of
reset
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of MCS Garage
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
18 Reviewers
4.3 out of 5
spacer
Technical Expertise
4.4/5 Customer Service
4.2/5
spacer
Value for money
4.3/5 Outlet Experience
4.1/5
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

18 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  • « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »
  •  results/page
JeromeKoh_148202
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Nov-2015
Brilliant technique and excellent knowledge of their trade  Posted on 30-May-2017
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
Did my servicing at MCS Garage. Only expected to change my ATF and Engine oil but the mechanics found important parts that were badly worn out upon Checking. They got the necessary parts within 30 mins and the whole process took less than 2 hours. They even flushed my coolent 3 times for maximum effect. Hardworking and precise. Recommendable to my friends. Post Management Response
 
rhph23
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
5 points
12 forum posts Joined on 21-Mar-2015
Replacement of LED Light  Posted on 16-Nov-2015
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise3/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money3/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Went on Sat morning to have my interior panel sprayed as the original paint on it was contaminated by cleaning chemicals. Also took the opportunity to request to change one faulty LED in the air con control knob. Ken told me I could still use the car while panel was being sprayed. Subsequently, a young mechanic (specs) dismantle the air-con knob to inspect and had difficulty reassembling the knob (knob would not turn smoothly)
I told him the reason (need to align "V"-Notch in the gears) because I have experience with dis-assembly. Did not seem to take my feedback well. Then told me the led would arrive on Mon, ask me to wait upstairs (like asking me not to disturb him)
Waited until 1230pm, so I said I'm taking my car while panel is being sprayed. Mechanic was not instructed to release my car until I said so!
Went back in the late evening, mechanics saw me but fiddled with their m/bikes. Did not bother to entertain me.
Finally Eldest Mechanic then told me to come back next Sat to have the LED replaced, and just leave the air-con panels disassembled. Reason given fearing will scratch the newly painted panel. He expects me to drive my car for another week with loose air con knobs hanging all over the place! My car is not a Malaysian car! Please.. This tells me that the mechanic have no confidence in his skills in dismantling and reassembling the panels.
I told him "No.. Put back my loose led (my led was still working but requires light knocking then light will come back on - contact loose) and reassemble my panels."
Eldest mechanic then instructed young mechanic to find the led to which the young mechanic replied "It was on the floor..."
Went to another accessories shop and told me the previous mechanic put back the led but did not screw the led in. Led flint was broken too. Good Service indeed.. Post Management Response
 
Altis72
Premium User Altis72
3rd Gear
10 reviews
331 points
179 forum posts Joined on 29-Apr-2013
Blue Legroom LED Styling / RSChip  Posted on 08-Jul-2015
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
This was my first visit to MCS Garage and it was a positive experience for me. I had blue LED lighting done at the legroom of my Lancer GT and also had the RSChip installed in my vehicle. I was very happy and impressed with the work of Kenrick and his team. Post Management Response
 
Vandermener
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
24 points
19 forum posts Joined on 25-Feb-2011
Honest and reliable  Posted on 27-Apr-2015
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience4/5
Always only a phone call away from advice. Very honest and reliable. Also provide value for money and quality workmanship. Truly 1 stop solution for all my customization, servicing and all car related service. Introduced my friends there and they are well taken care of too. Strongly recommended for everyone !!! Post Management Response
 
Happyjet
Premium User Happyjet
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
14 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Jul-2013
Best workshop I've been to!  Posted on 13-Jan-2015
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
I've been to many workshops around, and I have to say, MyCarShop / MCS Garage is the best workshop I've been to. an all round workshop that sells accessories, do up bodykit and even do car servicing!

Very good service with good workmanship! You will not regret going to Mycarshop! Post Management Response
 
jeromekohsunny
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Jul-2014
Hardworking and precise. Recommendable to my friends  Posted on 23-Jul-2014
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
Did my servicing at MyCarShop Garage. Only expected to change my ATF and Engine oil but the mechanics found important parts that were badly worn out upon Checking. They got the necessary parts within 30 mins and the whole process took less than 2 hours. They even flushed my coolent 3 times for maximum effect. Hardworking and precise. Recommendable to my friends. Post Management Response
 
delvin1111
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Jul-2014
very good service and workmanship!  Posted on 21-Jul-2014
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
Thanks MCS for beautifying my Subaru impreza GC8 , Good workmanship, efficient responses and friendly technicians who give 101% to do up your ride. Recommend people out there who seek to beautify your car. They are extremely detailed in their job. Cheers bros!!! Post Management Response
 
cat92
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Jul-2014
more than just an accessories shop  Posted on 20-Jul-2014
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
I went to MCS initially to an alarm system for my van, I left the workshop with a lot more. Simply because of their dedication to taking their work another step ahead.

