Related Articles

Skoda reveals student concept car

Kodiaqs to assist fire and rescue service

MCF gets in on more Skoda action

Five of the Mercedes G-Class' coolest features


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Skoda Kodiaq 2.0 TSI 4X4 Style (A)
26 Jul 2018  |  Skoda Reviews
Good looks, a refined driving experience and great use of space are just some of the reasons why the Skoda Kodiaq is poised to be a class winner.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of SKODA Kodiaq
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
9 Reviewers
4.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
9 out of 9 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

9 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
LYC
LYC
3rd Gear
9 reviews
381 points
210 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2012
Kodiaq 1.4L bear  Posted on 02 May 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
After driven the car for the past months, I personally feel that the car is better then quite a number of luxury cars out in the market that is pricer.
Tested this car back to back with the 2L harrier. The pick up seems to be faster despite being heavier and being in a disdvantaged 1.4l engine.
If you are coming from a jap car or basic continental car. This bear will not fail you in your expectations, except maybe their aftercare service.

What I like
Quiet interior, Low NVH
Space and Flexibility of additional 2 more seats at the back when needed
The drive feel
The ride height is just nice, not too tall, but still slightly taller then the crossover cars
Full Sunroof that gives an airy feel
Auto Park and exiting lots, good feature for those who can't park or gauge your distance
All round sensors and reverse camera as standard

What I do not like
Very lousy aftercare service. Bought the car for 2 months. The car was in service centre for almost 1 month due to damages done by servicing staffs and for repeat rectification works that are not done properly.
Plasticky interior, but can be easily solved by doing your own leather wrapping over the plastics.
No GPS on HU for the 1.4L
No auto open or "kick open" for rear boot lid
Lousy locally fitted leather for the 1.4L

Kodiaqer
4th Gear
1 reviews
667 points
305 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2018
7 seater suv that meet needs and budget  Posted on 01 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Driving since Oct 2018. Sufficient power for safe driving with reasonable FC. So stable and comfortable that my main passenger the wife commented always feel sleepy in journey. The journey always comprise acceleration, overtaking, filtering, cornering and sometimes quick braking.

What I like
ACT
Large boot toggle with 3rd row seats
PDC
Park assist
Anti collision e brake

What I do not like
No ACC

Infohigh
1st Gear
2 reviews
60 points
41 forum posts Joined on 25-Dec-2011
Fast, features rich and affordable 7 seaters SUV  Posted on 22 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Moving from a Honda MPV of 3 years, Kodiaq has taken up my drive up by two notches.

The drive.
The comfort.
The space.
The features.

What I like
Pro
----
Drive - Turbo-charged. Able to speed up even with 6 full-size adults effortlessly, despite mine being 1.4 only. Feel nimble like my previous Honda MPV. 10/10.
Comfort - Leather seats for all, with ample cushion. Driver and front passenger sink comfortably into the seats. Have good support for driver with additional cushions on the sides of the seats and the armrest. 10/10.
Space - Width is long. 3/2 adults able to sit comfortably side-by-side on either row. 3rd row leg space is cramped through. Not suitable for tall adults. 8/10.
Interior looks - Nice soft plastic on the dashboard and side doors. Feel luxury to touch. Sunroof add fun to children and adults. Provide ample light during the drive. 10/10.
Exterior looks - Look manly or bearly with the LED light. 11/10.
HU -8 inch screen for 1.4 are large enough for use. Leverage on Android Auto for use of Waze of Spotify.
Speaker- No subwoofer for 1.4, but is clear especially with the good soundproofing of 1.4. 8/10.
Soundproofing - Quiet. 10/10.
Boot - Look narrow when the 3rd row seat is up, but it still can hold the mid size luggage. And you can hid a lot of your tools or essential stuffs under the boot's mat. So the 3rd row always appear neat or empty. 11/10.
Sales - I got a very helpful and friendly sales person who took care of my presales and delivery need. 11/10.
Distribution - This is under VAG directly, instead of AD. Hence this allows selling price to be lowered and I assumed better support subsequently. Hope this really will be the case. 8/10.

What I do not like
1) Misrepresentation of the test car 1.4 - The test car has 360 camera and electric chair. I thought these are standard features of 1.4, but is bit disappointed when they are not. From a sales+product angle, I understand that product info and final product might be mistranslated along the way. As such, I took it in my stride and the salesman (11/10) has been very helpful.

2) Big - Big space translated to bigger vehicle. Parking is a bit of pain. Now I have to be more wary of which car park lots I should go. I can't afford to go to places with narrow car park turns.

