Mitsubishi Lancer EX

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mitsubishi Lancer EX GT-S 2.0 (A)
04 Jun 2010  |  Mitsubishi Reviews
Can we really get a dose of the Evolution from the all- new Mitsubishi Lancer EX GT-S? Find out more as we get up close and personal with the sturdy lad.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mitsubishi Lancer EX
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
59 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
46 out of 59 (78%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

59 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
stefanchan
Clutched
3 reviews
6 points
20 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2017
MIJ car for basic needs  Posted on 18 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the car after ASX. Hence, the feeling of less power after testing a 2L car. Spacious interior with minimal gadgets, feels simple to use, a good option for basic needs that is made in Japan. Sound proofing good but not excellent.

What I like
MIJ
Roomy feeling
Solid steering

What I do not like
4 AT only.

drivers
2nd Gear
1 reviews
125 points
57 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2016
One of the best JDM cars in the market!  Posted on 13 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The car has better pick up and also much quieter than the previous Lancer version. It is really stable although the body is heavy that is because of the safety beams built into it. You can't have the best of best world. Safety is more important! The leather seats are really comfortable and the interior and finishing look elegant.

What I like
- Exterior design
- DRL
- Spacious interior
- 1.6 DOHC engine
- Big fuel tank

What I do not like
- No HID headight

Neo
Neo
1st Gear
1 reviews
30 points
40 forum posts Joined on 04-Aug-2009
Value for Money  Posted on 25 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I just bought a Lancer EX 1.6 at the beginning of the year.
I have always like the design of the car although it has remain unchanged for the longest time.

The interior is very spacious and the rear can sit 3 plus size adult comfortably. The finishing is also elegant and solid.

The drive is somewhat sluggish probably due to the weight but then it is good enough for daily drive in relative comfort.

Recommended for anyone who wants a spacious ride with decent FC (I got about 11km/litre) and cheap maintenance.

What I like
- Exterior design
- Spacious interior
- Solid interior finishing

What I do not like
- Somewhat sluggish pickup
- FC can be better

wookie_fan
2nd Gear
1 reviews
161 points
101 forum posts Joined on 09-Sep-2015
3rd Lancer Owner  Posted on 23 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Just collected my car last week. The 1.6L EX version has 2 improvements over the previous 1.5L EX. Firstly, less acceleration required & it is also much quieter than the previous version. The car feels heavy but ride is really stable & comfortable. My current fuel consumption is 14KM per litre before 1K servicing with 50% City driving. Although the 4AT technology is old but it is proven to be reliable. Its really a no frills car but if you are looking for value for money, comfortable, & reliable made in Japan car to get from point A to B then this is it.

What I like
As mentioned above

What I do not like
No HID lamps but it is fine with me. HID can be very costly to replace

Wormee
5th Gear
2 reviews
1,937 points
724 forum posts Joined on 25-Aug-2009
One of the great Japanese sedan car in Singapore market.  Posted on 05 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the new 1.6 Lancer EX over the weekend. I must say impressive interior compared to other continental cars. No plasticky feeling at all even door closes with a solid feel.

Low pickup is good with the new 1.6 DOHC engine compared to its predecessor 1.5 SOHC. High speed is smooth except a little high rpm due to its 4-speed AT gearbox compared to other 6ATs. Suspension is quite good for both front and rear passenger. Space for rear passenger is good for a 1.6 sedan car.

What I like
- Japan made with good track record of no recall, no gearbox problem;
- New 1.6 DOHC engine;
- New model comes with fodable side mirrors with signal indicators
- Rear LED tail lights;
-Torque converter gearbox instead of CVT which eliminates start/stop clutch issues;
- Big fuel tank of 59L;
- Keyless entry comes standard;
- Classic model comes with accessories such as alloy rims, side skirting, leather seats, etc;
- Sports variant comes with Sparco rims.

What I do not like
- 4AT instead of 6AT gearbox;
- Front headlight are still halogen type;
- Increases price despite of slight drop of COE;
- Boot space is a little small with a mere 315L compare to other sedans (maybe its due to the big fuel tank).

Robinsoul
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 24-Mar-2010
Swift sport MT  Posted on 31 Mar 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Been driving the Lancer EX 2.0A gls sport model with 6 speed paddle shift. When moving off from stand still, the car felt heavy. Lack of power unless I use the manual gear, petrol wise is far from claim. Managed only 340km on 47liter. Around 7km/liter 70% city 30% highway.

What I like
Problem free car.

What I do not like
Lack of pick up speed and heavy drinker!

Happyjet
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2013
2.0 CVT Lancer EX  Posted on 13 Jan 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Lancer EX 2.0 is a very fun car to drive, excellent handling and precise steering! the tight suspension that comes stock with the lancer EX allows you to go around a bend at speeds you never thought of. Throttle response is quick whenever you need power to overtake.