Their professionalism is top notch. Sure, there are places that you might find certain items or services cheaper but can you replace that feeling of trust and confidence in their mechs? And to begin with.. The prices are reasonable.

In my opinion, price is merely a number. But you can never exchange a number for the friendship that is built, the trust you have nor the friendly smile you receive.

This almost feela like my 3rd home and I doubt any new customer would feel any differently.

Thanks Ken, Seng and team for the great work on my Vito. Much appreciated and see you soon. Post Management Response
 
Raychay
Premium User Raychay
5th Gear
6 reviews
1,363 points
418 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2002
Doubious  Posted on 15-Apr-2014
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service2/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Friend went there to fix HID in his headlights as they were not bright enough. The boss took a look and said it was already HID. He took a look at his fog lights and suggested fixing HID in his fog lights instead and quoted him a price. Upon agreement, he proceeded to dismantle the fogs. After fiddling around for 15 mins, he handed over the job halfway to his mechanic as he either didn't have the know-how or rather serve customers instead. After the mechanic fiddled for another 15 mins, he suddenly 'found out' the lens was already cracked and informed my friend asking if he wanted to proceed.
Q1: Would the boss recommend fixing HID in the fogs if the lens was already cracked prior to installation?
Management Response by MCS Garage

We refer to your complaint dated 15 Apr 2014 and we have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Firstly we would like to apologise that we did not install the HID to your fog lamp as we have agreed upon. In MyCarShop, we are a 100% legit and all our staff are professionally-trained mechanic. As we realise that your fog lamp is cracked, we are unable to continue the job as it may lead to future problems like water leaking and short circuit.

As you have mention that I have "fiddle" your fog lamp and then asked my mechanic to do the rest of the job. It may seem this way to you but the true facts is that I am in charge of the quality and satisfaction of my customers and my mechanic is the one who practice the work and fulfill our customer's satisfaction. While i was inspecting and trying to figure up the complication of the installation, so i can delegate my mechanic for the project. And i realise that the foglamp is cracked. And as MyCarShop always work as a team, i have engage one of my mechanic to to reassure the issue before we bring this up to you.

Pardon us for this misunderstanding as we would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We take into consideration of the time you have spent inside our workshop, so we didn't charge you for labour fee during that day.

Lastly, thank you for your feedback and we will work closely with all our mechanic. We will be more tactful and we welcome you back again for the next visit.

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to remedy the situations.

Should you need any further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you!

 
Radest
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Jul-2013
Excellent & Professional Service  Posted on 10-Jul-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
Went down to MyCarShop recently to have a strut bar installed on my Honda Jazz and managed to finally get to meet the Boss (Kenrick) whom I have been communicating with via whatsapp. During our conversation, he was extremely friendly and patient, sharing with me very professional and technical advice that ultimately led me to be happy to provide more business to his shop.

On that day itself, I decided to install lowering springs and Kenrick personally drove my car to the workshop to get it done immediately (since the springs could not be installed at the shop itself). Moreover, while he was on the way to the shop, he pointed out to me that he suspected the spark plugs on my car were wearing out/failing as he noticed a lack of power periodically while driving. This was surprising and useful to me as I had been wondering what the cause was myself the past few weeks. I agreed to get a replacement set and he installed it for me in addition to the lowering springs.

Although it took quite awhile for installation to finish (due to rusty screws on the old springs), the workmanship and service provided was excellent. To top it off, Kenrick's colleagues wasted no time in assisting me to rectify a gearshift issue that was the cause of the installation of a new gearshift I had attained at their shop during an earlier visit.

In short, would highly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for car accessories or any other related services that this shop can provide. The staff are professional, technical and are never afraid of sharing more information to whoever may have enquiries. To top it off, they provide useful and honest information to both their regulars and potential customers.

Keep it up! =) Post Management Response
 
Chokeheld
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Jun-2012
nice one  Posted on 30-May-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
sometimes price is not all that matters. after sales is important as well. for that very pleased with mycarshop for the excellent service rendered to me. i patronize them and asked a lot of questions as well so as to gain more knowledge about what am i getting into. they have been very patient and for that i really thank them./ Post Management Response
 
Falcon86
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-May-2013
Prosport Gauges  Posted on 29-May-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
Went down to mycarshop to fix up 3 prosport gauges upon my friend's recommendation as he also installed there, overall a pleasant experience as I was first shown the different brands and models that they carry and eventually chose to install the prosport gauges, the job was done in about 2 hours and the mechanic was very patient in asking me where I want to place my gauge as I was quite indecisive on where to place the gauge at first.. after fixing, he explained to me on how to read the gauge and its function and also taught me how to on and off the sound of the gauges. there is even a 6 months warranty for the gauges! Post Management Response
 
Emperor83
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Jun-2009
Interior panel wrapping on my BMW 525i  Posted on 23-May-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
Did my interior panel wrapping on my BMW 525i a few weeks back at mycarshop as I am getting sick of my old and scratchy interior panels.. overall I feel that the job has been well done as they seem very familiar with dismantling and fitting back the interior panels of my car. What I like most about their service is that they took effort to dismantle each and every part of the panels that I wanted to stick in order to 'fold' and 'hide' the ends of the sticker beneath the panels such that it will not peel out so easily and would have a nicer finishing.. Would highly recommend this shop!

