Suzuki Swift

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Suzuki Swift
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
19 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
16 out of 19 (84.2%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

19 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
hikokwei
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 31-Jan-2014
Reliable and quiet ride  Posted on 07 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Well priced for it's class, fuel consumption pretty good at 15km/l for 1.5A variant. Interior was pretty good for it's class, and certainly a decent ride speed capable of slight overtaking. Sound isolation was good at low speed, but get pretty loud wind noise at expressway speed, not much of a deal breaker.

What I like
Fuel consumption (15km/l)
Sporty Looks
Reliable
Handling

What I do not like
Plastic interior
Small boot space

Acevin
Clutched
1 reviews
15 points
429 forum posts Joined on 11-Oct-2008
Good & reliable car!  Posted on 21 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving this car for close to 2-yrs. quiet engine.. FC quite gd, and esp change to aftermarket air filter, FC even better..

What I like
Keyless entry, climatic control, CVT - gearless & quiet, Fuel consumption, handling, easy to drive & park.. gd car and definitely recommended!!

What I do not like
Small boot space. Low-end not so good, but good mid to high-end for a 1.2 small car.

Deathstalker
2nd Gear
2 reviews
126 points
143 forum posts Joined on 20-Jul-2007
Good if you are a single  Posted on 31 Jan 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have the car for 2 years & 3 months; besides the fact that I get a backache (solved with a backrest), & limited bootspace, the car is suitable for me.

What I like
(a) FC - @12.1 km/l, 90% highway. Quite respectable.

(b) Ext. looks - Evergreen looks. Car been out Spore road since 2004, but it still looks great.

(c) Reliablity - Except the slight probs i.e., door rattles, speakers buzz, car has no issues for the last 2 years. MIJ car rocks!

What I do not like
(a) Space - Don't get this car if you have kids.

(b) Int. looks - Plasticky. Lots of hard black plastics. It is sparse looking too. Spartan.

Kenneth_tanww
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Dec-2009
Pretty nice car to drive  Posted on 26 Dec 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Has driven a 1.5A swift for 9 months. A pretty nice car to drive with good and quiet engine. After some add-ons and upgrade of air filter, the fuel comsumption is also quite good. Afterall, a nice car to drive around.

What I like
1) Quiet Engine
2) Rather good fuel comsumption between 13 to 14 km/l
3) Sporty exterior

What I do not like
1) Plastic interior with some rattling problems, but can be resolved.
2) Should improve on the sound system although the existing is still not bad
3) Leg room

Dero
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
1 points
53 forum posts Joined on 12-Aug-2006
Not value for money  Posted on 05 Dec 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I've driven my friend's 1.2l and 1.3l swift. Both parallel imported or by Champion.

I feel that the car is good for point A to point B but maybe not the price. It is seriously underpowered when going up hill. but it's quite nice to drive the small car.

When rev hard for a while, the aircon has this burning rubber smell.

The space on the seats are quite okay for a hatchback but the boot is really small.

I would recomend Daihatsu Sirion instead.

What I like
- European Car Look
- Cute
- Nice to drive
- Relatively good FC
- Electronic Climate Control on parallel import models

What I do not like
- Small Boot
- Boot no light
- No power
- Some parts look cheap

Pocus
Turbocharged
16 reviews
13,734 points
5819 forum posts Joined on 30-Aug-2004
Timeless car for the young at heart. A good first car.  Posted on 12 Nov 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
This is the one and only car that save Suzuki.

From the legacy of the old generation Swift known for reliability and fuel efficiency, the new Swift goes about a different philiosophy... Its chic and yuppy designed and built for the young at heart. With the round lamps and stylish black pillars that made it a trend among japanese designers.

The car is pretty well equipped but still go by the bare bones feel. While the interior is spiced up to look chic and clear cut, it compromised with the lack of useful compartments for storage. The new faclift includes a bootfloor board that gives the impression that the boot is ultra small, but remove the board and you get a pretty decent boot. The commendable feature for the Swift is the sound system which is superb by stock standard.

The engine of the Swift,the standard 1.5 engine with average power of 101bhp and average fuel comsumption of 13km/l, is nothing to shout about, but it should be good enough for our local traffic. Nevertheless it's quiet and reliable without any problems for these 4 years.

Driving for a pickup if the Auto gear can be a drag. the gears are too wide apart and i have to rev the engine to force it down at times, the car sometimes unresponsive to climbing slopes or filtering.

Surprising the handling of the car is quite nimbly. Thanks for the chassis design intended for the JWRC rally. You can very confident in the corners and not much bodyroll can be felt. The classis compact and tight design gives it a natural rigidity.

Built quality of the car can be questionable. Some hear ratters the first day they drive out of the showroom. For me I'm lucky to not encounter any issues of built quality for the past 4 years, but I do get some issues like headlamp problems, aircon noises but nothing major. But still compared to my other cars, this swift does get abit tempermental.

