Related Articles

The new BMW 330e sedan now in Singapore

BMW 3 Series delivers both a sporty drive and look

BMW at the heart of Orchard - BMWFestSG


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - BMW 3 Series Sedan 320i M Sport (A)
30 Dec 2019  |  BMW Reviews
The BMW 3 Series sedan combines both sporty looks with a sporty drive, but is that enough for the car to hold its lead in the segment?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW 3 Series Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
5 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
2.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
3 out of 5 (60%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

5 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mervynwm
1st Gear
125 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The 2020 Gadetory 318i  Posted on 01 Nov 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Went by BMW to test drive the new 318i about 2 weeks ago.

First looks is a curvy and sleeker body shape sedan, looking slightly larger than its predecessor.

Inside, its a nicely flushed interior with correctly placed console and buttons. It comes with great intuitive features whereby you do not have to keep track of the car status anymore, as with IoT technology, the car will send back information, telling you when its due for servicing and even what fault it has to go back.

The drive is good move off, at comfort mode, its like other conti brands, smooth and non-pushy ride which you sure to enjoy the drive. Changing to SPORTS mode, the steering stiffens but no change in dampers (perhaps only M series), the gear ratios changes almost as immediate and surprisingly, the "Roaring" Is quiet which insulation is done pretty well unless you missed hearing the roar.

Parking comes with FULL auto where you do not even need to control braking or gear shifts, the moment you engage the park mode and a lot is found, engage REVERSE and thats it, the car gauges itself into the lot for you with absolute no interference at all.

Overall, its a great car to drive if you willing to part around $200k (as of Oct 2020) to it and you are an avid BMW fan. But for another top up, you might wanna look at the new 5 series instead with outmost luxury on top of the great drive.

What I like
Curvy exterior
Fully auto parking
Quiet with more insulation when in Sports mode
Intuitive console

What I do not like
Hefty price tag
No roof option

bemywife
Clutched
2 reviews
6 points
9 forum posts Joined on 29-Sep-2019
This review is for 318i  Posted on 20 Nov 2020
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
The 3 series is always a popular choice among local car buyers. I was privileged to test drive the latest 318i recently. It has a 4-cylinder 2-litre engine, but output is only 150+ horses. On the road, you don't feel that it's slow, but it's not fast either. Why would anyone pay 2-litre road tax to get such a small power output? It seems that BMW is trying to make a model for every conceivable niche in the market. Unfortunately, this model does not impress me. Yes, it has some useful technologies installed, but it did not give me a feel of luxury nor superb handling. At best, it feels like a Japanese model such as Honda Civic. Noise and road insulation could have been improved. The price/performance ratio is also not enticing.

What I like
It has some nice tech features.

What I do not like
Lack a strong value proposition.

chullys
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Aug-2016
Not as fun as I imagined  Posted on 20 Oct 2020
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Based on my short test drive, 318 (m-package) isn't as sharp, fun, dominating as I imagined to be comparing to C-Class & S60.
Acceleration feels slight delayed, absorption of bumps were not fantastic.
Design of both interior and exterior were fantastic.

What I like
Its look, satisfaction of self-recognition driving the 3 series.
all rounded performances

What I do not like
acceleration,
comfort over the bumps,

Pomchatchat
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The unassuming beast  Posted on 25 Aug 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Decided to ditch the SUV gig after nines years and decided on the G20 after a test drive. Driving position is perfect, although I needed to get used to being so low on the ground. The torque from the engine is very surprising.

I feel the car exterior is a head-turner. Size is slightly longer than my previous XC60! Interior-wise, can't compare to the new gen Mercs, but I feel it's less distracting. Let's you concentrate more on driving and the roads, than Merc's twin screens that almost feel like you're playing a video game.

Seat comfort can't compare to Volvo. But the G20 has lots of interesting vehicle safety features too.

Opted for the Luxury line in mineral grey. M Sport was a little too low and stiff for these old bones.

What I like
- crazy acceleration
- digital card key
- back row legroom
- driving position
- adaptive drive modes
- connectivity on iDrive 7.0
- LED interior mood lighting
- quiet cabin
- decent stock in car entertainment

What I do not like
- braking needs getting used; brakes hard after certain pressure
- cannot default auto start/stop to off
- cannot default A/C to recirculate (or maybe I don't know how to?)
- unintuitive cluster gauge display
- easy to go above speed limit

Wasteland
Neutral Newbie
14 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2019
Review of 330i after 2 months ownership  Posted on 13 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Overall it's a good car, nice drive, stable and quiet. The drive is what BMW cars is well known for, total enjoyment.

Steering is direct, chassis is good, cornering is without any doubt one of the most stable around in the market. Engine is powerful except for the fact that there is a slight turbo lag.

It will be good for long drive up Malaysia where it's full potential can be tested.

What I like
-Quiet cabin
-Powerfull engine
-Stable chasIs
-Car Features are adequate for Singapore roads
-Very pleasant drive experience , will bring smile to your face

What I do not like
-BMW quality was not what I expected, irritating sound noise from B pillar and car boot, was was fixed by PML. But for the price, you are not suppose to expect this type of issues
- internal GPS will show you out of path on the map, I think it's either the map needs an update of its a software bug
- Car sound system is very soft, but once when you receive a call via BT from the hp and end the call, the radio volume becomes louder, which correlate to the volumn dial, again suspect it's a software bug
- FC is not very good, would say not impressive for a modern car
-For the price, there is no 360 degree camera as a standard, and I can't add it as option during my point of purchase. Even the new Accord have 360 cameras and slew of equivalent safety features
- Boot is not big, can't fit in a children bicycle compare to my previous sedan

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
BMW 3 Series Sedan
3.5 stars - based on 5 reviews