What I like
- 2.0 CVT w/ Paddle Shifters
- Sporty car
- the GT spoiler option

What I do not like
NIL

carfanB
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Jan-2014
An excellent car with the traits of being Mitsubishi's all-time greats  Posted on 22 Jan 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Drove the EX 2.0(M) GT once, and I fell in love with it.

Firstly, I must say that I am a fan of stick shifters, but I wouldn't want to own a manual in Singapore, what with the congestions and traffic lights every time you manage to get to 3rd gear.

Drove my friend's GT up to Malacca once. I must say, there has been a large improvement since the Lancer GLX era.

The GLX's clutch has always been a bit of a problem for me. Biting point was pretty high and pretty difficult to catch. However in the EX GT, the clutch was excellent. Biting point not too high, clutch wasn't too stiff like many other manuals, and seamless power delivery. I've always like driving manuals because of how we can control the power the way we want it without any lagging when we require more power.

Being a Japanese car, the throttle was very responsive and light to the touch, and it feels like all of the power comes in at the slightest tap of the throttle. MIVEC kicks in at the right moment to give me the full beams of the 155 BHP. Unlike turbocharged cars which will experience turbo lag at wrong gears and speeds, this little NA engine delivers all the punch you need almost instantly without lag. All I can say is, driving this car was just pure pleasure. Similarly, brakes were good too.

I had always thought that a 2.0 engine would be a petrol guzzler, but this wasn't. We were doing speeds of between 140 and 160 on the NS highway to Malacca, and I was pretty amazed by the FC. Managed about 14km/l doing those speeds, which to me, is an incredible performance for a 2.0.

This is a great car. Though it is not as powerful as the VTEC powered Civics, the power on tap is enough to drive this car well. I think that this car will definitely be able to give pleasure to pretty much anyone who drives it.

What I like
The throttle response
Immediate changes in power and speed
MIVEC kicks in when you need it
Smooth clutch
User friendly
Good FC
Cruise control

What I do not like
Low equipment level
Not in production anymore

Ramt
Clutched
3 reviews
9 points
23 forum posts Joined on 04-Apr-2012
My first car which i've falled in love with  Posted on 20 Sep 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The lancer ex 2.0A Gls, may not have 4 disc brakes but the braking with its drum brake is as good as other cars with this brakes. This car has alot of potential be it acceleration, top speed, cruising or handling, this may be a heavy sedan but remember, a heavy sedan means a stabler ride, hence while traveling at higher speed you will still have total control over your car as it would not wobble like some of the lighter japan mades. Heavy it may be, acceleration on 0-100 is recorded to be a low 8s as the mivec is a powerful engine.

What I like
The power
Acceleration
Handling
Stability

What I do not like
Have to Rev slightly above 2k rpm to achieve faster pickup

Kojack1604
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2012
my first car!!  Posted on 06 Aug 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
this is my first car. bought first hand 1.5 Lancer Elegance. been 2 years driving it. clocking my 50,000km in a month time, i believe. well, for a normal car, i guess this works fine for any person. it is quite spacious for a sedan car compared to others. the pick-up is okay; not good but not bad. anyway, in singapore, there are too many traffic lights. if i want something fast, might as well i don't purchase this car.

anyway, the performance of the car is a reflection of the driver who is handling it ;)

What I like
- sporty design; outlook
- quite comfortable
- handling: medium

What I do not like
- accessories is adequate

Dchum
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 13-Feb-2009
Economical car  Posted on 19 Jul 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got the 1.6L GLX and tried the 1.5EX.
Comfortable, good steering and stiffness in suspension. Though fairly short wheelbase, cornering is decent. Sleek exterior design and nice looking accessories in the sports version (spoilers, rims etc). CVT engine takes time to get used to, I took one week to understand optimum way of accelrating without too high revs. Less plasticky interior, which I like. Low maintenance costs. Stable at high speed, even at maximum speed.

Suspension, though stiff, after a few hard cornering, some weird sound appears. Lack of accessories in the interior. Slightly weak AC. Cramp interior. Lack of power sockets to charge phones etc. Lack of storage compartments. Poor sound insulation.

What I like
As highligted above

What I do not like
As highligted above

Picanyeo
1st Gear
1 reviews
16 points
91 forum posts Joined on 24-Mar-2009
Lancer EX GLS 2.0 CVT  Posted on 07 Jun 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought this ride as a used ride. It is a 2008 basic model unlike the GT model which has lots of goodies installed.

Firstly, the outlook. I'm sure many will agree that the Lancer EX looks sporty even without any bodykit or spoiler. This applies to my ride. It comes with stock 16" but I've changed it to 17" and it looks great.

Secondly, comfort level. The lancer has comfortable seats. The air con is cool even when set to 25 degrees. Noise level is acceptable. Most of the noise intruded into the cabin comes from my tyres rather than engine. Rpm at 100km/hr is 2.0, hence noise level from engine is low.

