Related Articles

Skoda unveils the Octavia RS iV plug-in hybrid

The best cars to survive an apocalypse

Skoda delivered 1.24 million vehicles in 2019

What makes cars so expensive in Singapore?


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Video - Skoda Octavia 2.0 TSI RS 245 (A)
14 Nov 2019  |  Skoda Reviews
With its exhilarating driving performance with family practicality, the Skoda Octavia RS 245 is a sports sedan that's hard to ignore.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda Civic 1.6 i-VTEC LX (A) vs Skoda Octavia 1.0 TSI Ambition Plus (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of SKODA Octavia
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
12 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
12 out of 12 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

12 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Sherleo
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2019
Super fast 2.0 engine  Posted on 15 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I do not own this car but was under one of my shortlist after testing a friend's car out. Am in love with the torque and power for this model. For its price range, will definitely recommend this to anyone who loves the kick from what's under the hood.

What I like
Suitable for those with a "Need for speed"
A relatively higher seating for a strong sporty type sedan for those who may like an elevated view when driving
Large interior, suitable for families too
Rather huge boot
Memory seats!
The shape of both the exhaust tip looks MEAN

What I do not like
No sunroof
Exterior can be more enticing
Need more usb ports
No electric parking brake and still using traditional handbrake
Pricey but understandable

jemsg
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Sep-2019
Masculine premium sedan with affordable price tag and practicality  Posted on 02 Sep 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Octavia is a fun and practical car. With an engaging drive as well as a luxurious but well thought out interior, this car is a no-brainer as compared to other cars in its category. Other small details such as puddle lights at the side mirrors, compartments to hold umbrella etc were a pleasant surprise. Highly recommended!

What I like
1) Just a slight top-up in pricing compared to Jap / Kor cars for a conti car
2) Fun yet smooth to drive
3) Good noise isolation and sturdiness in door panels compared to some cars
4) Premium interior feel of cabin with lots of features
5) Puddle lights at side mirrors really useful.
6) Huge boot and interior cabin size
7) Chiseled and masculine exterior and front-grilles
8) Infotainment > what we will get from Jap cars

What I do not like
- DSG wording on the gear stick.
- Not enough USB ports

Wasteland
Clutched
14 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2019
The car you buy just because of the engine, and nothing else  Posted on 21 Aug 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Decided to pay a visit to Skoda and try out the RS245.

1st look at the show room car, the looks, either you hate it or you can live with it, I don't think anyone will love it deeply. Interior feels plain, nothing spectacular, given that most conti cars nowadays have some form of digital display.

Build quality....Is pretty bad to be honest. Lots of plastics used inside the console. The door handle seems flimsy, when I close the door, there is a rattling sound, sound of a lose plastic at the rear roof top. Try hitting the black front grill, made of cheap plastics, try it and you will know what I mean.

Granted this is a show room car that is abused everyday, but if I were to own this car for 10yrs, I assume it will deteriorate to the same conditions. Boot seems solid and tough when closing it. Ilike the big t shape hooks that can be sped for securing plastics bags or recycle bags.

Engine is pretty much what you would expect from a gti engine, powerful and responsive, delivers the power when you need it. Very aggressive in sports mode, during idling in sports mode, the rpm is at a high of 1.1k rpm, ready to pounce.

Can't reallly test the stability due to the usual lk test route that consist of straight roads.

I believe that this car, at its price and with the power it delivers, you are only paying just because of the gti engine, cos everything else in terms of quality and features are pretty bad in my opinion.

What I like
- Powerfull and responsive engine
- the big t shape hooks at the boot

What I do not like
- power quality of materials used inside the car
- not much features provided
- still using hand brakes
- cheap plastic used for the front black grill
- the red bbk looks Nice from far, but at close look, it looks like any normal brakes with red color painted over it
- don't like the alcantra material, seems to absord human sweat, when I took over the car from another customer, there was a stench emanating from the seats, never experienced this before in any car

AnandVijayakumar
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Aug-2019
Most value for money car in catrgory  Posted on 19 Aug 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drive the Octavia on 12th Aug as part of the national day promo in their lengkee showroom. The 1.4T engine was super responsive and felt great. The cabin was neatly made out with tons of features. The 8 inch touch screen display was easy to use as well. Rear leg room was plenty and boot was humongous.. Placed a down payment and awaiting delivery...

