Viewed : 1,590 times
Recommended Articles

Taking six categories, Honda was the biggest winner at the awards commemorating a decade of ASEAN NCAP. Toyota, Nissan and Hyundai were all also awarded.

17 Jan 2022 | International News : Malaysia

Honda has won big at the 2011-2021 Decade of Safer Vehicle awards organised by ASEAN NCAP. The awards were held in the final month of 2021 to mark the full decade since our region's very own assessment body for the safety of new cars came into being. 

Honda's three sedans - all perennial favourites in Singapore - were awardees at the event, with the third to fifth generations of the subcompact City, as well as the ninth to eleventh generations of the Civic, winning the 'Excellent Award' for consistently attaining a five-star rating. 

The Civic scored two accolades at the Decade of Safer Vehicle awards
With an increasing focus on the safety of motorcyclists, the Civic also won the 'Safety Technology Award' for its auto emergency braking (AEB) system's ability to detect motorcycles. Meanwhile, the flagship Accord sedan walked drove away with the award for 'Best Forward-Facing Child Occupant Protection 2017-2020'. 

Honda also won two general awards, for the most 5-star cars between 2012 to 2016 in terms of protection for adult occupants, as well as for Best Road Safety Partner. But it wasn't the only Japanese marque that made waves at the event.

For the most 5-star cars in the category of child occupant protection, recognition was instead given to Nissan. Toyota, on the other hand, won two awards for the most five star cars overall - between 2017 to 2020, as well as between 2012 to 2020. The former's Teana sedan and the latter's C-HR coupe-SUV were also recognised for their adult occupant protection credentials.  

The presence of a dedicated assessment standard for the ASEAN region has helped in accounting for its specific traffic conditions as well as models
Other carmakers who were recognised at the event included Hyundai, Perodua and Isuzu.

Over 10 years, at least 137 variants over about 110 models have undergone rigorous assessment from ASEAN NCAP, and under standards that are continually refreshed to keep pace with increasing demands for road safety.

The assessment body is currently operating out of its 2021-2025 roadmap, which covers four domains comprising Adult Occupant Protection, Child Occupant Protection, Safety Assist and Motorcyclist Safety. The full list of winners can be viewed here.

You may also like

1-10 of 20    

Tags :  

ncap  asean ncap  honda  city  accord  civic