Related Articles

The all new Kia Stonic launched in Singapore

The Kia Stonic is an effective crossover

Eight best buys at the Singapore Motor Show 2019

Pioneer Smart Unit Receiver is perfect for drivers


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Kia Stonic 1.0T SX Sunroof (A)
07 Jan 2019  |  Kia Reviews
It may not be particularly exciting, but the new Kia Stonic effectively delivers everything that you expect from an affordable compact crossover.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Seat Arona 1.0 vs Kia Stonic 1.0T
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Kia Stonic
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
16 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
16 out of 16 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

16 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Junxian
2nd Gear
2 reviews
183 points
170 forum posts Joined on 02-Jul-2011
Our 2nd Kia  Posted on 07 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went down to showroom to checkout the Stonic, test drive and booked on the same day.

It provides value for money but not without a few shortcomings that some might find it a hassle to deal with.

Details in What I like/What I don't like section.

What I like
1. Good fuel efficiency
2. Good pickup - responsive
3. Sporty look
4. Pleasant looking interior
5. LED daylight on EX
6.Feature packed even at base trim - 6 airbags, reverse cam, ApplePlay LCD, multi-function steering wheel, key-less entry/press start, leather seat.
7. Price

What I do not like
1.Limited boot space.
2.Manual press button to fold/unfold side mirror.
3.The auto headlight is a bit too sensitive, auto on even the surrounding is reasonably well-lit/bright.
4. No spare wheel, not even a makeshift kind.
5. DCT transmission temperature care.
6. Auto-Start Stop too troublesome to use, most people turn it off and yet its on by default every time you starts the car. One big minus is the rollback on uphill.
7. With #2 and #6, you need to remember to do them every single time before drive off. But of course you can choose to let the mirror unfold and ESS on all time.

Joe_M
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Mar-2020
My first Korean Car from KIA  Posted on 12 Mar 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I traded in my Honda Accord for my first Korean car from KIA after looked at many reviews. The car just clocked 1500km and I am happy to share my experience on my first Korean car.

The Car:
KIA really knows how to make good cars. Of course each car has its Pros and Cons to different users having their own expectations. I think everyone would agreed a good car means the drivers and passengers are happy with the car rather than upsetting.

I have no complaint on this car except for the seats. It just not comfortable for long drive. Putting extra cushion might help. The car's performance is actually exceeded my expectations. Smooth and nimble for city driving with pretty good pickup for a 1000cc car. It's a very practical car as well because of the flexibility on boot space configurations. It can carry bigger sizes items compared with many 1.3 or 1.6 sedans.

The Service (Sales):
I purchased the car based on it's reviews and specification. I never test drive it. After I collected the car I found that there were 2 specifications different from the advertised spec on SG Carmart. The rear brake is just normal disc instead of ventilated disc and there is no remote boot release as advertised on SG Carmart. I feedback these issue to C&C sales people and they said it's not their problem. It's their marketing department not doing a good job. I am disappointed such feedback and how a big company handling feedbacks from customer. I think C&C management should look into this.

The Service (After Sales):
Better than Honda! Responsive and helpful staff. Quick and easy on making service appointment. Service Reception with comfortable lounge and choice of Makan and Drinks. Thumbs up to C&C After Sales Service.

What I like
I am impressed with my first Korean Car.

Build quality
Design (ergonomic)
Performance as a 1000cc car
Equipment
Sound system
Boot flexibility configurations

I am getting 12 to 13 km/liter fuel consumption on city/highway moderate driving. I think no problem for 10 km/liter of pushing it a little harder.

What I do not like
The seats (a little hard)

Others no complaint

awkk
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Dec-2018
First New car owned  Posted on 08 Jan 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Into the ride for close to 2 months. I would say its a thumps up till now.
The car is stable, smooth and powerful for a 1.0 liter car.
Good catch as i've research for at least 6 months before i decided to buy.

