately, the experience was so underwhelming I couldn't look back as we walked away.

The first thing you'll see is how small the wheels are. Small wheels mean bumps are harder, and it showed when we were on the road. The steering also felt heavy for a relatively light car (coming from a Vios). And finally the 3-cylinder engine really struggled to pick up when needed. It would almost be a certainty that you would over-rev the engine, throwing its wonderful theoretical fuel economy out the window. It is not something you want to drive in a hurry. It did not take a long drive to realise I would hate owning it.

Unless you really can't afford the mainstream makes (Elantra, Vios, City, Cerato, etc.), and are probably supplementing the costs by driving it as a PHV on the side, avoid.

What I like
Great value
Decent-sized boot
Good fuel economy

What I do not like
Heavy steering
Very bumpy ride
Poor pickup
C&C Mitsubishi finance offer and incentives are poor

Sksivapriya
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
5 points
2 forum posts Joined on 23-Oct-2010
Good consumption & space  Posted on 14 Aug 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
This car is point A to point B car. Nothing to complain except the engine. Noisy when pushed a bit. Slow to pick up speed but it's expected from a 1.2 engine. Fuel consumption is quite good & cabin feels good and spacious. Rear seat can accommodate medium size 3 adults but the suspension might not be able to take it if too many humps.

What I like
Duel Consumption
Interior space
Seats
light steering

What I do not like
Engine

Icecube7
Premium User Icecube7
Clutched
1 reviews
34 points
10 forum posts Joined on 13-Feb-2018
Cheap and good family car  Posted on 26 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Been driving this around for about 3 months so far.

I call this a Cheap and Good Family car because its precisely that. Its cheap (I literally filtered by price, ruled out the china car, tested the Perodua and decided that for slightly more getting 4 more air bags was totally worth it.

Good - Depends on your own definition. Its my first ever car, didn't know much of what to expect so from my perspective, it gets me from point A to B. For the way I drive, the petrol is about 150 a month(OPC). Comes with random features that you'll never smell within this price range (e.G. Keyless entry, remote boot open, Bluetooth inbuilt and even spotify on the Head unit.

Family car - I got a car because of my kid. Fit in a full sized baby car seat in the back but I can always fit 2 adults behind (my wife and dad aren't tiny either. I use the term family car also because its really not that fast, but its not supposed to. I'm bringing my family around, last thing I should be doing is speeding with them in it.

Overall I've recommended it to family and friends on basis that they're looking for cheap and value for money. For the bells and whistles they have at this price point, there's not many things left to add to the car.

Definitely value for money. If you're rich, get something better, if you just need/want a car for functional purposes, get this. Especially if you're one of those people that likes to customise stuff, there's lesser things to add to this car than say a K3 that comes with no bells and whistles. (Keyless entry is awesome, never have to take out my keys)

What I like
Low fuel Consumption
Sufficient leg space both for the driver and passengers
Reverse camera
Front and Back recording cameras.
Huge boot space
Keyless entry
Blutooth controls on Steering wheel
Speakers are fine - to me. Some people do have higher standards
Many many cup holders (6?)
6 Airbags (more the merrier)
Leather seats - helps with future cleaning.
Since its my first car I'm not sure how common this is but I realised both the seat and steering wheel can be moved up and down. Helps with customising seating.

What I do not like
The car is very light, taking a cornering at a higher speed feels like you're gonna fly. (gonna look for some strut bars and anti roll bars to counter this)

Engine is so weak that acceleration is very slow. (you have to floor the accelerator just to get it to speed up..slowly. But like I said, I have no business speeding with my family in the car)

Shape looks weird - Just me but I find the shape a bit odd. too compressed.

Gdragon2004
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2017
Best compact sedan I have ever owned  Posted on 09 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This car caught my attention when I went to the showroom. The car was attractive and looked good. I actually wanted to go for the lancer but thought the attrage had everything I needed ranging from hooks to cup holders.This car is good for shopaholics like me as this car has a generous boot space of 450l. Try for yourself and you will definitely say the same.

What I like
Generous legroom
Hooks to hang grocery bag
Many cup holders

What I do not like
Technically nothing

DanriickSeah
Premium User DanriickSeah
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Oct-2013
Cheapest Japanese Car in the market  Posted on 25 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have been looking for a change after my Honda jazz is due for scrap, went to text drive altis, camry, attrage, lancer, kia. I have eventually decided on attrage as it's the most budget car in the market as COE was high during Dec 2016 $55k !! If you are looking at A to B car, this car comes as a surprise especially I am looking for comfort rather than power/speed.

