Recommended for you

BMW 3 Series Sedan 320i M Sport (A) Video Review

BMW 3 Series Sedan 330i M Sport (A) Review

BMW 3 Series Sedan 318i Sport (A) Review

Should you pump higher RON petrol for better performance? Not so fast...


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
BMW 3 Series 318i vs Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180
11 Oct 2023  |  BMW Reviews
Two popular models of the compact executive segment, the C-Class and the 3 Series, return to compete for top honours.
spacer
spacer
BMW 3 Series
More keen to drive
Quieter and more refined drivetrain
Sportier exterior design
Mercedes-Benz C-Class
Snazzier cabin
More discreet exterior
More attractive infotainment system
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW 3 Series Sedan
spacer
4.0
 
13 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
3.5
spacer
Handling
4.5 Features
4.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
3.0 Engine Performance
3.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
quippery
Neutral Newbie
78 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
BMW at its best  Posted on 21 Jan 2024
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The 3 Series is now available here solely as a 318i. It has been updated with a cleaner exterior and an upgraded infotainment system.

What I like
The new screens in the cabin are easy enough to use - with a bit of getting used to.

Other than the new screens, premium ride quality, well judged steering weight and speed? There's also a quiet and well built cabin.

What I do not like
Cleaner looks and the redesigned head lights make this 3 Series less distinctive next to the 5 Series.


supresass
Neutral Newbie
56 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
All the car you could need (and want)  Posted on 03 Sep 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
BMW has updated this 3 Series so it looks more like the rest of the sedans in its range. But underneath this all is still a very capable and competent car that is sure to leave you and the family happy.

What I like
Looks very much like the 5 Series now. The car's rear perhaps looks a little messy with the gloss black parts, but overall its still an elegant design.

The new curved screen infotainment system is also an accomplishment. It's fast, responsive enough, and once you get a bit used to where all the buttons are on the home screen becomes easy to use enough.

Power from this 318 is decent. It's torquey, smooth, and surprisingly quiet. And the start/stop system is way better isolated than BMW's smaller vehicles.

Speaking of which, the ride quality here is a sizeable step up from BMW's smaller cars as well. It's very settled, so you don't fret when driving over broken roads, but still well damped.

What I do not like
Nil.


aerolith
Neutral Newbie
56 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Cleaner, sleeker, and smarter than before  Posted on 20 Aug 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
BMW's 3 Series now has a new cabin with a huge curved screen within, as well as a tweaked exterior. Is it still the premium option to get?

What I like
The new head lights and grille, and the changed bumpers give the car a slightly cohesive look, although it is a cleaner design than before. It looks a little like the outgoing 5 Series, which is no bad thing.

In the cabin, the car now comes with BMW's curved display. It looks great, and adds quite a bit of new colour to the cabin that wasn't there with the old screen. Overall a very good system to use once you become a bit used to where all the sub-menus are located on that massive home screen.

Ride quality here is excellent. Well damped while still being able to round out sharp edges on the road.

What I do not like
Looks a bit too like the rest of BMW's sedan range perhaps?


tttwei
1st Gear
1 reviews
76 points
37 forum posts Joined on 30-Jul-2014
Great refinement and closer to 5 series  Posted on 28 Jun 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Got the car around 10 months time, the car is pre facelift model G20.

This G series 3 series is very much drive more comfortable and more refinement compare to the previous F series BMW. The direction of improvement is towards luxury and smooth driving. And the increase in wheelbase and size makes it more roomier and more stable to drive.

What I like
Fuel consumption ~ 7 litre/100km
Great driving experiences (B48 + 8 spd ZF - Magical drivetrain)
Connected Services (Remote app), Wireless Android Auto, Carplay
Stock Sound system not bad at all

What I do not like
Reliability:
Having front headlight spoilt just after 2 week of usage. Replacement is done by repair the control module, not replaced the whole headlight
Squeak noise on the steering column while rotating

Did not comes with the lumbar adjustment due to shortage. (Case by case)


neoki_29
1st Gear
1 reviews
75 points
71 forum posts Joined on 23-Sep-2021
Great drive so far  Posted on 11 Nov 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Had this car for 1.5 months and am loving it! The handling is great and the B48 engine has a lot of potential even though it is undertuned & suppressed for the 318i, it is surprising responsive on the foot.

I never thought i would buy a BMW as i had never been a fan and an ex-owner of the other 2 German brands but was impress by the looks of the current model when i first saw it as compared to the earlier models and was sold after a test drive.

Go try!

What I like
All the bells and whistles for tech that is available in the market today when it comes to safety and connecting media devices.
The sound insulation is surprising good.
Comfort access is really handy.