What I like
Space inside the car
efficient & powerful engine
feel like a car from one category above
sturdy body & road presence
great safety features many of which are missing in it's nearest rivals from Japan & Korea
customer service was great and they made a great $$ deal too

What I do not like
lower resale value as singaporean's always value the brand lower than a honda or toyota
external appearance could be better to make it more appealing to the sporty preference customers

chantyeroop
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Aug-2016
My First Turbo Car - Octavia Ambition 1.0L  Posted on 12 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I went to VW centre in Nov 2018, hoping to test the Jetta .
But was told that it was not selling cos' its engine failed the LTA emission requirement. Then the VW sales recommended me Skoda Octavia.

I was a bit skeptical of this brand, until I went to view the Octavia 1.0L.
I was totally converted when I sat inside and tested drive .

The ride is smooth and pick up is fast. Much better than 1.5 and 1.6L cars that I had driven before.
The noise from outside is quite well insulated. And the engine sound is muted when it is rev to higher RPM.

I did compare the Octavia to another Korean Turbo model.
But in the end I purchased this Octavia as I feel that it has more bang for the bucks.

What I like
Interior design looks luxurious
Touch Screen Infotainment system
Decent audio quality from the speakers
Cruise control, good for fuel economy
Fully Auto on all the 4 window control switches
Able to wind down windows when unlocking and wind up windows when locking vehicle
Auto side mirror retract when car locked
Huge boot
Front and back anti-collision sensors and auto brake
Very good FC for a turbo car, can go above 700km for a full tank of 50L.
Fast pick up and does not feel like floating at high speed.
Engine auto stop at stationary , can be disabled.

What I do not like
No electric brake parking, still using hand brake
Very heavy vehicle

josephannnn
Clutched
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2018
Best money for power value in the market!  Posted on 02 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Skoda RS245 is a brilliant drive through and through. Owned an A3 1.8 and A4 2.0, and the RS245 has a brilliant pick up compared to them, and the limited slip differential really sets it apart as it takes corners really well for a Skoda. Steering may not have as much feedback as a Golf GTI, but its enough to let u know when you're pushing the limit.

Comfortable drive too when not driving agressively. Goes over bumps pretty well and is quite wide at the back, comparing to the range like: Passat, A4, 3 series and CLA.

Overall, the RS245 has the best value for money, at around 125-135K. Can't find a vehicle with a powertrain and chassis like this for that range.

What I like
Sports Alcantara Leather seats: Perfect for Singapore as alcantara leather doesn't get hot when u park it in the Singapore heat.

Sports suspension: provides confidence when switching lanes agressively.

Limited Slip Diff

237Hp and 370Nm: Just right for the car's size and weight.

Handy features like memory seat, blind spot warning and an intuitive touchscreen

Huge boot space

What I do not like
Less nimble as compared to GTI and Leon Cupra.

Fake exhaust sounds from speaker, very unnecessary

Not the best looking exterior, even with lower suspension and big rims.

Jster
1st Gear
1 reviews
62 points
10 forum posts Joined on 20-Dec-2009
Decent Family Sedan  Posted on 06 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was introduced to the Skoda Octavia 1.0L at Skoda Centre Singapore, the appearance of the car was a tad common, a normal sedan. And was quite skeptical of the performance, given it is a 1.0L engine. What tempted me to move on to the test drive was the accessories/equipment/space that come with the car. The car comes with blind-spot assist, reverse camera, android auto and an 8-inch touch-screen infotainment system. It has a ginormous boot that has many hooks and storage compartment, the cabin comes with generous legroom as well for a sedan that size. Basically, I kind of "Meh" At the exterior of the car but was really impressed with the interior, simple design loaded with many goodies.