What I like
Interior design is nice. Like an upgraded Korea car
acceleration is responsive
sporty look, young as well

What I do not like
rear cabin might not be as spacious compared to other compact crossover, but sufficient for me

Hoogiap
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
First time driving Kia with whole family enjoyable feelings.  Posted on 06 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I was looking for a car which my wife can drive around with my kids age 9 & 12.
small family not many road trip. Mainly business and family usage in Singapore road.

In my opinion, Overall Kia Stonic SX model Great car. Compare to my previous driving experience Toyota Vios, Toyota Axio, Honda Civic 1.3 Hybrid.

Most of the Japanese e.G Toyota, Honda gave drivers the confident in overall car reliability.

For Kia Korean car with few friends recommendation and the price point, i gave a try... So far so good for a brand new car. Let's monitor the car reliability in the coming years. Wish me luck. All the best :)

What I like
- Decent design look
- interior features
- 1.0 turbo performance
- media features
- sunroof extra $5k for the kids.
- SX model nice steering wheel.

What I do not like
- small trunk space (expected).
- plastic feel doors.
- leather seat color black colour only

Racing05
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Nov-2019
Seeing it at the dealership  Posted on 06 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went to the showroom and when I saw the Kia Stonic, it caught my eyes and I felt in love with it. Love the sporty look and the interior inks just beautiful. It has android auto and Apple Carplay.

I have not own the Kia Stonic but I would definitely buy one when I grow up.






What I like :

1. The sporty look
2. Airbags
3. Auto headlight
4. Android auto
5. The price
6. Parking distance warning





What I feel is lacking :

1. Can't fit 3 people in the back seat
2. No aircon vents

mercurial
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Jun-2019
Value for money CUV  Posted on 29 Nov 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Sold my Honda Vezel Hybrid last year and I was looking at a car that provides a decent Fuel efficiency yet packing a punch.

Stonic caught my attention with a few features such as:

- 1.0 litres (means cheaper road tax)
- Fuel Efficiency (I'm getting 700km - 750km for a full tank)
- Cheaper COE
- Lower depreciation

The test drive was amazing due to it's Turbo kicking in at low rev, steering is light and easy. The best drive experience is when you are cornering, as the car is slightly lower - I can corner at a higher speed compared to my previous ride.

What I like
- Relative cheap car to drive
- The exterior look
- Fuel Efficiency though it's not a hybrid

What I do not like
- Space
- Air-con is not cold when it's idling (Or in a jam)
- Transmission heats up really really fast

Racing05
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Nov-2019
Best looking compact SUV  Posted on 28 Nov 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
It has 1.0 litre engine , sunroof and the interior and exterior is very attractive. I would recommend this car to my friends as it is value for money and petrol

Jzz
Jzz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
4 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2011
One of the best deal you can find in the current market!  Posted on 15 Nov 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving the stonic for close to 6 months. Never regretted the decision. This ride is worth every penny you put in. From its exterior to interior, Kia has made significant improvements to the outlook, features and technology in this car. Under the hood, the 1.0 3 cylinder turbocharged engine is impressive. The hunger for speed never dies when you step onto the accelerator. Easy to overtake and hit highway speeds effortlessly. Comparing to the NA engine brothers of the same price range, this is definitely value for money. But the design of the 3 cylinder engine is not perfect, you could still feel some slight vibrations when idling. Overall, it’S not a big issue. Mated with the new DCT gearbox, it works hand in hand with the engine to provide a seamless driving experience.

The only thing that I thought Kia could look at for improvements is the size of the boot. It’S ideal for couples and not really ideal for families with kids. You will probably have to invest on foldable strollers to keep all the items you need in the boot! *laughs*

AdenPhua
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Dec-2017
Punchy, Cheap & Pleasing Outlook  Posted on 21 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was first introduced to Kia Stonic at the Car Show.
Just randomly browsing with my friends.
When i decided to get a car, i saw that actually Kia Stonic was one of the most affordable yet comes with multiple features compared to other cars at the same price range.

Went for a test drive, immediately i was bought over by the power and features it comes with. However, colors were limited and delivery is very long.
Waited for 4 months before even the car is in my hands.

Overall, it is still worth it.