SesameStreetGuy
1st Gear
2 reviews
94 points
20 forum posts Joined on 06-Nov-2015
Most "Simply Clever" car I've owned  Posted on 29 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Upgraded my VW Golf SV Highline to the SKODA Kodiaq Ambition Plus 1.4L due to the expansion of the family. Never regretted getting the Kodiaq as it offers the most value-for-money buy for a 7-seater SUV in Singapore.

Underlying all the SKODA sheet metal is VW key technologies and features. The ACT engine provided good fuel consumption figure even with my 100% City driving (11km/l). The 250Nm of torque provided adequate acceleration for such a big car. My kids continue to love the panoramic sunroof & enjoy sitting in the last row of the SUV when the 2nd row is filled with adults.

Simply Clever features such as mechanical door protectors on all four doors which protect the edges of my doors from damage, umbrella compartment in the door frames (like those in a Rolls Royce) allow easy access to shelter during rainy weather & SmartLink Android Auto connection which allows me to use Waze & Google Maps on my infotainment screen even if it does not come with factory navigation. Front Assist with City Emergency Braking + Blind Spot Detect with Rear Traffic Alert assistance system has made driving in the busy Singapore city more comfortable & safer.

Looking forward to enjoying the Kodiaq for the many years of SKODA ownership journey to come!

What I like
- 1.4L 150PS ACT engine with 250Nm of torque
- 6-speed DSG gearbox
- Door edge protector
- Umbrella compartment in door frame
- Removable LED torchlight in luggage compartment
- Cargo elements to secure movable objects in the luggage compartment
- Panoramic sunroof
- LED headlights with LED DRL
- LED front foglights
- LED rear lights
- Electric trunk lid
- 2-zone Climatronic
- KESSY with anti-theft
- Multi-function leather steering wheel
- Colour Maxi Dot MFD display
- 8-inch "Bolero" infotainment system
- SmartLink (Android Auto & Apple CarPlay)
- Park Assist with Park Distance Control (all-round parking sensors)
- Rear View Camera
- Cruise Control with Speed Limiter
- Front Assist with City Emergency Brake
- Blind Spot Detect with Rear Traffic Alert
- Driver Alert System (Fatigue Detection)
- SKODA Owners WhatsApp chatgroup community

What I do not like
Would have loved to have
- More power
- Driving Mode Select (ECO Coasting Mode)
- Dynamic Chassis Control (Comfort Mode)
- Adaptive Cruise Control

Above are found on the SKODA Kodiaq Style 2.0L but it is way above my budget!

Alechi
5th Gear
2 reviews
1,803 points
1679 forum posts Joined on 18-Apr-2008
Responsive ride. Value for money in its class.  Posted on 25 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is the only 7 seater ride that satisfies my requirements for:

1. Gd value for money
2. Small engine size but good power
3. Gd fuel economy
4. Decent seating for 7
5. Good handling
6. Nice design inside and out. Car of the year 2017. What more can i ask for.

What I like
1. Gd value for money
2. Small engine size but good power
3. Gd fuel economy
4. Decent seating for 7
5. Good handling
6. Nice design inside and out. Car of the year 2017. What more can i ask for

What I do not like
Experienced a few times of front assist error, that goes away after a while. A distraction i suppose.

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
118 reviews
280 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The Smart 1.4L Lad  Posted on 14 Jul 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this small fellow with 1.4L turbo but the same body size as its elder 2.0L sibling.

Exterior is exactly the same dimensions as its elder sibling in all forms and also comes with the little flip out plastic to prevent opening doors and damaging it. Umbrella slot cant recall. Doesn't matter anyway.

Interior is lessen with some gadgets like DCC (Dynamic Chassis Control), 7 airbags than 9, 8-inch screen than 9.2-inch, dual zone instead of tri-zone aircon, front memory seats, paddle shifts, driver profile selection, 6-speeder DSG instead of 7-speeder DSG with 4x4, 18-inch wheels than 19-inch, etc....

The rest like panoramic roof, electric tailgate, LED lights, cornering lights, PDC (Park Distance Control), Park Assist, Cruise Control, Front Assist, Blind Spot Assist, All round body sensors remains in both variants.

The drive off with 250nM of torque is great for its pickup of this size. At D or Drive mode, the cruising is smooth indeed so to speak where a little cranky at low RPM but is ok which after all this is a 1.4L, not 2.0L which is considerably ok of this size.

At S or Sports mode, this fellow literately sprang to life with much aggressiveness to "Cheong" Forward", same as its 2.0L sibling though with little acceptable lag as is a smaller variant.

Overtaking in both D and S modes are simply simple with no need to excessive throttling.

Overall, its a considerable continental SUV if you want an affordable yet no need for a larger capacity one.

