of
reset



spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Zen Car Services
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
21 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Technical Expertise
3.4/5 Customer Service
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.7/5 Outlet Experience
3.2/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

21 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  • « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »
  •  results/page
Nomura1
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
-24 points
5 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2017
Inferior Quality Solar Films  Posted on 25-May-2019
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Installed their top of the line premium solar film on my SUV.

Solar films scratches easily. Terrible at blocking heat as the interior of my car becomes unbearingly hot within 5 minutes of parking in the sun.

Bubbles and glue mark can be seen even after 1 week of drying.

Do not recommend these films as it became a huge regret.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
12-Jun-2019

You made 2 such untrue claims about our products in recent months. What's your motive in doing so? We would refund you in full if you could produce the receipt/bill without any question asked. If not, stop posting untrue claims to damage our reputation.

 
JimmyTan66
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 09-Oct-2018
Save $400! Do it Right the First Time. Go With Reputable Solar Film That Provides Official TSER %  Posted on 09-Oct-2018
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
I found that most of the tinting industry here are selling us a "Black box" Product without giving us the full details and specification of their product. This is especially so for the unbranded films, or local shop brand solar films.

The 99%-97% IRR that they are advertising are only focused on 900-1000nm wavelength, which covers only 4% Of the whole solar field!!

Look at the diagram below, the whole solar energy covers from 250-2500nm wavelength.
 
Bottom line is they won't tell you the overall performance of their solar film against the whole spectrum of solar energy, which some reputable brand will indicate as the Total Solar Energy Rejection (TSER).

Even the IR meter that they use are only measuring the 4% Range, its a sales gimmick!!

Furthermore, almost all of the local brand solar film uses nano ceramic to absorb the solar energy, that will eventually heat up the glass and air around it inside the car after some time. Its like a green house film rather then a solar film, it only temporary blocks the heat... Scam....
 
In the end, I had to remove the Solar Film from Zen Car Services because it was not doing anything to reject heat. Wasted $400.

I settled for a more reputable brand like Llumar Palladium 9 that is designed to reflect the heat out of the car instead of absorbing it inside the car.

3M also provides you the Total Solar Energy Rejection (TSER) that is very transparent to the buyer, and I think some series of V-Kool also provides the Total Solar Energy Rejection (TSER). Similarly Huper Optik provides (TSER). All these are officially certified and tested.

Information and certificate are available on their Manufacturer's website.
 
At least I have a peace of mind knowing that the product they sell are tested and certified.

For those new owners, do consider spending a little more for a reputable product that 1) REFLECTs heat, not absorb, and 2) provides the TSER figures, when shopping for solar film. Don't live in regret!!

1 Review Photo(s)

spacer
Management Response by Zen Car Services
30-Oct-2018

Having checked our CRM System, there was no record of such customer. Also, this review was posted on the very day this Jimmy Tan66 joined the forum as member. It's very obvious that he's up to no good & with intention of damaging our reputation. Moreover, the contents were not factual & accurate. We had been in business since 2004 & we can assure that our products are of superior quality at competitive pricings. We are prepared to reimburse in full if this Jimmy Tan66 could produce our receipt as claimed that he installed with our solar film. Otherwise, stop this nonsense & damaging review.

 
Gordonrussel
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Oct-2017
INFERIOR QUALITY BUDGET FILM - MINIMAL HEAT REJECTION  Posted on 05-Oct-2017
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money2/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Installed their Platinum 70 film (Flagship top of the line film) at Zen Cool on my Porsche about a month back.

As mentioned by other reviewers, this is a very small OMO operation located at Tannery Road.

Decided to give them a try as their pricing was amongst the cheapest in Singapore.

RATINGS

1. Heat rejection: 1/10 (very poor) although on paper its claimed at 90% To 99% IR Rejection

2. Scratch Resistance: 2/10 (poor) scratches easily if you use a dry towel or newspaper to wipe the film. It even leaves mild scratches when you wind up and down the windows too often

3. Film Quality: 2/10 (poor). I noticed lots of lumpy glue like dirt / dust / sand trapped inside the film. Was told this was glue and needed to wait 1 week for the glue to settle. I waited one month and these lumpy like particles are still trap on my windscreen and windows.