What I do not like
The price of $230+K
The suppressed tuning of the 318i making it more like 1.6L instead of 2.0L
Sound system could be better


Conan86
1st Gear
8 reviews
48 points
88 forum posts Joined on 08-Jul-2019
Superb handling and looks  Posted on 30 Oct 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The sound insulation is top notch, the only noise is mainly from road surface from the RFT. Driving at higher speed feels exactly the same as normal cruising speed so there's a real need ti pay attention to the speedometer, but this demonstrates how stable and good the the ride is. Just too bad it does not have HUD as standard which will definitely help with speed monitoring. Handling is superb at high speed as long as you know what you're doing.

Being the entry 318i, the engine is expectedly down tuned to differentiate from its next sibling, the 320i.. But at 52k price difference, it's a no competition. Engine is not the perkiest as a result but still very sufficient for daily driver and spirited driving at times.

Wireless CarPlay is seamless and works every time as expected, digital key with iPhone allows me to leave the key fob behind. The wireless charging is barely functional, it only keeps the battery % From falling if CarPlay is used.. Thankfully there's USB-C ports available for fast charging when required..

Driver assistance system is good but could be better since the Japanese counterparts are starting to have all these as standard.

What I like
+ Sound insulation
+ Safety features (BSM, AEB, RCTA, Lane keep assist, etc etc)
+ Handling!
+ Wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto
+ Digital key (only works with iPhone, or key card)
+ Comfort access package (Auto unlock/lock, electric boot, etc)
+ Ambient and external puddle lights are a nice touch
+ iDrive 7
+ Did I mention handling?

What I do not like
- No HUD
- No adaptive cruise control (normal only)
- No lumbar support
- No ventilated seats
- Average sound system
- Wireless charger which doesn't charge much but heats up the phone


Darkseed73
Clutched
1 reviews
10 points
156 forum posts Joined on 18-Dec-2009
My first BMW and I am loving it  Posted on 03 Feb 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
In the past, I never looked at BMW becos seriously it doesn't feel remotely luxury to me. The new 3 series changed my mind, the sporty outside and nice interior attracts me. It was also a time i feel like trying our rear-wheel drive, because I heard that BMW rear-wheel drive, 50/50 body weight and the hp+Torgue = power 8.4 was quite acceptable for me for now.

What I like
The safety features are all build to protect the drivers and it is very useful in different situations. Although i don't really care abt BMW Connect, the lifetime apple carplay is what I was looking for. BMW finally woke up and realize nobody is going to pay for Apple Carplay. The nice instrumental cluster and infotainment system is great, i love the ability to speak, touch or use the dial. It's all my choice in different situation.

What I do not like
The sound system is a let down. The first thing u need to do if u buy this car is upgrade the sound system. Which sport driver doesn't listen to music?


Keithcsy
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Feb-2014
Segment Leader G20 3 Series  Posted on 09 Jan 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Upgrading from the previous generation F30 LCI. Collected the car on 29 Dec and have been driving it for the past 1.5 weeks.


This new G20 3 Series has improved leaps and bounds in especially in the interior and build quality. Doors close with a much better solid thud and better use of materials to prevent damage from our hot weather. The award winning B48 engine is so much smoother than the B38 engine from the previous gen F30 LCI. Power delivery is linear and performance on tap. The chassis has also been stiffened for greater control round corners.

The specifications for the 318i are high, coming with the live professional cockpit including safety systems such as lane departure warning and blindspot assist which weren't even available on the previous generation F30.

My biggest gribe is PML not giving us consumers a choice of m sport trim for the model. As most people who want to buy a BMW enjoy a more sporty exterior and interior and woulnd't mind topping up a few extra thousand to get what they really like.

However, that being said as much as the car has both its pros and cons. To me this is the best in class for the compact executive sedan and gives the best blend of comfort and handling which is unrivalled when compared to its competition.

What I like
The well built and insulated cabin

Technology galore (I drive 7.0/ Connected Drive/ Apple Carplay)

Smart comfort access

Driving dynamics has gone a step up from the previous generation

Best in class cabin space

What I do not like
Hefty Price at 200k

Piano black trim (prone to scratches)

Lack of sensatec material on the dash

No HUD, 360 cam, black head lining option

Small rims 17' (18 would improve the stance of the ride much better)

M sport variant being available (Come on PML/ having an option to top up would be nice)

Paying 2L road tax for a de-tuned 320i


bemywife
1st Gear
4 reviews
46 points
55 forum posts Joined on 29-Sep-2019
This review is for 318i  Posted on 20 Nov 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 3.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
The 3 series is always a popular choice among local car buyers. I was privileged to test drive the latest 318i recently. It has a 4-cylinder 2-litre engine, but output is only 150+ horses. On the road, you don't feel that it's slow, but it's not fast either. Why would anyone pay 2-litre road tax to get such a small power output? It seems that BMW is trying to make a model for every conceivable niche in the market. Unfortunately, this model does not impress me. Yes, it has some useful technologies installed, but it did not give me a feel of luxury nor superb handling. At best, it feels like a Japanese model such as Honda Civic. Noise and road insulation could have been improved. The price/performance ratio is also not enticing.

