Toyota Corolla Altis

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 (A)
07 Oct 2010  |  Toyota Reviews
Are the minor changes to the Altis good enough to improve its drive? Join us as we find out more.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Corolla Altis
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
77 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3/5
41 out of 77 (53.2%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

77 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Ck3121
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Old Engine in new chasis design  Posted on 08 Apr 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I believe Honda will overtake Toyota this year, unless BM import the Altis with the DVVTI (the 1.8 model) but then it may compete with its CAMRY.

What I like
Touch Screen HIFI but no GPS

What I do not like
Old engine and with this OMV it is priced very high compare to other models in this category, eg Nissan Slyphy OMV is around $17K.

Darren87
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Toyota Cars are comfortable but not fast  Posted on 08 Apr 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
currently driving the older version Altis 1.6. The interior is comfortable and spacious, but can be further improved, especially the bhp. So people would like to go for the speed as well as for the comfortability.

Greenpuffer
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Toyota Altis is way over priced and looks weird, like a shark out of water.  Posted on 06 Apr 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I think BM is going to lose more market share in the coming months. The Vios feels like an empty box on wheels and now we have the Altis which feels like a concrete block on wheels. Both are way over priced. I think it is also way under powered. I can walk into any PI and get a toyota axio for 6k cheaper and it definitely looks better than the altis.

What I like
Nothing

What I do not like
the car looks like it is trying to be a camry and failing badly.
over priced, way overpriced.
old engine, underpowered.

Reviewer
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Better than the last model  Posted on 05 Apr 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have test drove the 1.6 version of this car in Feb 08. Feels better than the last model and surely it looks better. Good family car as it comes with a 5 yr warranty.

It comes with Electronic throttle and electrical steering, hence should helps the fuel consumption a bit.

What I like
Quiet and large interior.
LCD touch screen HU.
5 years warranty

What I do not like
Old VVTi engine instead of the Dual VVTi version.
No CNG option yet.
Only one choice for interior colour.

Penkpong
1st Gear
1 reviews
17 points
11 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Expensive  Posted on 01 Apr 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Just went to Toyota Malaysia and viewing 08 Altis. Same price compare to previous model (RM103K)! I just compare it apple to apple, both are import from Thailand but why Singapore Altis is 8K more expenssive than Singapore previous model?
Toyota is Best selling car in M'sia after Proton & Perodua. Yet it is still selling price of old model. Yes, be fair to Borneo, M'sia Altis doesn't come with Super ECT(1.6) & feature like leather seat. But do you think these features worth for 8K?
Lets be patient, I believe price will be slightly drop, range below 65K still can consider. What do you think?

What I like
1) Outlook elegance

What I do not like
1) 4 speed auto only
2) Doesn't catch up with other country spec, Dual VVTi
3) Boring color

Rdyeo
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Jan-2007
Not value for money  Posted on 18 Mar 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
The lauch of this new Altis was keenly anticipated due to the long delay from the Thai factory. Imagine the disappointment when the model features were finally revealed in Feb 2008. Same old engine, boring interior and skyhigh prices.

What I like
-Solid feel when you drive the test car
-Toyota's reputation for reliability
- Nice exterior (looks like mini Camry)

What I do not like
-High price. Close to the price of Honda Civic (which is a much better specs and designed car)
-Only 4 speed Auto gearbox, instead of 5 speed
-Dull interior design
-Old VVTI engine installed when the newer Dual VVTI,which gives better bhp and FC, is already available in other markets

SGCMyongjqm
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
lacks innovation & value for buck  Posted on 16 Mar 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 1/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
below expectations

Fellows
1st Gear
1 reviews
70 points
120 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Poor engine bhp  Posted on 11 Mar 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
The overall design is quite ok only compare to Honda civic.
Same old design for the interior.