4 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer spacer spacer
Post Management Response
 
Chuanzuya
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
18 points
13 forum posts Joined on 14-Apr-2013
My experience with their workshop  Posted on 14-May-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise3/5
  • Customer Service2/5
  • Value for money2/5
  • Outlet Experience2/5
First, i bought 2 front brembo brake cover with installation at their workshop. Their online retail price this item at $39. But at the workshop, they quoted me $100 with a simple installation. I feel so cheated after i came to know their online retail price.

Second, bought a steering wheel with boss kit from them. Told me they will call me on the following monday to go down for installation once stock arrive. On monday, I did not receive any call. I had to call them myself on wednesday to ask if the stock have arrived. Their staff had the cheek to tell me they forget to call me earlier.

Fine, i went down for the steering wheel installation. After driving off i discovered that the steering wheel was misaligned and was tilted slightly to the right around 8-10 degrees. So much for paying $289 for bosskit and steering wheel, and their sloppy techinician deliver this kind of workmanship.

Conclusion: Overpriced shop with workmanship that is not up to standard.
will not return again. Post Management Response
 
Picanto_ben
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
6 forum posts Joined on 18-Mar-2013
Installed Component Speakers  Posted on 19-Mar-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise2/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money2/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Visited Mycarshop last thursday to install my own component speakers and sub woofer, as Mycarshop is located near my house. The guy looked at my speakers and insisted that the speakers were spoiled, and that it was torn. I asked him to show me the spot where it was torn and he pointed to a spot. I was shocked because there was no sign of any damage. Maybe he thinks I am newbie and I do not know anything about speakers at all. Next he tried persuading me to buy new speakers. I really do not like this type of tactics. Telling me my speakers are spoiled so that I would end up buying their things, to me this is not honesty. Well I insisted they install my speakers and they worked perfectly. During the installation, the guy told me that my car battery seems to be at the end of it's life. Now in terms of battery life, I am not an expert, but the battery in the car which I just purchased looks very very new and with the feeling that he had earlier pressurized me to buy his speakers, I did not quite believe what he said. I intended to bring to my regular mechanic for his assessments. Today I had some time so decided to go to my mechanic and asked him if my battery is dying. Guess what? My mechanic told me that the battery is new. He said even without testing , he knows the battery has just been installed. So my suspicion was right, another tactic to get me to spend unnecessary money. I sincerely ask the owners of mycarshop to take note of my experience, for this is not the way to do business.
Management Response by MCS Garage
21-Mar-2013

Hi Picanto_Ben,

Thank you for writing in to regarding about the speaker and battery incident to us and we appreciate your valuable feedback.

To do accept our apology where we might be a little too impetuous when we are doing the explanation to you. We do like to keep our customer to the highest satisfactory level as possible.

For the speaker's issue, It is indeed "spoil" but it is still usable. The speaker is cover with paper to amplify and project the sound of from the electric wave. What we are trying to tell you is that if there is a hole in the speaker, the sound clarity will be affected, if you are a avid listener you might find that the sound will be a little off. This is when we come in and recommend you a new set of speaker for your consideration. We do not have any intention of hard-selling you any of the product as all the product we bring in are mostly reputable brands which the have their fair share of fans coming and ask for the products itself.

And for the battery issue, you battery indicator have shown black in color which means it's dying soon. And of course, we may be wrong due to the inaccuracy of the built-in indicator, but we also have a external battery testing kit to test the battery life. I understand that because of the 1st incident you become skeptical. We have already look into this and also re-evaluate how we should handle this kind of situation if it arise again.

I would like to assure everyone of you that while shopping and having your car done in Mycarshop you are receiving the most genuine service and product with our years of experiences and also our extensive support. We are looking forward to serve you again.

Lastly, i thank you for this feedback and we are definitely going to improve on this!

Cheers,
Mycarshop

 
  •   Sort By
  • « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »
  •  results/page
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Merchant Logo MCS Garage
4 stars - based on 18 reviews

Recommended for you

1-6 of 18