What I like
- Cabin size
- Leg room
- Gadget
_ Features
- Folding Mirror
- Big Boot
- 14km/l FC (mix ride)
- Keyless entry and start
- Senor
- Powerful Aircon

What I do not like
- Cannot reuse my old head unit and camera
- Make to top up more for in house product, otherwise void warranty
- Insulation very noisy if ram, normal acceleration ride noise can be bearable
- Rain will be heard with loud water droplet on the roof (quite irritating sometimes but will blast music to offset the noise haha)
- Lagging gear shift
- Hard steering
- Drum brake instead of all Venti brake
- 3 cylinder engine, struggling on low torque may mistakenly though you are road hogging

Quistation
1st Gear
38 reviews
76 points
32 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Value for money basic runabout  Posted on 20 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Attrage is an affordable runabout for the city, but despite its price tag it offers excellent value for money for the budget consumer.

For the money there is keyless entry and engine start-stop, which is highly impressive for a car in this class.

It is also very frugal. 20km/L is achievable on a light foot. Good for those who drive often.

What I like
Decent features despite price tag
Easy to drive
Good fuel economy

What I do not like
Engine feels a tad underpowered and noisy

Jeremy0512
Premium User Jeremy0512
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Dec-2016
A Value-for-Money Car Offering Comfort, Reliability & Fuel Efficiency  Posted on 12 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Come across Attrage during Nov 2016 Car Show at Singapore Expo. My first impression is: "Not Bed!"

Proceed to test drive this fashionable ECO Sedan the following weekend. With a 1.2L DOHC 3-cylinder in line 12-valve MIVEC engine, its Power (78Ps) & Torque (100Nm) may seemed unimpressive but the drive is comfortable & fun. Thank to its INVECS-III CVT gearbox, acceleration / deceleration become silky smooth. Class leading turning radius of 4.8m make it easy to make U-turns & cut corners in tight Singapore road conditions. Do not expect it to offer fast pickup though as 0-100Km requires 14 seconds. Overall, I had an agile & relaxed drive!

Externally, Attrage looks simple but modern. Its front grill offers onlookers with a "Smiley face" That would cheer anybody up. It's aerodynamic body allows it to slip through the wind and lower noise, raise fuel efficiency, while enhance handling stability. With a solid RISE constructed body of high tensile strength steel weighting only 905Kg, no wonder Attrage could offer 20.8Km/L fuel ecomony.

Internally, Attrage offers ample legrooms front & back for up to 5 passengers. Its a pleasant surprise to see Attrage equipped with Keyless Entry, Start/Stop Engine Button, Full Auto Air-conditioner and a sizable 450L boot space.

Overall, Attrage is an excellent little work horse offering safe & comfortable transportation from point A to point B. For those in need of an entry level but well equipped car with large boot space and superb fuel efficiency, Attrage is an ideal choice.

I had placed my order and had secured a COE for an Attrage. Would you follow suit?

What I like
Well Equipped
Excellent 20.8/Km Fuel Economy
Ample legrooms for front & back passengers
Simple but Modern Design
Sizable 450L Boot Space

What I do not like
Small 3-cylinder engine
Slow pickup
Noisy engine when stressed

mingweisoo
Premium User mingweisoo
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Nov-2016
RE: Who should buy this car?  Posted on 02 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
First off, you are a university student that just graduated, and looking for a job. Face with many options and opportunities, you decide to try your luck and become an entrepreneur. So you start with sales, but you need a car and you do not have much capital. This car solves all problems, it can seat five people, which means it can sit your customers, it is fuel efficient, so it will not burn a hole in your pocket. The price of this car even with COE is very value for money as compared to other compact sedans in the same category. If you need to travel a lot and want to spent the least, Mistubishi Attrage is the choice for you!

What I like
-Fuel efficency

What I do not like
-A bit old-fashioned(obiang)

Liaoyuean
Premium User Liaoyuean
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Nov-2007
Currently best priced car.  Posted on 21 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Went for a test drive and found that its quite ok to drive. 42L of fuel means monthly, in a worst case scene, you will spend like $90sgd / week, = $360/ month. In addition to the monthly loan payment. With a rod tax of $506/yr = $42/ month, carpark is about $110/month. Really a POINT A to POINT B car cannot say too much already. Its way cheaper den 2nd hand in the whole market. Not forgetting this is with 10-year COE. Do some sums and you will know what i mean. However must take sometime to adapt to the drive... Its really a 3-cylinder engine mated to a CVT gearbox....

What I like
1. friendly sales from UBI.
2. practicality
3. fuel consumption
4. price
5. Capacity to sit 5 adults comfortably
6. car price now with all things that a driver needs.
7. keyless entry

What I do not like
1. high insurance premium. quoted $1200+ after 40% NCD
2. vibrating steering
3. NO passenger cabin lights!!!! (WTH)
4. NO Welcome Light
5. pick up speed

Kurty
Premium User Kurty
NOS-ed
3 reviews
10,516 points
7344 forum posts Joined on 28-Apr-2009
Impressive car  Posted on 27 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Very impressive car, good fuel efficient, clock 20.6km/L
can't accept the fact it was only a 3 inline

What I like
efficient
easy to drive
spacious

What I do not like
cornering is poor.
turning radius is poor

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mitsubishi Attrage
3.5 stars - based on 22 reviews