Recommended for you

Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI S tronic (A) Review

Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI S tronic S Line vs BMW X1 sDrive20i M Sport

Here are the steps to get your driving license in Singapore

» Go to articles

This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Sep 2023.
Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI S tronic S Line vs BMW X1 sDrive20i M Sport
26 Feb 2020  |  Audi Reviews
The new Audi Q3 and the facelifted BMW X1 are the latest new offerings in the premium compact crossover segment. Which one should you buy?
spacer
spacer
Audi Q3
Better equipment and high cabin quality
Slightly more spacious cabin and boot
Comfortable and pliant ride
BMW X1
2.0-litre engine delivers ample power
More agile and sporty to drive
Smooth and seamless gearbox
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Audi Q3
spacer
4.0
 
8 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
3.5
spacer
Handling
3.5 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.0 Interior Design
3.5
spacer
Value for money
4.0 Engine Performance
3.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
aerolith
Neutral Newbie
64 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Outclassed in its segment  Posted on 22 Oct 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Audi's Q3 offers a comfortable ride and comes with a mighty handsome exterior. But is that enough to compete against its newer rivals?

What I like
Next to the X1 and GLA? Opt for this 1.5-litre Audi Q3 and you'll find it lacking in refinement - the engine sounds gruff and is loud in the cabin.

Next to the BMW it feels weak on the go and unwilling to turn. Next to the Mercedes its cabin feels spartan.

Build quality is ok, its just that material use is not as flash. And ride comfort (noise aside) is actually just about ok.

What I do not like
As above.


quippery
Neutral Newbie
78 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Needs a refinement boost  Posted on 28 May 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Audi's premium crossover has already been here for a few years, and it is starting to feel each and every one of them. Refinement and design are in a desperate need of a boost by now.

What I like
It's handsome in a way, but sits without distinction within Audi's lineup. It's a boring looking crossover.

The cabin is solidly built, but there's a lot in the design that gives up its age. The gear selector, the sparse dash, the lack of a dedicated smartphone prop.

Ride is just about decent, but the latest rival from BMW is seriously more accomplished. It's more plated while being more complaint. Not a good look.

What I do not like
1.5-litre engine needs a good refinement boost. It sound rough, and the car's suspension does not have the sophistication and rubbery-ness that rivals all offer.


corproral
Neutral Newbie
52 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Capable, but rivals are starting to leave it behind  Posted on 12 Mar 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
There's now the option to get this Q3 with a 1.5-litre unit, but at a time when the GLA and X1 are both newer, is this right-sized engine option enough to keep the appeal of the Q3 afloat?

What I like
The engine's gutsy enough, that's for sure. But unfortunately not much else. The gearbox is ponderous when it comes to downshifts, prone to lurching ahead, and the engine is not so much of a treat either. It sounds gruff and needs to be pushed, hard, to get it to deliver all its power.

Good thing is, ride quality is excellent in this Q3. Road noise is suppressed enough, and the car makes a good job of making road imperfections disappear.

And the build quality is surprisingly great for what is essentially a junior lucury crossover.

What I do not like
The exterior now looks outright dated, and likewise for the interior. Grey plastics all about isn't going to cut it against the competition.


aerolith
Neutral Newbie
64 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
A great option for those looking to upgrade to a premium ride  Posted on 16 Sep 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
There's plenty of these on the road by now, and Audi is now offering a new 1.5-litre variant, so more can now jump into a premium car, all while retaining the crossover body they love.

What I like
Driving the 2.0-litre variant, power is healthy, even with all the expectations of a premium vehicle. It's fast enough, torquey even at low engine speeds, and mighty quiet on the road. All very important points to ensure you don't tire when covering long hours on the road.

You also get the impressive screens all housed in the polygon-shaped dashboard, which is s treat to use and offers plenty of customisation options.

What I do not like
Exterior design could be a bit bland, and after a while you'll look at the Q3 and wonder if there's any difference between this and Audi's other SUVs.


Rav4active
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Nov-2012
AUDI Q3  Posted on 24 Jul 2022
spacer
 

Review
Like
1) looks
2) attention to details
3) for a 1.4L engine, I'm surprise the engine is punchy and smooth
4) equipment level is very good for a car of this level

Dislike
1) brakes wear out really fast


Chantin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Aug-2012
Overall above expectation  Posted on 06 Feb 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
This past Christmas and new year holiday, my wife and I purchased our first Audi. Often times, purchasing a new car can be a strenuous ordeal of give and take for the buyer . However this was not the case working with my salesperson Mr. Victor Tan. He was outstanding and professional . He can explain all details of each model, and we managed to test drive twice by myself and my wife because we have different expectation and requirements. It was a pleasure to complete our new car deal with all trade in detail, options with his excellent approach and knowledge. Perhaps the hardest is about what color of our new car. - Finally new Pulse Orange Q3 to welcome CNY Huat lah ! Looking forward for new Q5 , eTron in the near future.

What I like
Stylish outlook
Stand-out Color
Salesman service and after sale service (got some issue on Solarfilm and get it fixed on 2nd week in Audi service center)
Fuel Consumption
MMI and Virtual Cockpit
Plenty of Accessories in the after sale market

What I do not like
Memory seats function is missing
Air Conditioning need to set 22 degree in Singapore weather
I miss the VW Tiguan Dinning table on back of front seats


merida101
1st Gear
1 reviews
71 points
57 forum posts Joined on 17-May-2015
Good value for money for a 1.4cc car that packs a reasonable amount of techs and punches above its weight.  Posted on 06 Oct 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
For SUVs, I previously owned the Harrier Turbo and Hyundai Tucson (1st Gen). Before deciding on the Audi Q3, I have also test driven the Merc GLA, BMW X1 (non-face lifted version), Citroen C5 Aircross and the Peugeot 3008 (1.6cc), among other SUVs.

On balance, the Audi Q3 suited me as it drives smoothly and handles well around curves, returns a reasonable fuel consumption - about 12km/L on 80% City and 20% Highway, and has a good road presence. For a 1.4cc Turbo engine, the car does not feel lacking in power to overtake or accelerate, when the need arises. The Q3 also has no body roll, and drives more like a sedan, in term of road stability. The Audi MMI and Virtual Cockpit Plus are responsive and are a treat to use.

My only wish is that the Q3 could have come standard with the wireless (Qi) charger pad, and the Audi Auto Parking feature.

What I like
Value for money
Good road handling & stability (though a tag firm but never jarring)
Not too big, and not too small
Reasonable fuel consumption for an SUV
Good road presence
Well-designed exterior and interior (with ambience lighting)
Up-to-date Infotainment and display system

What I do not like
Audi should have gone the whole hog, and provided the wireless (Qi) charge pad and Audi Auto Parking as standard.

Option for moon-roof would be nice.

17inch rims are lame for an otherwise well designed car.


TanmoyDas
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2018
New Audi Q3 review  Posted on 02 Sep 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Nice compact SUV with loads of features . Good interior design, improved engine performance and handling .

What I like
Dashboard , MM1, audi cockpit , engine performance , driving position ,driver to car communication , smooth ride, ground handling , park assistance , internal cabin lighting .

What I do not like
Braking not very smooth as you brake down the slope , Turbo kicks in bit late seems there is a lag as you press on the gas. AC not tuned for tropical climate like Singapore , even if the temperature is set at 22 degree cooling not uniform .

Audi Q3
4 stars - based on 8 reviews