What I like
It has some nice tech features.

What I do not like
Lack a strong value proposition.


Mervynwm
1st Gear
140 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The 2020 Gadetory 318i  Posted on 01 Nov 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Went by BMW to test drive the new 318i about 2 weeks ago.

First looks is a curvy and sleeker body shape sedan, looking slightly larger than its predecessor.

Inside, its a nicely flushed interior with correctly placed console and buttons. It comes with great intuitive features whereby you do not have to keep track of the car status anymore, as with IoT technology, the car will send back information, telling you when its due for servicing and even what fault it has to go back.

The drive is good move off, at comfort mode, its like other conti brands, smooth and non-pushy ride which you sure to enjoy the drive. Changing to SPORTS mode, the steering stiffens but no change in dampers (perhaps only M series), the gear ratios changes almost as immediate and surprisingly, the "Roaring" Is quiet which insulation is done pretty well unless you missed hearing the roar.

Parking comes with FULL auto where you do not even need to control braking or gear shifts, the moment you engage the park mode and a lot is found, engage REVERSE and thats it, the car gauges itself into the lot for you with absolute no interference at all.

Overall, its a great car to drive if you willing to part around $200k (as of Oct 2020) to it and you are an avid BMW fan. But for another top up, you might wanna look at the new 5 series instead with outmost luxury on top of the great drive.

What I like
Curvy exterior
Fully auto parking
Quiet with more insulation when in Sports mode
Intuitive console

What I do not like
Hefty price tag
No roof option


chullys
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Aug-2016
Not as fun as I imagined  Posted on 20 Oct 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Based on my short test drive, 318 (m-package) isn't as sharp, fun, dominating as I imagined to be comparing to C-Class & S60.
Acceleration feels slight delayed, absorption of bumps were not fantastic.
Design of both interior and exterior were fantastic.

What I like
Its look, satisfaction of self-recognition driving the 3 series.
all rounded performances

What I do not like
acceleration,
comfort over the bumps,


Pomchatchat
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The unassuming beast  Posted on 25 Aug 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Decided to ditch the SUV gig after nines years and decided on the G20 after a test drive. Driving position is perfect, although I needed to get used to being so low on the ground. The torque from the engine is very surprising.

I feel the car exterior is a head-turner. Size is slightly longer than my previous XC60! Interior-wise, can't compare to the new gen Mercs, but I feel it's less distracting. Let's you concentrate more on driving and the roads, than Merc's twin screens that almost feel like you're playing a video game.

Seat comfort can't compare to Volvo. But the G20 has lots of interesting vehicle safety features too.

Opted for the Luxury line in mineral grey. M Sport was a little too low and stiff for these old bones.

What I like
- crazy acceleration
- digital card key
- back row legroom
- driving position
- adaptive drive modes
- connectivity on iDrive 7.0
- LED interior mood lighting
- quiet cabin
- decent stock in car entertainment

What I do not like
- braking needs getting used; brakes hard after certain pressure
- cannot default auto start/stop to off
- cannot default A/C to recirculate (or maybe I don't know how to?)
- unintuitive cluster gauge display
- easy to go above speed limit


Wasteland
Neutral Newbie
16 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2019
Review of 330i after 2 months ownership  Posted on 13 Jul 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Overall it's a good car, nice drive, stable and quiet. The drive is what BMW cars is well known for, total enjoyment.

Steering is direct, chassis is good, cornering is without any doubt one of the most stable around in the market. Engine is powerful except for the fact that there is a slight turbo lag.

It will be good for long drive up Malaysia where it's full potential can be tested.

What I like
-Quiet cabin
-Powerfull engine
-Stable chasIs
-Car Features are adequate for Singapore roads
-Very pleasant drive experience , will bring smile to your face

What I do not like
-BMW quality was not what I expected, irritating sound noise from B pillar and car boot, was was fixed by PML. But for the price, you are not suppose to expect this type of issues
- internal GPS will show you out of path on the map, I think it's either the map needs an update of its a software bug
- Car sound system is very soft, but once when you receive a call via BT from the hp and end the call, the radio volume becomes louder, which correlate to the volumn dial, again suspect it's a software bug
- FC is not very good, would say not impressive for a modern car
-For the price, there is no 360 degree camera as a standard, and I can't add it as option during my point of purchase. Even the new Accord have 360 cameras and slew of equivalent safety features
- Boot is not big, can't fit in a children bicycle compare to my previous sedan

BMW 3 Series Sedan
4 stars - based on 13 reviews