Related Articles

Eight best buys at the Singapore Motor Show 2019

Save up to $23,000 on Skoda event cars

Skoda celebrates 60 years of Octavia

Expedite your move with Exped Moving Services


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Skoda Octavia 1.0 TSI Ambition Plus (A)
08 Aug 2018  |  Skoda Reviews
The VW Group's 1.0-litre three-cylinder powerplant makes its way to the third generation Skoda Octavia. Will the engine be too small for the car? We find out...
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda Civic 1.6 i-VTEC LX (A) vs Skoda Octavia 1.0 TSI Ambition Plus (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Skoda Octavia
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
6 Reviewers
4.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
6 out of 6 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

6 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
140 points
61 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Smoothest 3 cyl engine  Posted on 07 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Great acceleration even when full load.
Heavy doors with assuring thud from typical VAGgroup
Excellent quality
Huge interior and gigantic boot psace
Quiet interior and composed handling
Not sporty and darty like Golf or Leon by any sense but good enough much better than any cars with a CVT

What I like
Super quiet
Gives golf run for money
Great value for money
Super comfortable, larger than g10 5 series rear cabin
Shockingly good 1.0 3 cylider

What I do not like
Badge perception compared to vw

Jster
Clutched
1 reviews
25 points
4 forum posts Joined on 20-Dec-2009
Decent Family Sedan  Posted on 06 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was introduced to the Skoda Octavia 1.0L at Skoda Centre Singapore, the appearance of the car was a tad common, a normal sedan. And was quite skeptical of the performance, given it is a 1.0L engine. What tempted me to move on to the test drive was the accessories/equipment/space that come with the car. The car comes with blind-spot assist, reverse camera, android auto and an 8-inch touch-screen infotainment system. It has a ginormous boot that has many hooks and storage compartment, the cabin comes with generous legroom as well for a sedan that size. Basically, I kind of "Meh" At the exterior of the car but was really impressed with the interior, simple design loaded with many goodies.

Hence, was quite tempted as the price offered at that point was good, and I always felt that the interior is utmost important for me as we drivers spend most of our time with our cars in the cabin.

During the test-drive, was really impressed with the 1.0L performance as moving off from standstill is a breeze. Vibration was negligible (3-cylinder mindset), the car is quiet thanks to sound proofing. The blind-spot assist was quite useful, infotainment system has good sensitivity and user friendly. Parking was easy as it comes with a clear reverse camera, parking sensors and this safety feature that auto stops when there is an obstacle.

Salesperson attending to me was patience and non-pushy, not the typical "See you no up" Or "Take it or leave it" Attitude. Gave me detailed explanation from paperwork to physical car itself. Follow-up was good as well in terms of insurance, loan matters. Overall pleasant experience with salesperson. Signed the dotted line.

After 3 months with the Octavia 1.0, currently at 5,000km mileage, till date never regretted my decision. Car was comfortable to drive and quite fuel efficient. Decent power to keep up with Singapore roads. Manage to squeeze 4+1 (driver) pax and 3 full-size luggage while picking up family from the airport. The only thing that sometimes irritates me, would be the juddering of the wiper during rainy days. Overall, till date still a happy man with a SMART family sedan.

What I like
Drive:
- Efficient 1.0L Turbo-charged engine
- Paddle-shifters and Sports Mode

Comfort:
- Soft suspension to make the ride less bumpy
- Rear-Aircon vents to cool passengers
- Generous leg-room for occupants
- Engine is quiet and minimal vibration even it is a 3-cylinder

Design:
- Interior is simple and neat
- Ginormous boot space
- Hooks and storage compartments fills the car

Safety:
- 7 airbags in cabin
- Reverse obstruction detection, breaks for you if there is an object
- Driver's assistance systems (Eg: Blind-spot monitoring)
- Reverse camera

What I do not like
- Juddering of wipers which is said to fade (hopefully)
- Exterior appearance can be improved
- Fairy lights (the one under the sunshade) missing, usually found on any cars
- Worries on the DSG due to rumors, however salesperson and google have reassured me and mange my expectations on this

Lockkeng
Clutched
1 reviews
29 points
6 forum posts Joined on 19-Jan-2010
Best package for the price!  Posted on 11 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Took ownership recently of the 1.0 Ambition+. It has all the must haves, nice to haves, and more! What attracted me to it is the driving pleasure it provides despite being a 1.0T. It beats Civic, Altis, Mazda3 (even Maz 6 2.0), Cerato hands down when you are on the wheel. The road tax is extremely afforable and fuel economy is top when compared to the list above. AND, there is no beating the boot space, just massive!
You get blind spot sensors, cruise control, rear parking sensors, etc. Etc..
You are paying for a good quality conti at the price point of a Korean/Japanese. I cannot vouch for reliability at the moment as it is still new to me but a 5 year warranty should give peace of mind.

