Recommended for you

BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe 218i M Sport (A) Review

BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe 218i M Sport (A) Video Review

Mercedes-Benz CLA180 vs BMW 216i Gran Coupe

Car detailing tips to make your ride shine again after CNY


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Audi A3 Sedan Mild Hybrid 1.0 (A) vs BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe 216i (A)
29 Sep 2022  |  Audi Reviews
The 216i Gran Coupe delivers class-leading handling and is more fun to drive, while the A3 Sedan offers the space and refinement you'd expect in a larger saloon.
spacer
spacer
Audi A3 1.0 Sedan
Feels like a larger executive saloon
More upmarket interior
Roomier backseat
More efficient drivetrain
BMW 216i Gran Coupe
Sportier looks, snazzier cockpit
More driver-focussed handling
Rorty three-cylinder note
Sharper steering
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe
spacer
4.0
 
8 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.5 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
3.5 Features
4.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
3.5 Engine Performance
4.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
alex976
5th Gear
9 reviews
1,118 points
511 forum posts Joined on 24-Dec-2013
Not a real BMW  Posted on 30 Mar 2024
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
If you are upgrading from an altis, its an awesome car. If you have driven a BMW like series 3 or 5, you will despise the car. The 3 cyl works well if you are driving it normally but please dont tune it cos i have seen people destroy the car by doing it

What I like
priced close to an altis

What I do not like
rubbish 3 cyl
no rear wheel drive


MKA
MKA
Clutched
3 reviews
9 points
9 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2016
Smooth and decent drive of the 216i GC!  Posted on 23 Jul 2023
spacer
 

Review
Like:

Sturdy handling.
Interior looks classy.
Quiet and smooth drive.

No complaints after driving for close to a year.


Rameshk
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Dec-2021
Own your dream !!  Posted on 07 Oct 2022
spacer
 

Review
Just a good car in Cat A segment. Very good comfort and infotainment features. Just bought it in the expo, was a good deal. Given that Toyota Altis hovers around $150k why not go for this at $160k, it's BMW.


supresass
Neutral Newbie
56 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Sensible and stylish all at the same time  Posted on 10 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Looking to go premium with today's nonsensically high COE prices? The 216 Gran Coupe could be one of your options. Equipped with a small engine and a tiny 100+hp output, you'll get into the luxury brand game with a smart 'coupe' all without breaking the bank (too much).

What I like
You'll get your 216iGC here with a black grille (but not the surrounds) and blanked off black front intakes, which are quite stylish if you're into the discreet sort of look.

There's also sports seats inside, and just the regular cruise control. But otherwise this is BMW's old cabin layout taken to an ergonomic zenith. The controls are all well placed, the infotainment layout is just so easy to learn, and the driving position is low yet comfortable.

What I do not like
This engine unfortunately will leave you behind at the lights if you're jostling for the lead. Responsiveness is ok and it sounds quite nice from the inside as well.

The car also lacks shift paddles so you'll have to resort to using the shifter on the centre console.

Overall a great car if you can excuse its clumsy exterior proportions.


quippery
Neutral Newbie
78 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Actually quite the comfortable thing to drive  Posted on 11 Jul 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
There's a new 216i in town, and if offers you a plated drive, with reasonable build quality in its cabin next to its obvious rival.

What I like
The proportions of the 2GC are certainly challenging. Get one in a discreet colour and it will match will with the black grille of the 216i Sport.

Interior build quality is excellent, and the car is not only soft, but also pliant enough for you to take on some bad roads fast. It's also very quiet once on the go. There's a quick steering rack that makes this car feel nimble, even if the engine does not.

What I do not like
It's pricey. Very pricey, even if you discount the inflated costs from COE.


Xueli81
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
7 forum posts Joined on 31-Dec-2012
Good looking and well performance car  Posted on 16 Nov 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Drove BMW Series 2 GT currently but looking to change car so have a look at series 2 Gran Coupe, fall in love at the look and well craft interior. The performance and handling is similar to what my current ride but better in turning, cornering etc. I will get this if I need to change car in 2-3 years times.

What I like
Handling, looks, performance, Interior & Exterior

What I do not like
Expensive, features


metainsanity
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Mar-2020
The Compact Gran Coupe  Posted on 21 Oct 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
It was love at first sight. At the time of my purchase (Nov '20), the 4GC had just been phased out and the new 4GC had not hit our shores (At the time of writing, it still hasn't). Thus the only GC option at PML was the 2 Series and I'm glad it was.

The reason I am attracted to Gran Coupe is the shape of the car, especially the side profile. I like the long hood and the short boot. The 2GC, although based on a 1 Series, captures the GC essence well as it takes design inspiration from it's bigger brother, the 4GC.

The drive is fun, predictable and stable. Its compact size makes city driving fun and parking a breeze. The FR setup makes handling predictable and the GC design (long hood and mid set cabin) makes the whole car stable on long drives.

The 2GC is the one that stands out from the crowd. It is not another cookie cutter build car like the common and plain Honda Vezel, Toyota Altis or a 3 Series.

If you want to experience a Gran Coupe that is compact, fun to drive and won't break the bank, the 2GC is that one. That's why it won sgCarMart Compact Executive Sedan & Car of the Year 2020.

What I like
1. It is a Gran Coupe
2. It is light and comfortable (even with M Sport springs and 18' rims)
3. The 3 cylinders 1.5l engine. It is not the most powerful but is sufficient for our streets. Plus it saves you on the insurance and road tax premium as well.
4. The premium built interior is on par with the other higher end series BMWs.
5. The Snapper Rocks Blue (2 Series GC exclusive colour) is a sight to behold. It looks Teal/Turquoise/Sea Green in some light and blue in others. I always get compliments on the colour.

What I do not like
1. It should have been a liftback/sportback like the 4 Series GC.
2. PML should have brought in the 220i or 228i variants as well.


carahoe
Neutral Newbie
13 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
The smallest BMW sedan you can buy  Posted on 01 Sep 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
So, while the review on sgCarMart says that the car looks better than in photos. My first thought when I saw the 2 series Gran Coupe in real life is that it looks like an upmarket Attrage... The narrow width of the car and its pudgy stature seriously makes it look more like a budget compact sedan, instead of a graceful coupe that it's suppose to emulate.

Now, looking past the looks and design of the car, the interior is indeed quite nice, it reminds of other more larger BMW like the 3 series, nothing unexpected here. While the coupe inspired roofline doesn't help much with the exterior design, it does take away some rear headroom. The centre seat is pretty much useless for adults, in fact, just keep it to 2 passengers at the rear and you should be fine.

Drive wise, it's quite expectedly good, with nice and nimble handling that BMW is known for. Honestly, it's the exterior design that's the worst for this car, if only it is a little longer and wider, it might look better. But right now, you get a short and tall-looking car, with a front end that reminds of other budget compact sedans.

What I like
- Drives nicely as expected of BMW cars
- Engine has sufficient power even though it's a small 1.5l 3 cyclinder
- Well made interior

What I do not like
- Short and pudgy looking with those big grilles, really looks like a slightly more upmarket Mitsubishi Attrage...
- Headroom compromised, all while not even making the exterior look stunningly good...

BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe
4 stars - based on 8 reviews