Recommended for you

Get your tyres replaced by professionals you trust

Toyota marks 20 years of the Prius

Eight best buys at the Singapore Motor Show 2019

Zero emissions vs SG's energy mix


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Prius+ Hybrid 1.8 (A)
21 Aug 2018  |  Toyota Reviews
If you like the idea of the Prius Hybrid but require more space, then the Prius+ - Toyota's seven-seater petrol-electric hybrid - may just be the car for you.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Prius+ Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Yongwd
1st Gear
1 reviews
50 points
776 forum posts Joined on 31-Dec-2001
Prius+ is still relevant in 2021  Posted on 10 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is my 3rd Toyota Hybrid.

Once again, it has proven to be practical for busy family man who does not have time for breakdowns and mechanical surprises. It has superior fuel efficiency that many competitors hybrid are not able to come close. The car is engineered for ultimate fuel efficiency, if you are looking for something fast this car may not be suitable - Consider Cupra Ateca?

The vehicle is able to cruise comfortably 0 to ~76km/h in EV mode. No learning of any hyper-milling technique is required. Drive as it should, your reward is everytime you visit the pump station with the amazing fuel economy. Who cares about fuel hike when driving a Toyota Hybrid?

2nd row has 3 independently adjustable seats that fit 3 adults easily.
3rd row is 50/50 foldable for occasion weekend family outing
All seats have thick cushion, they are supportive, reclinable and good for long distance ride.

What I like
1. Amazing fuel consumption (my average 25-27km/L or at worse 20km/L)
2. Nothing below 800km with a tank of 40L fuel. I average 1000+km a tank.
3. Top Safety Specification, passed small overlap crash test. Full curtain, seats and knee airbag protection. Important.
4. Front + Rear aluminium lightweight high energy crash absorbing material
5. Large front + rear disc brakes for reassuring stop
6. This is a Full Hybrid System (unlike other mild hybrid or half baked system)
7. Able to operate and drive temporary even with hybrid battery failure (many hybrids out there not able to do so) - Important when you are in Malaysia
8. Low Running Cost and ultra low maintenance cost
9. Agent 10yrs Unlimited Mileage Hybrid battery REPLACEMENT warranty
10. Quiet Ride and has good aircon, turn up fan speed if 3rd row is occupied
11. Die hard proven reliability worldwide
12. LED Projector Headlamps are good in dark rainy night
13. Front and Rear Fog Lamps are good for travelling in Malaysia
14. Factory fitted Yokohama Advan dB V551 tyres for a very quiet ride and it has tyre pressure warning system.
15. Lithium ion hybrid battery
16. Cruise Control and Multi Function Display
17. Excellent Aero Dynamic, CD 0.28 barely has wind noise at high speed
18. Glass and Windscreen are thicker for better IR/UV and wind noise insulation

What I do not like
1. A Rather Dated Design (still acceptable)
2. Local Agent Removed Toyota Safety Sense to keep cost low
3. Boring Reliability, however will not give you surprises
4. Fuel Tank can be bigger 45L, maybe 60L?
5. Unable to do more than 1200km with a tank of fuel.
6. Door panels feels hollow probably to keep weight down
7. Roof line can be higher if does not affect coef. of drag
8. Floor insulation can be better to absorb road and tyre NVH

CARLOOK
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
6 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2011
Most affordable family MPV  Posted on 30 Mar 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I booked my car in October 2018 and took delivery on January 2019.
Overall purchasing experience was great, had two time test driving and found pick up was bit slag but as a family car I didn't put high priority on that.

I have already clocked 3K Km running and found it is keeping its promises that were shown during sales phase. In city ride it is giving always 15+km/L.
More spacious for all adults in first and second row. Third row I am using for kids and my kids enjoying it.
Sound proofing could have been better. Smooth riding if you are not a sports drive fan.

What I like
Spacious, Driver seat is good with arm rest.

What I do not like
Sound proof is not that impressing.
No aircon in 3rd row

BillLee_78898
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Feb-2015
Best Toyota car I've owned  Posted on 20 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was looking around for a SUV but eventually settle for a MPV for the practicality. Never thought of considering a hybrid as the cost used to be quite on the high side, but recently it's just make sense to own one due to escalating petrol price. The Toyota salesman was quick to point out the high OMV and Parf of this car, and the time of my enquires they were having a car export promo at 109k. That's compute to a depreciation of <10k . I test drive and book it on the same day.
It has been 1 weeks since I got this car and I must say it's really feels good driving a Toyota Prius , it's super quiet and I have no doubts it's saving me petrol.
I'm light footed driver so I have no issue with not having turbo charged power , for a family car this is just right for me .