What I like
Furnishings a notch above Jap/Korean
Torque is unreal for a car of this size
sedan is compact but has space like a mid sized sedan,
Large boot
HU is definitely class leading
fuel economy

What I do not like
Exterior takes time to appreciate
No lever for boot opening in the car
Not enough USB ports

Carbuyer55
Premium User Carbuyer55
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
21 points
2 forum posts Joined on 17-Mar-2010
Best combination of affordability, fuel economy, safety, while providing consistent reliability  Posted on 08 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having this car for the past 5 days since collection on 04 Jan 2019, My personal assessment for Octavia 1.0 TSI is, it the best-value engine in the range for Sedan in Singapore. A full size sedan with a 1.0 TSI engine surpass the like of any 1.6 litre sedan , despite the car's size. It's refined, easy to drive smoothly, feels punchy enough even on rough road conditions and manages very well on the motorway.

For the basic model, Volkswagen is generous to provide all accessories needed. The default setting come with a front centre armrest, a multi-function steering wheel, cruise control, bluetooth connection, Eco/Sport mode selection and rear electric windows - all in.

What I like
Almost everything,
- Fast pick up from 0-100km (Tested, about 10sec), stable even above 120kph.
- Car Size, match those 2.0 litre car
- The boot, is enormous, at 590 litres.
- Accessories provided
- An 8.0in touchscreen, SmartLink featuring Apple CarPlay and MirrorLink, Bluetooth, a DAB radio and a USB socket.
- Provided Manual and Automatic Gear shifting
- Fuel consumption ( My average is at 17,2km/litre, though the spec put 20km/litre).
- rear air-conditioning vents, you normally get that n luxury sedan
- The after sale service, the sale person, Brian is responsive and always help to answer any questions, and drove to the tyre shop to help me out on the rim selection

What I do not like
- looking forward to see more Octavia owner on the road.

Dkyl77
Premium User Dkyl77
Clutched
2 reviews
29 points
22 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Powerful Octavia 1.0 TSI turbo charged  Posted on 18 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
When i saw this car in the showroom, was impressed with the interior comfort and spaciousness, have the luxurious feel as well. Especially like the liftback and large boot space.
The car performance is powerful, feel like you are driving a 1.8L car. Pickup and gear shifting is very punchy. The spec of this car is higher than the Golf 1.0. Immediately booked this vehicle.

What I like
spacious and comfort feel of the interior
Car play
Turbo charge 1.0 TSI VW engine
7 speed DSG is superb
parts are VW and Audi
Long history and reliable brand

What I do not like
blind spot assist feature only available in the ambition plus model
no memory seats

MatthewLee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Aug-2018
A "bang for your buck" Sports Sedan  Posted on 22 Aug 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having been one of the privileged few to have test driven the first batch of the 2018 Skoda Octavia RS245 when it first touched down on Singapore's shores, I left the showroom a tad displeased as all of them (and I mean all of them) had already been reserved by the lucky few.

Nonetheless, they did have a white show piece available for a short test run.

Upon first impressions, you'd notice the blackened carbon-concept grill integrating the "Bi-focal" Headlight design into the honey combed grill. Not bad, considering that not everyone is used to the standard Octavia's split headlamp design.

The sports seats hug you snugly and firmly as you enter the interior. Thoughtfully laid out instrument clusters adorn the already well equipped Octavia, and it inspires confidence in the driver, even on the claustrophobic streets of Singapore.

The car is well composed and self assured when cruising back alley-ways, although the RS is a tad firm due to the ride quality (sports model after all). Take the car on a twisty B-road on the way up to Genting Highlands however and the rewards might just tantalise you that much more.

Though some might compare the car to its native cousin, the golf GTI which it is lifted from (mind you this is more powerful than the GTI base model, and the GTI clubsport isn't available on Singapore's shores) this might just edge the GTI out in terms of driveability and utilitarianism.

In summary, if you had S$125+ k lying around, this might just give the enthusiast a tough call to make, amongst the likes of the offerings from Volkswagen (GTI), Renault (Megane GT) and the Kia Stinger 2.0A.

What I like
- Driving dynamics
- Utility from the class leading boot of 590litres
- Technology support with Apple Carplay and Android Auto compatibility
- Low fuel consumption from a Sports Sedan @ 6.6km/litre
- Competitive price point

What I do not like
- After-sales support from the incumbent dealer has yet to bear fruit with the lapses of the last importer
- Low initial brand recognition = sub-par resale value in the first few years of ownership
- lack-lustre looks (which is not half bad by my opinion, but others may not be as forgiving)

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Skoda Octavia
4.5 stars - based on 6 reviews