What I like
1) The funky exterior looks (Multiple colors, but limited in SG)
2) Pricing of the Car (Affordable)
3) 6 Airbags (Safer compared to Fit etc.)
4) Hill-start Assist Control
5) Torque Vectoring by Braking
6) Auto Headlight/Air-con
7) Low Road Tax (1L Turbo)
8) Electric Folding Mirrors with side repeaters
9) Sun-glass Storage with overhead console lamp
10) Reverse Parking Camera
11) USB port built in for charging & *connecting to android/apple
12) Built in Bluetooth (Audio only)

What I do not like
1) Rear Seats are cramp for 3 adults
2) No Rear Air-con
3) No Air-con seats like Kia Cerato.
4) Android Auto/apply carplay functions must be connected via cables.
5) No built in GPS function.

ferrytales
3rd Gear
4 reviews
407 points
446 forum posts Joined on 15-Jul-2019
Fun Car  Posted on 15 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This car is an absolute joy during test drive with the turbo kicking in at low rpms and perfect for city driving in Singapore. However, the car might suffer at higher speeds and noise from the engine will be pretty prominent too. Pretty high depreciation due to the low parf.

What I like
- High torque for city drive
- Sufficient space for 4 adults, 5 will be a squeeze
- Boot space is reasonable
- Turbo engine

What I do not like
- Questionable reliability of the dry clutch
- 3 cyl engine makes it a noisy drive
- Poor insulation
- Car feels hollow, gotta spend $$ for aftermarket soundproofing

2378howe
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
18 points
22 forum posts Joined on 06-Mar-2019
Stonic is sure a top 3 in its market  Posted on 22 May 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Still a fresh new model since being launched 6 months ago, Stonic is a definite competitor to the compact crossover market.

This car comes equipped with features to provide the driver a good driving experience, not forgetting the turbo which totally aids to pickup, good stock suspensions for comfortable ride, and driver's dashboard can be customize to various preferences (digital speedometer, cruise-control etc)

Test driving for a short distance will not justify the actual power of this car, i encourage to ask the sale person for a longer test driving experience, dont forget to check out the info-tainment too. The real gem of the Stonic is about the technology and the driving experience.

What I like
-the Turbo! Adds punch to the pickup!
-the freshness of this model (new on SG roads)
-road tax price (low!)
-auto headlights and smart cornering lights
-dashboard info can be customize to driver's preference
-stability when cornering
-continental brand tyres as stock
-rear disc brakes

What I do not like
-looks like a hatch-back
-rear seating of the cabin is narrow, 2 adults maybe just nice, 3 above will be a squeeze
-interior lacks leathery surface
-apple carplay must be connected by wire
-limitation on sound setting for (only 3 setting for equalizer)
-no aftermarket head-unit replacement (at the moment)
-small trunk
-lack of compartments holder/storage (front of cabin)
-wheels are 4x100 PCD which limits aftermarket rims choices

LawrenceLee_110640
1st Gear
2 reviews
71 points
55 forum posts Joined on 03-Feb-2015
Saw the Stonic at KIA showroom, caught my eyes and love the test drive feeling!  Posted on 20 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went to KIA showroom just to see what car they have and the Stonic caught my eyes, love the sport outlook and also the interior design. Apple Carplay comes with it which I like, don't have to install it separately. I really love the exterior looks and it's feature packed interior which really caught my eyes.

The torque and also the 1.0T engine is nice to drive with esp the acceleration comparing with the 1.6 naturally aspirated Cerato which I both test drive with. I still won over by the 1.0T and torque engine of Stonic over Cerato anytime. It's a fun car to drive, suspension is good over road bumps!

One thing I hope is the warranty coverage from C&C is good, and also the reliability of Kia, never own one before, Hope it don't disappoint me. Went to see it in the morning and booked the car in the evening time.