4. Glare Rejection: 7/10 (good) the darker films does indeed help to cut down glare but not as effective at cutting out heat.

Real world experience with the Zen film in Singapore. I beginned to sweat, perspire and my thighs started burning just 1 minute after switching off the aircon in the vehicle.

CONCLUSION:
Those who are looking for solar film that actually cuts out heat effectively should look elsewhere.

Also good quality films are only sold by authorised distributors. Beware of those sold by car accessories shop and workshops as they could be carrying counterfeit brands.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
17-Oct-2017

Thank you for your feedback. If you are not satisfied with our products, come back & get it removed with full refund.

 
Nomura1
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
-24 points
5 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2017
So So Solar Films But Not Really Effective in Blocking Heat  Posted on 29-Aug-2017
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service3/5
  • Value for money3/5
  • Outlet Experience2/5
Installed their highest package called Platinum 70.

Didn't really find any improvement whatsoever in terms of the heat rejection.

Demo at the shop with their Heat Bulb (IR) and real world heat rejection is totally different.

Within 30 secs of turning off the engine and while tearing parking coupon, my entire body was sweaty and perspiring.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
17-Oct-2017

Thank you for your feedback. For legal tint, the feel could be slightly warm in view of the heat wave. Feel free to call me @ HP 98459289 should you need more advice.

 
Ian1
2nd Gear
6 reviews
165 points
148 forum posts Joined on 23-Apr-2013
Use Very Low Quality Solar Film But Good Value Budget Film @$350 for their Flagship (Top of The Line Platinum 70)  Posted on 10-Aug-2017
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise2/5
  • Customer Service2/5
  • Value for money2/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Outlet

1. This is a very small car window film outlet with only one man operation. Thus, they can only do one car at a time.

2. Most of the time, the one man installer has his mobile headphones on, thus any attempts to talk to him will be useless.

Window Films

1. Inspite of the different grades Classic70, Economy70, Premium70 and Platinum70; This is just marketing hype, they only carry one grade in general which is called Platinum70.... Supposedly their best.

2. The grades must as well be reclassified as lousy, lousier, lousiest, and catastrophic disaster.

3. I installed their Platinum 70 supposed their Best (personal rating lousy).

Quality of their Solar Films (After Allowing it to Set for 4 Days)

1. If anyone has installed cheap screen protectors on their mobile phones versus premium screen protector, you can easily relate to what I mean

2. Inspite of repeated removal (change) and re-application of new film, the film still scratches easily from the installation process

3. The film leaves a cloudy haze between the film and the car glass, I am assuming this is due to the poor quality glue and poor bonding between film and glass. In short, low quality film!!

4. There are also lots of either dust particles or micro bubbles trap after application if one looks close enough (after allowing to set for 4 days already)

5. I also noticed some lines like someone folded the film or took a sharp object to scratch it. Likely the cause from poor production process.

Heat Rejection

1. Personally for the front windscreen, I felt zero difference. The dashboard still burned while car is on the move with aircon on.

2. JImmy suggested putting two layers of film on the front windscreen. This confirms my suspicion the films were of low quality.

3. The amount of heat rejection that would take a good quality film just one layer to block, would require two layers from Zen Cool.

Conclusion

1. Jimmy (owner of the outlet), if you are reading this, I suggest you either switch brands or switch supplier for your films. You mentioned you use Excel Solar Films.

2. In my 30 years of driving, I have used and tested over 10 different types of solar films for the car, from premium for front windscreen to budget for windows that I change every two years. While this is not the worst, worst was the type I paid 90 ringgit for 4 windows which I change regularly come inspection time, the quality of films you use is relatively close to those except yours don't leave behind a sticky residue upon removal.