Overall it's a chic and fun car to drive around although marred by the unresponsive throttle and transmission. At that price you can't complain much, but if you are into a full driving experience for a suzuki swift with a more responsive throttle, ditch this ride and go for the Swift Sport.

What I like
- Chic and timeless looks.
- Pleasing interior
- Nimble Handling

What I do not like
- Average mechanical marvels.
- Bad Auto transmission
- Lack for some features and compartments

Kee2718
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
So far so good  Posted on 27 Oct 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
This is the follow up for my review posted last year - 1st review for 1.5 Swift

The car is with me for 2 yrs plus now, so far so good.
Had solved 90% panels rattling sound, all try and error by DIY for sure.
6 months ago sent in to CM numerous times for checking of steering rack rocking noise problem, was finally replace whole set (rack and pinion and absorbers) FOC during 5th time sent in, so far ok, after tested 2 times KL and Genting.
I still love to drive this car, engine still quiet even though not as smooth as before,
However now can feel the limitation of small boot space as normally baby pram is in the boot, car seat is occupying 1 rear seat. Whenever go for weekly groceries, gosh....

What I like
quiet engine
exterior design
handling
stock leather seat is comfortable for long hr drive

What I do not like
limited features
boot space (it's a hatch nothing much can comment)
initial pick up no power
the interior plastic panels

Clh77
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Good Handling Car  Posted on 14 May 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I had been driving the 1.3(A) swift near to a year. It is easy to parking and handling. Tremendous quiet engine. Fuel consumption is about 12+ km/l. Not much power as it's just a 1.3 car. It considered a nice car for normal driving.

What I like
Quiet engine
Smooth pickup
Easy parking and driving

What I do not like
Small boot space
Not much features
Weak pickup, esp at slope
The plastic car handle and side mirror

Crazyultra
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2009
Good fun  Posted on 11 Apr 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have driven the 1.5 M swift for almost 4 years and have enjoyed it tremendously. I didn't really buy it for the appearance but for the ease of handling, especially in the manual version. This is not manual for the sake of having it cheap but for performance and enjoyment without killing your pocket. Changing gears is smooth, effective and once you get used to the car, some people might not know you're driving a manual! I have not taken the best care of the car, but touch wood, it does just fine.

What I like
-Easy to park
- Fun to drive
- performs happily when needed, over long distances, on steep slopes, carrying a full load of people and luggage
-excellent fuel efficiency
-Audio controls on steering

What I do not like
What's there not to like?

Gjkelvin
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
3 points
15 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2009
Size is its only constraint if you are tall  Posted on 09 Apr 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Suzuki Swift is a very handsome car from outside. Step into the cabin the interior is also great place to be in. The plastic quality used is reasonably good, the buttons are within reach and the design of the dashboard is neat.

Ignite the 1.5 engine, release the handbrake and switch to D and here you go. The engine hardly feels strained on road,and the ride and handling are reasonably good too. Gear change is this automatic transmission is also seamless.

However anyone who is probably 1.75m and above will find that this car lacks in space and legroom especially the rear passengers. For average drivers and passengers who are average 1.7m should not feel the problem.

What I like
Exterior
Interior
Powerful Engine
Automatic transmission

What I do not like
Small boot
Tight legroom for taller passenger

Chanym
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2009
NJL  Posted on 28 Mar 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I had been driving the suzuki swift 1.2XG for a year. The fuel is about 9km per liter and the maximum I can go is 360km for a full tank.

What I like
Look small from external but high after sitting inside.

What I do not like
NIL

Lengsh
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
One of the best hatchback car I've ever driven  Posted on 03 Jan 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I went for a test drive for this car and found out this car is exceeds my expectation! Its have a continental feel and a superb great handling. The driving position is sporty and this baby have a reasonable power too. Love this baby so much after the test drive.

What I like
Great handling.
Sporty looking exterior.
Controls on steering wheel
Keyless Operation System
Informative dashboard.
Fuel consumption.
Made in Japan.

What I do not like
Rear seat space.
Small Boot.

Mustang
1st Gear
33 reviews
27 points
746 forum posts Joined on 26-Oct-2005
Best compact of the century  Posted on 05 Nov 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

What I like
Design, Performances, In par with the legendary Swift GTI. 5 stars rating from me.

What I do not like
Pricey even for 1.2.

Ken123
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Point A to B car  Posted on 20 Oct 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Small car with good FC ave 14km/L
CVT gear box produce low engine noise during cruising speed at 100km/hr.

What I like
Nice looking exterior with Bodykit.

What I do not like
The trunk is a little too small for weekend outing.

Susuki
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Comfortable Budget Car  Posted on 10 Oct 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Nice jazzy and reliable car with good handling. It looks small on outside but i still have enough legroom (1.75m).

What I like
F/C, strong air-con, good handling

What I do not like
Back seat no space, slow pick-up

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Suzuki Swift 3.5 stars - based on 19 reviews