Hence, was quite tempted as the price offered at that point was good, and I always felt that the interior is utmost important for me as we drivers spend most of our time with our cars in the cabin.

During the test-drive, was really impressed with the 1.0L performance as moving off from standstill is a breeze. Vibration was negligible (3-cylinder mindset), the car is quiet thanks to sound proofing. The blind-spot assist was quite useful, infotainment system has good sensitivity and user friendly. Parking was easy as it comes with a clear reverse camera, parking sensors and this safety feature that auto stops when there is an obstacle.

Salesperson attending to me was patience and non-pushy, not the typical "See you no up" Or "Take it or leave it" Attitude. Gave me detailed explanation from paperwork to physical car itself. Follow-up was good as well in terms of insurance, loan matters. Overall pleasant experience with salesperson. Signed the dotted line.

After 3 months with the Octavia 1.0, currently at 5,000km mileage, till date never regretted my decision. Car was comfortable to drive and quite fuel efficient. Decent power to keep up with Singapore roads. Manage to squeeze 4+1 (driver) pax and 3 full-size luggage while picking up family from the airport. The only thing that sometimes irritates me, would be the juddering of the wiper during rainy days. Overall, till date still a happy man with a SMART family sedan.

What I like
Drive:
- Efficient 1.0L Turbo-charged engine
- Paddle-shifters and Sports Mode

Comfort:
- Soft suspension to make the ride less bumpy
- Rear-Aircon vents to cool passengers
- Generous leg-room for occupants
- Engine is quiet and minimal vibration even it is a 3-cylinder

Design:
- Interior is simple and neat
- Ginormous boot space
- Hooks and storage compartments fills the car

Safety:
- 7 airbags in cabin
- Reverse obstruction detection, breaks for you if there is an object
- Driver's assistance systems (Eg: Blind-spot monitoring)
- Reverse camera

What I do not like
- Juddering of wipers which is said to fade (hopefully)
- Exterior appearance can be improved
- Fairy lights (the one under the sunshade) missing, usually found on any cars
- Worries on the DSG due to rumors, however salesperson and google have reassured me and mange my expectations on this

Lockkeng
1st Gear
2 reviews
51 points
11 forum posts Joined on 19-Jan-2010
Best package for the price!  Posted on 11 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Took ownership recently of the 1.0 Ambition+. It has all the must haves, nice to haves, and more! What attracted me to it is the driving pleasure it provides despite being a 1.0T. It beats Civic, Altis, Mazda3 (even Maz 6 2.0), Cerato hands down when you are on the wheel. The road tax is extremely afforable and fuel economy is top when compared to the list above. AND, there is no beating the boot space, just massive!
You get blind spot sensors, cruise control, rear parking sensors, etc. Etc..
You are paying for a good quality conti at the price point of a Korean/Japanese. I cannot vouch for reliability at the moment as it is still new to me but a 5 year warranty should give peace of mind.

What I like
Furnishings a notch above Jap/Korean
Torque is unreal for a car of this size
sedan is compact but has space like a mid sized sedan,
Large boot
HU is definitely class leading
fuel economy

What I do not like
Exterior takes time to appreciate
No lever for boot opening in the car
Not enough USB ports

Carbuyer55
1st Gear
1 reviews
21 points
2 forum posts Joined on 17-Mar-2010
Best combination of affordability, fuel economy, safety, while providing consistent reliability  Posted on 08 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having this car for the past 5 days since collection on 04 Jan 2019, My personal assessment for Octavia 1.0 TSI is, it the best-value engine in the range for Sedan in Singapore. A full size sedan with a 1.0 TSI engine surpass the like of any 1.6 litre sedan , despite the car's size. It's refined, easy to drive smoothly, feels punchy enough even on rough road conditions and manages very well on the motorway.

For the basic model, Volkswagen is generous to provide all accessories needed. The default setting come with a front centre armrest, a multi-function steering wheel, cruise control, bluetooth connection, Eco/Sport mode selection and rear electric windows - all in.

