Related Articles

The new Honda CR-V is stylish and punchy

Four reasons to own the new Honda CR-V

2017 Honda CR-V lands in Singapore

Pre-owned Ferrari ownership made better


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Honda CR-V 1.5 Turbo 7-Seater (A)
27 Oct 2017  |  Honda Reviews
With a punchy 1.5-litre turbocharged engine under the bonnet, the new Honda CR-V is a stylish and comfortable way of running about the city.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda CR-V
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
2.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
2.5/5
spacer
Value for money
2/5 Engine Performance
3/5
3 out of 7 (42.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
opgamerkkhk
1st Gear
26 reviews
79 points
15 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Severely overpriced!!!!!!! Dun buy just because is Honda  Posted on 08 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tested this car with the xtrail. THis has slightly better drivetrain but poor cabin fit and fiish. Pull the seat bottom up and can see sponge already, centere console will wobble a lot if u shake it, no where close to vw tiguan.Last row seats not really usable, go for kia sorento, more power, more fuel efficient,more spacious,more affordable

What I like
Brand?
okok crash rating

What I do not like
price
materials used
thin paint, test unit alot of chip off and scratches
3rd row for ah piao, only used during 7 month, too compact
fit & finnish worse than MIK cars, no joke
DO NOT BUY THIS CAR,WORST CRV EVER

Sharpeindex
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Shocking performance severely overpriced.  Posted on 04 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the CRV with high expectations.
Shocked by the terrible interior quality and shaky engine performance.

Not a car I would link to Honda branding. The Thailand quality is severely inferior as compared to the Japanese one.

What I like
Pros
. Strong Honda branding which relates to good resale price.
. Post warranty servicing likely to be cheaper than European cars.

What I do not like
Too many to describe...

To keep it simple, I would not spend anything more than 80k to buy such a car. The market price of a new car is double.

mengchain
Clutched
1 reviews
41 points
27 forum posts Joined on 08-Feb-2018
Great SUV with minor "flaws"  Posted on 21 May 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Disclaimer: I am upgrade from a 08 1.3L Honda Fit to a 17' Honda CRV (7 Seater) .. So in term of power, comfort. Space, handling feel, there is no comparison.

I was looking for an upgrade from a Honda Fit to a 7 Seater Car..
Part of my "Review" List include Freed, Sienta, X-Trail. Mazda CX9, Kia Sorento, Hyundai Santa Fe..

Mazda CX9, Kia Sorento, Hyundai Santa Fe.. Are too big,
Freed, Sienta failed the WAF (Wife Appeal Factor)

What I like
- Flexible Configuration of the 7 Seater.

- Great for occasional “people mover”

- Panoramic roof

- Never have it before. But now that I had it, it is GREAT feel, It really "open" up the interior.

- Rear air con outlet

- Not worrying about 3rd row passengers. Best it can be turn off for 5 seats configuration.

- Comfortable seating and suspension.

- Front and rear proximity sensors:

- Great for parking / tight corners/ turns..

- Love the 2 front hump on either side of the bonnet,

- it allow me to "see" where the front is reaching. Especially since I move from a Fit to a CRV, every road/ parking lots seem to have shrunk suddenly.

- Some body roll (Better than expected) during cornering.

- Hill Start Assist is Great.

- Android Auto / Car Play support.

- 1.5L Engine: Low Road Tax.

- Electric Brake works very well and give a sense of stability.

What I do not like
- Not suitable for tall people/family. Due to Panoramic roof and the need for middle seat to slide and tumble, a fair amount of the head room is eaten up.

Front Seat: 1.80m and below

Middle seat: 1.75m and below. (Note that there will be shorter leg room when 3rd row is used)

Rear Seat: 1.65m and below (Short Trips). Though some reviews indicated that it is only suitable for kids, for short ride, I find that 1.65m tall person should be fine.

- Slow to move off from a complete stop. In fact it is slower than my previous 1.3 Fit.

- Quieter Engine noise (compared to 1.3 Fit), but it makes whining of the CVT is much more apparent. Even at low RPMs, the whining could be heard.

- Road/Wind noise: It is higher than expected (though it is still better than my Fit)

- Electric Parking Brake: I prefer a manual hand brake.

- Potential issues with the 1.5 T Engine.

Foongee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Apr-2018
Disappointment  Posted on 14 Apr 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I must say that my new ride is a total disappointment.
I have made the wrong choice, was thinking the following choices;

CX9, Sorento & CR-V

Sadly to say that I have made the wrongly choice. The ride wasn't good, whenever goes over low ramp, it goes bumpy and rough. When do a right or left turn, the whole body goes throw by. With the price of $157999 which I have paid, I think I deserve a better car.

The space wise, really suck, third row cant even fit a 7 year old child, and I cant even store my groceries in the boot when the car is full load.
Stupidly, I have to put some of the items at second row.

Guys out there, please consider carefully before you make your decision. Do not be too carried away because you think is Honda and is supposed to be the top inline Japanese car.

I must say Kia really improves.. And Sorento is really valuable for $$$
CX9 is another beast which I find it too expensive to buy, as it priced almost 190K for a 2WD.

Well the only thing I like about the CR-V is the 190HPS and the road tax which in turn, I have enjoyed raving up the car when I'm always alone.

What I like
1.5L with 190Hps
low road tax

What I do not like
Handling with bumpy ride
been thrown to the direction whether right and left turn
pathetic boot space
pathetic third row space
finishes was like, oh no really can be better
obvious external noise

andrealcolon
1st Gear
18 reviews
55 points
5 forum posts Joined on 04-Jan-2018
The Bold and Dutiful Honda CR-V  Posted on 08 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Honda is an all-time favourite car maker across the world as it keeps producing high level models to beat competition in the auto industry. Honda CR-V is one of the most prevailing models of this auto giant. Featuring bold appearance, classic design and compact size, this model complements the taste of every auto enthusiast.

This is a small crossover SUV that comes with innovative technology and ultra-modern features. For superior riding quality, it accommodates high class comfort and handling features.

What I like
+Honda’s trademark reliable range of petrol engines
+Spacious and comfortable
+Fresh and sleek-looking compact crossover

What I do not like
-No diesel variants to chose from
-Petrol engine is not fuel efficient
-High cost of ownership and maintenance

Fitmugen
3rd Gear
5 reviews
341 points
191 forum posts Joined on 01-Aug-2006
$150k car with embarrassing level of equipment  Posted on 30 Nov 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
What you would expect from Honda. Good handling, nice design, nice interior. But for the 5-seater model which costs more than $150k, it is missing features that sometimes can be found in a $100k car
- No auto headlights
- No keyless entry
- No power seats
- No auto-tailgate
- No front fog lamps

What I like
That it is a Honda

What I do not like
Embarrassing level of equipment

Sci90179
Premium User Sci90179
Clutched
11 reviews
27 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Jun-2012
Everything so great except for the price point  Posted on 07 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
If it is priced at below $130k I believe it will be a lot more popular. At $147k I will put my money on a Toyota Harrier as it’S a lot more comfortable.

Engine is powerful and it’S easy to drive. Brake works extremely well and has a good feel to it.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Honda CR-V
3 stars - based on 7 reviews