Lastly, the drive experience. It took some time to get used to CVT without the gear changing process. There is power available from 2.5rpm onwards. The CVT really drives well. With no shift shocks, the drive is so smooth and comfortable.

Overall, I am satisfied with my purchase. It is sure value-for-money for a 2L sedan. It comes with auto headlamp, wiper sensors and keyless entry as well.

What I like
CVT - Quiet, smooth, seamless drive
Price - Value for money
Looks - Sporty looks. Looks even greater with bodykit and spoiler.

What I do not like
No rear disc brakes - This is old model. Newer models comes with rear disc brakes as standard
No HID headlamps - Same as rear disc brakes

Vigswaminathan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
If you love to drive and on a budget, this is it  Posted on 22 Aug 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Been driving the Ex 2.0GT for 4years now. I have been looking for a replacement but the only thing which can replace my GT in terms of the joy of driving costs almost twice what I paid for. The Lancer GT is a fun car to drive - The handling is excellent and steering is sharp. Suspensions are tight which allows you to take around a bend at speeds is easily. I also have the benefit of having stock Rockford Fosgate 8+1 sound system which is sweet.

What I like
Handingling
Steering feel: weight & Feedback
Sound system
Seats & driving posture (feels like you're one with the car)
Free reving engine - when on manaul the revs can really swing fast

What I do not like
Road Noise can get to you initially - thats becuase the stock tires are bad. Once I changed the tyres, that became less of a problem.
Whine of the CVT takes some getting used - swing to manual and you don't have that problem anymore.
No rear air-con vents - the Missus compalints about that (not me)
Spoiler - blocks the rear view - so I got rid of it.

Ryan_khoo
1st Gear
1 reviews
33 points
108 forum posts Joined on 01-May-2011
Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 Ex - Jun 2008  Posted on 06 May 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought this car 2nd hand.

Despite some of the comments on FC, I found this car FC reasonably good & surpassed by expectation. On average, in Spore city driving is 12.5 to 13.5 km/litre. The lowest is at 11, can't go below than that. On highway I manage to reach 15 to 16.

The car feels good, feels quite solid. Only thing is that the pick-up is not so good. can feel the engine is dragging & struggling when you try to do a fast acceleration.

Overall, a good car, nice & sporty design, nice interior, feels safe & good Fuel Consumption.

What I like
- Good Fuel Consumption
- Nice & sporty Look
- Feels quite solid
- Keyless system
- good aircond system

What I do not like
- Slow pick-up
- no retractable mirror

Kathyjones
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Mar-2011
American least wanted car.  Posted on 25 Mar 2011
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
2008 Lancer EX Sport is the 2nd car i've purchased in my 4 year stay in Singapore, a car which my husband do not recommend and strongly suggest i look elsewhere like the better Koreans or a Honda Civic since i wanted an affordable car to drive around town. I've to admit i was headstrong and went ahead with the purchase because it was cheap at the time, and sure it is… the cheapness gradually show. Eventually i sold it and the resale value was bad, that wasn't what i had imagine when i bought it.

Insurance for any Mitsubishi can be slightly higher than most cars of the same segment, it was explained to me that it is due to its high accident rate in Singapore. Probably that's something future buyers should be aware of, and i was told by friends of ours that Lancer isn't truly a 5 star car since it's not shipped here with standard 6 SRS airbags like those in European countries. True enough, it's score just merely made it to be rated as 5 stars and previously it was rated 4 stars by EuroNCAP, which is something i've learned later.

The car do not have stunning good looks, but not that bad. Interior quality isn't something you would wanna pay much attention to, after all it is cheaply put together with an affordable price point. Handling and steering is average, it does show some body-roll whenever i throw it into a corner, so stability isn't great especially with a sluggish tail-end. It's gear ratio were pretty much setup for better acceleration at the cost of bad highway over-taking ability. It came with a 4-speed Auto, which tend to be little jerky at certain situations, which adds to the cheapness.

I don't really know how reliable it can be, because i had it only for about 2 years. Twice, i had to sent it for services due to faulty auto transmission and ABS brake problems, and i had only done 5,000-6,000km. Fuel economy for a Lancer is average, i get approximately 10km/l, which my husband thinks it was rubbish for a car weighing less than his BMW 3 series. After I got rid of my Lancer EX Sport, i've shopped around and purchased a Chevy 2011 Cruze LS. Finally i've bought something German that he is proud of, and he agrees with me.

What I like
Affordable

What I do not like
Did not get to test drive on highways
Compromising safety standards
Average road handling
Gear ratio not tuned for highway cruising
4-speed Auto gearbox
High Insurance Cost
Low re-sale value
10km/l Fuel consumption

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Mitsubishi Lancer EX 4 stars - based on 59 reviews