What I like
1) The funky exterior looks
2) 1.0Turbo and the torque (No Lag due to the turbo)
3) 6 Airbags
4) Hill-start Assist Control (HAC)
5) Torque Vectoring by Braking (TVBB)
6) Auto Headlight
7) Apple Carplay (Love this)
8) Price of the Car
9) Low Road Tax
10_ Definitely faster acceleration than Cerato 1.6
11) DRL Lights
12) 7-inch Infotainment System
13) Electric Folding Mirrors with side repeaters
14) Sunglasses Storage with overhead console lamp
15) Parking Distance Warning-Reverse (PDW-R)
16) 17" for SX Model

What I do not like
1) Rear Sit too cramp for 3 adults
2) Small Boot Space
3) No Rear Aircon
4) Manual Hand Brake (Not Electronic Park Brake)

Mach23
3rd Gear
11 reviews
339 points
263 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A mini KIA that set the pulse racing  Posted on 10 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The new Stonic easily caught our attention with its bright and sporty colors (resembles the Audi Q2 Yellow and Red) in the showroom. It's crossover style and aesthetic overshadowed the Cerato and I sat in the test car the punchy engine and sharper handling left good first impression even while we are still in the driveway.

The high torque (from 1500rpm of its 1.0T engine) instill confidence while exiting filtering in the busy Alexandra Road. The engine note was pleasing to the ears more so than Nissan's 1.2T eg Qashqai. Keeping ahead of the pack at the traffic lights was easier than 1.6 naturally aspirated Cerato. With its 7-Speed DCT, the driving experience resembles 1.2T Golf promising fun without risk losing your licence. A very easy car to point and shoot as well as park with its electric hydraulic steering which felt sharper than Nissan qashqai and Ford Kuga.

What I like
- punchy 1.0T engine coupled with seamless DCT transmission
- lower road tax and better FC than Cerato
- faster acceleration than Cerato. Stonic does (0-100kmh) in about 10 Sec
- Low road tax
- Smart trunk
- Crossover ground clearance
- Silhouette and choice of colors
- roof rack and Sunroof options
- Appleplay and Android as standard
- DRL

What I do not like
- plasticky interior especially all door panels
- no rear aircon
- smallish trunk
- too small to seat 5 adults in the rear
- faux leather seats

MarkerPen
1st Gear
15 reviews
63 points
8 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2011
My first new car! Fun to drive and funky to look at!  Posted on 23 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I had no intention of buying a new car as my COE car still had 4 years more to go. However, once I clapped eyes on the Stonic at the 2019 Motorshow, I was won over by its looks and feature-packed interior then when I saw the price, I was even more tempted. The next day, I went down to the Kia showroom at Alexandra and test drove the car. The drive was so much fun! Totally changed my perspective of Kia. I was grinning during the test drive! This car had real punch and darts around corners nicely. Overtaking is an ease on the expressways compared to regular 1.6L NA cars. Best of all, it is a FUN car to drive and will add some zest to your daily commute.

Before I made my decision, I compared similar models like the SEAT Ibiza, Honda Jazz, Suzuki Swift but the Kia Stonic won me over with its looks, features and drive experience and not to mention the dealer support and warranty coverage from C&C. Plus, my wife love the looks of this car too! I booked my car the following week and I am super excited to collect it!

What I like
1. The funky crossover looks and functional interior
2. The attractive price for the number of features you get: 6 airbags, Hill Start Assist, Torque Vectoring, ESC, , Auto Headlight, Apple CarPlay
3. Fun to drive!

What I do not like
Rear seat space could be improved for carrying 3 passengers

DdCarReviewerSG
1st Gear
21 reviews
54 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2018
Cheap and good everyday car.  Posted on 15 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
For those who visited the Car Show held at the Suntec City Convention Centre, you would have seen the amazing deals that Cycle Carriage can give. Was walking around near the Mini Cooper Booth and saw the price of the car from a distance. Was immediately drawn to the car. Went to see the base model as well as the sunroof model. For those who would like to purchase a Stonic, please purchase the sunroof edition. It is really worth the extra 2k.

What I like
Sporty Outlook
Strong Power Output for a small CC Car
DASHBOARD Cluster really shows the effort put in to design the car

What I do not like
The car is really cramped especially at the back.
The car may be well built and pleasing to the eye, however, the company's reliability is dubious.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Kia Stonic
4 stars - based on 16 reviews