What I like
Same size with ok torque despite a 1.4L
Many gadgets same as 2.0L variant
Good pickup and overtake

What I do not like
Price if can lower to be much more competitive

Badieboy
2nd Gear
6 reviews
143 points
46 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A competitor for the Volvo XC90 and BMW X5  Posted on 22 May 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
There are several 5+2 SUVs out there but price is normally on the high side for the German cars. Korean and Japanese counterparts like the Sorento and CR-V aren't cheap either. This 2.0L Kodiaq sits nicely in between the Asians and Germans in terms of price. The 1.4L variant will be priced around 130k+ and will be steal.

What I like
-Safety kit
-Door protector
-Suede/alcantara leather
-Umbrella hidden in the doors
-Huge car, rear seats are decent
-Boot size is decent even with the last row seats up
-Touchscreen headunit
-Sunroof
-Memory seats
-Powerful enough for a family car
-Dynamic chassis control
-5 year/100k km warranty

What I do not like
-DSG gearbox, not sure if it will be problematic in future
-The exterior trims a bit plastiky at the grille and boot
-The doors at the rear seats not wrapped in soft-touch materials, unlike the driver seat
-No digital dials
-Don't recall seeing paddle shifters
-Price is similar to a Sharan, a full size MPV
-No aircon vents for last row

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
118 reviews
280 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Simply Smart Kodiaq.  Posted on 06 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went by the showroom on a weekend 1-2 weeks ago.

First impressions of the Kodiaq is huge with 5+2 seats, where is similar to Nissan X-Trail where the +2 seats good for short use distance dropoff kind.

Noticed a smart mechanism where there is a door protector type where you open there is a small device flips out and flips in when close to protect your door knocking against the next car. Good to see this little thoughts.

Exterior looks is good looking pairing with front and back LED lights. Nicely shaped body frame too with sunroof.

Remote able to open windows down and up if you park in hot sun which found in most higher end conti cars.

Many gadgets given in this Kodiaq where you will see in 1.4L too like lane departure, blind spot assist, 360 camera (2.0L), Park assist, Adaptivr cruise control (2.0L), Ambient lighting (2.0L), TPMS and many more.

For the drive, the move off is smooth and not much body roll too. Throttle it and it’s instant pickup even at normal or comfort mode. Overtaking in both normal and sports mode is an easy task.

Overall it’s a considerable SUV being conti in price but they need to relook again for competing with other brands to make it attractive to get.

There are also a number of original accessories to choose from but not sure if agent will bring in how many of them.

If you are looking at getting a spacious conti SUV that comes with many to offer but do not want to spend too much for it. This is certainly a good consideration as it shares the same engine as VW Tiguan and perhaps SEAT Ateca too.

What I like
Front and back LED.
Smart thought of door protector mechanism.
Blind spot assist std.
Lane departure assist std.
Front Electric seats.
Good torque and pickup.
Great space.

What I do not like
Price a little steep against Tiguan and others.
No non-4x4 gearbox variant.
Not sure if 1.4L able to support the same body.
No option to add 360 camera from 2.0L to 1.4L.
Not sure of maintaining part later.

andrealcolon
1st Gear
18 reviews
55 points
5 forum posts Joined on 04-Jan-2018
The Posh Personality Skoda Kodiaq  Posted on 05 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Skoda Kodiaq is based on the same platform (MQB) as the Tiguan, however it offers seven seats instead of five and is therefore longer. The car has evolved from the Vision S concept which was first showcased in Geneva and the name Kodiaq, literally means the Alaskan bear. The proportions are quite alright, and close to what you would expect from an SUV.

What I like
+Bigger on the inside-out. Cabin space is super-generous. Enough room on 1st and 2nd seat row even for tall person.

+Packed with awesome features! Touchscreen infotainment system, 3-zone climate control, full LED lighting, panoramic sunroof and electrically-adjustable front seats make the Kodiaq a great car.

+Top safety features which include 9 airbags, ABS with EBD, brake assist, multi-collision brake, all-round parking sensors and much more!

+Stylish design. Looks like a scaled-down Audi Q7 and feels very well-built too.

+Versatile & comfortable seating. Allows you to swap between more passengers or more cargo as per your needs. Offers 2005-litres of storage space.

What I do not like
-Doesn't have the off-roading ability in comparison to its rivals like the Toyota Fortuner or Ford Endeavour.

-Diesel engine performance is good, but could be punchier.

-Third-row access is difficult. 2nd row doesn't fall forward. AC vents is not available in the last row either.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
SKODA Kodiaq
4.5 stars - based on 9 reviews