What I like
Smooth quiet engine
Suspension is firm but just right for me
Feels like driving futuristic car
Petrol savings
Spacious
Flexible seating arrangements
Super spacious 2nd rows ( my Wife and son love it)

What I do not like
Hardly anything I do not like
But it's pity some extra features were not included by Borneo for the local model ( auto wiper, collision sensor, moon roof etc) ..as always due to cost .

Incubus22
Clutched
6 reviews
7 points
61 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2005
Better late than never  Posted on 20 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
A very much needed overhaul of the ever popular Toyota Wish is at last here. From afar, it looks like an extended Prius C but it's distinct longish and wider appearance gave away when observed carefully. The Prius+ now looks sharper and inline with the current portfolio of Toyota hybrids in comparison to the curvy contours of the Toyota Wish.
First on the review, the mid-sized MPV now offers 3 proper seats in the centre row. A very much appreciated and adopted from similar European counterpart's offering as the person sitting in the middle seat no longer need to feel awkward to lean either sides - pretty sure that is a big welcome for the passengers. However, the 3rd row seats does not offer as much legroom space compared to it's predecessor but it is still acceptable considering my typical Asian height.
The interior of the car now looks more vibrant than before. The digital display console sits in the centre of the dashboard is modern and visually appealing. The steering wheel also comes with a slew of helpful multi-function controls for audio.
The Prius+ drives really well. Power is available on demand and the interior is relatively quiet even though travelling at 60km/hr. All I can say is that I'm convinced that the electric drive train that Toyota offers is fast maturing (not to forget a market leader) and should be made a standard offering for all their vehicle lineup in the near future.

What I like
+ Made in Japan
+ Petrol efficient
+ Modern looking
+ 2nd row offering 3 individual seats
+ Quiet and refine engine
+ Slightly bigger and useful boot space
+ Amble of boot space when 2nd and 3rd row seats are folded flat

What I do not like
- Less legroom space in 3rd row compare to Wish
- No dedicated or rear air-con vents for passengers
- No much compartments for storage
- Steering wheel feels bulky and dated
- Brake lamps looks dated

Soreloser
3rd Gear
6 reviews
361 points
56 forum posts Joined on 01-Oct-2018
Very disappointed after test drive  Posted on 16 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
First car I listed to my shortlist of hybrids, as this looks like a good successor to Wish initially. When I was first introduced to this vehicle quite sometime back, BM did not have stock then and only showed brochure.

During 2nd visit, my impression changed when I realised the exterior design looked a little dated. Was expecting it to have the signature Prius back light design. Nevertheless I still tried test drive hoping it may have some positives out of it.

The gear design, although looks futuristic, kinda look funny to me. A little out of place and the colour.....Erm....

In economy mode, I don't feel safe as it lacks in power and response time. Any turns that I make, I really need to play safe and wait for more clearance.

What I like
It's a hybrid and large space.
It's a Toyota

What I do not like
Lack power
Very steep price in my opinion
Many grab cars using this model
Functions a little lacking (e.g. No cruise control, no peddle shift, non-electronic seat, no rear air con)

Fitmugen
3rd Gear
7 reviews
405 points
286 forum posts Joined on 01-Aug-2006
Shocker of a car from Toyota  Posted on 02 Sep 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
This car is being touted as a Wish that saves petrol. So if you are not impressed by the Wish, don't bother. If you are, you still should think twice.

The car's design is dated, interior design is basic and plasticy. 3rd is not inhabitable. Car ride is bumpy and uncomfortable.

For the car's price, you can get a Sienta Hybrid which offers more space and change of $10k. Or top up a little to get the super spacious Voxy/Noah.

What I like
Nothing.

What I do not like
Plenty. See to believe what I said

Saggi
1st Gear
6 reviews
25 points
277 forum posts Joined on 24-Jun-2005
Lack power , abit on high price  Posted on 10 Jul 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tested the car in comparison to Wish. Wish is a good car , this car is value at 114K , which is on the high side I felt even at current COE of 30K. Lack of power and I felt FC only near 20km/lit. For the different 20-30K for a hybrid , that enough saving petrol for 3-4yrs for not a high user.
few parallel import car to compare is voxy , room space a lot bigger and Renault and Citro which give a lot more roomy space..

at this price they is no new feature like safety auto crash prevention , lane swtiching etc.
only advantage is the 7 airbag which is also a cost.


So far this is the only BM midsize MPV.

What I like
middle row center seat is individual seat.. so is more comfy

What I do not like
no midrow aircon blower , small tight seat at rear and hard to exit.. , middle row cannot flush flat or lifted up like Sientia .. or flat like conti MPV.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Toyota Prius+ Hybrid
3.5 stars - based on 8 reviews