What I do not like
The engine is i don't like, the same old vvt-i engine use in current corolla altis with even lesser bhp 107. Somemore its only 4 speed auto which is abit outdated compare to other which use 5-speed auto. It should use the new Dual vvt-i instead of the current engine

Carpenter
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Good car, but not a good buy now  Posted on 11 Mar 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Toyota Corolla Altis has always been a Singaporean favorite, and no grudges for them not to change the engine - the current one is already excellent! The engine combines fuel efficiency with power in a perfect balance. How many other brands can boast of that? However, the pricing now is way too high, putting it near the range of the Lancer EX and Civic. I believe the pricing will drop with time, so hold your horses!

What I like
- Reliable and solid build
- Excellent engine and transmission

What I do not like
- Handling is very poor
- Price is too high, should be in the late $50K range
- Exterior styling is getting out-dated

Notitwain
Clutched
1 reviews
8 points
20 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2006
A disappointment  Posted on 09 Mar 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I am currently driving a Vios and intend to upgrade to a bigger CC vehicle. Was comparing the civic and waited for the Altis to launched. Went to the showroom to see and test drive. What a disappointment. Comparing it to their biggest rival Honda, the gap is far too big. From the styling to the trimming of the interior and the engine, Honda outshine Toyota. Think Toyota need to change their designer before they are out of the competition.

What I like
- Reasonable legroom
- leather steering and gear knob

What I do not like
- Dull interior
- Only one interior colour (i prefer black)
- Soundproofing is ok only
- It's the same old engine
- Same boring sound system
- Design of car

Acurav
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
 Posted on 29 Feb 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
new car but came with old model engine, some more only maintain with 4 speed..not value for $$

new car should have better performance yet this new car power drop and weight of car increase.....oh not ...fc will be increase by this way....fuel gonna up now aday and never drop....oh no...not value for $$$

interior owesome...oh no it old fashion again...pls raise some good idea to make it look fantastic like honda....oh no..i won get it, overall disappointed....especially with the price..i can get 'better' car than this with the amount of $$$.


Would you recommend this vehicle to a friend?: No

Qutemail
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Total Crappy Car  Posted on 28 Feb 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
The 2008 Altis is supposed to be good.
The Ultimate disappointment is that we are getting only the shell.
The Engine is the old lousy vvti (for singapore model)

For Europe model it is the LATEST DUAL VVTI.
Too bad we wont be getting this. Because BM is cutting its cost.

Most buyer probably won't know unless they are familar with engines.

The car is very heavy for the old vvti.
Fuel consumption is gonna be sucks, because the size of the new car is not meant to use the old engine.

Never never ever consider.
I been a loyal fan of toyota but not this round.

Wilsonchay
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Old Wine in New Bottle  Posted on 28 Feb 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I am currently driving a 1.8 L altis.

Look at the new altis:
1. Old vvti engine (same as my current car's engine). Toyota Thailand is really behind in its engine technology! Why still 4 speed only? Honda Civic got 5 speed already!

2. New car is 100 kg HEAVIER (yes!). So it will be slower compared to the current older altis model.

3. Interior is so boring colour! Why only ONE interior colour, I don't know. Even Honda Cvic has more than one interior colour to choose from.

4. The car brochure from Borneo Motors - No red or green colours. Only very boring colours. What a shame!

5. With the same amount of $$, I might as well add a few more thousand dollars and get a 1.8L Civic.

Spawn
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Looks good, but not worth the $  Posted on 28 Feb 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
With the recent facelift, I was very interested to see what the latest offerings of the new altis. First look was very impressive, with the new front and extended size of the car. Look very much like the camry.

But interior was a letdown, with the increase in pricing from the old altis, I expected more. With lots of plastic feel in the interior like the doors and panel, i was amazed that the new altis was very much overprice, and to be remind that bhp was down to 107 compare to the old altis.

Most important was to find the boot cover not even insulated! I was able to see all the wiring under the boot cover.

SGCMdes3k
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Not worth the money  Posted on 28 Feb 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The old Altis is 50+k

This altis is about 8k more.
Paying 8k more and getting the old vvti engine ?

I think the local authorised dealer is not fair to the local buyers.

Car made in Thai, Thailand and all other regions is getting the new Dual VVTI engine.

We here pay 8k more just for the looks ?
Its really a shame way to cut cost.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Toyota Corolla Altis 3 stars - based on 77 reviews