What I like
Almost everything,
- Fast pick up from 0-100km (Tested, about 10sec), stable even above 120kph.
- Car Size, match those 2.0 litre car
- The boot, is enormous, at 590 litres.
- Accessories provided
- An 8.0in touchscreen, SmartLink featuring Apple CarPlay and MirrorLink, Bluetooth, a DAB radio and a USB socket.
- Provided Manual and Automatic Gear shifting
- Fuel consumption ( My average is at 17,2km/litre, though the spec put 20km/litre).
- rear air-conditioning vents, you normally get that n luxury sedan
- The after sale service, the sale person, Brian is responsive and always help to answer any questions, and drove to the tyre shop to help me out on the rim selection

What I do not like
- looking forward to see more Octavia owner on the road.

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
139 points
62 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Smoothest 3 cyl engine  Posted on 07 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Great acceleration even when full load.
Heavy doors with assuring thud from typical VAGgroup
Excellent quality
Huge interior and gigantic boot psace
Quiet interior and composed handling
Not sporty and darty like Golf or Leon by any sense but good enough much better than any cars with a CVT

What I like
Super quiet
Gives golf run for money
Great value for money
Super comfortable, larger than g10 5 series rear cabin
Shockingly good 1.0 3 cylider

What I do not like
Badge perception compared to vw

Dkyl77
1st Gear
4 reviews
29 points
13 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Powerful Octavia 1.0 TSI turbo charged  Posted on 18 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
When i saw this car in the showroom, was impressed with the interior comfort and spaciousness, have the luxurious feel as well. Especially like the liftback and large boot space.
The car performance is powerful, feel like you are driving a 1.8L car. Pickup and gear shifting is very punchy. The spec of this car is higher than the Golf 1.0. Immediately booked this vehicle.

What I like
spacious and comfort feel of the interior
Car play
Turbo charge 1.0 TSI VW engine
7 speed DSG is superb
parts are VW and Audi
Long history and reliable brand

What I do not like
blind spot assist feature only available in the ambition plus model
no memory seats

MatthewLee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Aug-2018
A "bang for your buck" Sports Sedan  Posted on 22 Aug 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having been one of the privileged few to have test driven the first batch of the 2018 Skoda Octavia RS245 when it first touched down on Singapore's shores, I left the showroom a tad displeased as all of them (and I mean all of them) had already been reserved by the lucky few.

Nonetheless, they did have a white show piece available for a short test run.

Upon first impressions, you'd notice the blackened carbon-concept grill integrating the "Bi-focal" Headlight design into the honey combed grill. Not bad, considering that not everyone is used to the standard Octavia's split headlamp design.

The sports seats hug you snugly and firmly as you enter the interior. Thoughtfully laid out instrument clusters adorn the already well equipped Octavia, and it inspires confidence in the driver, even on the claustrophobic streets of Singapore.

The car is well composed and self assured when cruising back alley-ways, although the RS is a tad firm due to the ride quality (sports model after all). Take the car on a twisty B-road on the way up to Genting Highlands however and the rewards might just tantalise you that much more.

Though some might compare the car to its native cousin, the golf GTI which it is lifted from (mind you this is more powerful than the GTI base model, and the GTI clubsport isn't available on Singapore's shores) this might just edge the GTI out in terms of driveability and utilitarianism.

In summary, if you had S$125+ k lying around, this might just give the enthusiast a tough call to make, amongst the likes of the offerings from Volkswagen (GTI), Renault (Megane GT) and the Kia Stinger 2.0A.

What I like
- Driving dynamics
- Utility from the class leading boot of 590litres
- Technology support with Apple Carplay and Android Auto compatibility
- Low fuel consumption from a Sports Sedan @ 6.6km/litre
- Competitive price point

What I do not like
- After-sales support from the incumbent dealer has yet to bear fruit with the lapses of the last importer
- Low initial brand recognition = sub-par resale value in the first few years of ownership
- lack-lustre looks (which is not half bad by my opinion, but others may not be as forgiving)

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
SKODA Octavia
4 stars - based on 12 reviews