3. The saving grace for this outlet is that the owner Jimmy is friendly and chatty. Unfortunately, his source / his supplier of solar film let him down.

4. I will likely remove the film after a year or two and switch to better quality film. If I could turn back the clock, I would have made a different choice.

5. My decision to go with Zen Cool was because of the rave and fantastic reviews here (sgcarmart), as well as, the believe that it being their only core business (99.99% Of revenue is from window film), the workmanship and films that I would be getting would be up to standard but sadly it was sub-par.

6. Objective of this review is, if you are looking for good quality film, look elsewhere.

7. If you are on a tight budget and just want the film to give your ride a classy look, Zen Cool films are beautifully tinted green and their prices are unbeatable.

3 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer spacer
Management Response by Zen Car Services
17-Oct-2017

Your expectations for good solar film may be different & you are biased against non branded solar film. We used similar film for many cars & you are the only one with such comments. We are prepared to refund you in full & removed our film at no costs.

 
yrh0413
2nd Gear
1 reviews
169 points
103 forum posts Joined on 06-Apr-2015
Hassle-free, value for money window tint  Posted on 08-Jul-2016
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise4/5
  • Customer Service4/5
  • Value for money4/5
  • Outlet Experience4/5
Did my car window tint earlier this week, was a bit hesitant after reading some horror stories on mcf but decided to give them a try and it turned out to be a pleasant experience. The solar film was installed professionally and Jimmy personally inspects each window before he hands my car back to me.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
17-Oct-2017

Thank you for your trust in our products. We assured you that our products are of high quality @ affordable price.

 
whitesea84
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Jan-2015
Good pricing and workmanship  Posted on 18-Jun-2016
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service4/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience4/5
Got their P70+ specs solar film and their pricing is so far the most competitive.
Can tell the employee took pride in doing the solar film and the boss is friendly. Solar film is nicely done and i'm quite surprise that the employee helped to put back what was kept from the dashboard and window after the solar film is done, going extra mile.
Boss personally inspect the finished work and found a small bubble underneath the solar film for the back window and got the employee to push out the bubble.

Overall good pricing and workmanship for the solar film!
Management Response by Zen Car Services
17-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! We assured you that we would continue to provide good services at affordable price.

 
UbErZoNe
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
1 points
11 forum posts Joined on 27-Jun-2014
Value For Money  Posted on 16-Oct-2015
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise4/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience4/5
Definitely value for money, it will better to go for P70 range of films, however the sun glaring percentage of the film is rather low in fact. Overall experience the boss is friendly and chatty.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! We would continue to provide good quality film at affordable price.

 
getz1968
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Jun-2015
Job well done  Posted on 29-Jun-2015
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise4/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience4/5
I have sent my car for installation of solar film @ Zen recently and it has been a wonderful experience with Zen as Jimmy (the owner) has guided the range of films he carries - ranging from C70, E70 and P70.

As a layman, he patiently walked me through these products and differentiate its quality and performance. I have carefully watched his worker cutting some test samples out from the original roll of films and put them for a test and indeed, I could find differences on them.

In order to ensure that I am getting what I have paid for, I have personally monitor the installation - from cutting of the chosen film (after tested) out from the original roll till the detailing of any possible bubbles after installation.

In addition, I also noticed that they have taken great care of my car during installation as towel was used to cover over my dashboard to prevent water sipping in.

I quite like what they have done for my car with the kind of pricing he was charging me - good job, well done.

To ensure you will be getting what it has been promised, monitor yourself closely in preventing shop owner from any short changes.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! We would continue to provide good quality solar film at affordable price. Feel free to call us anytime should you have any issues.

 
Vernonlcm
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2007
Decide yourself  Posted on 04-Feb-2014
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise4/5
  • Customer Service3/5
  • Value for money4/5
  • Outlet Experience2/5
I just did my solar film from Zen. Jimmy is quite a friendly guy however u are his client so who would not be friendly to his client right?
I must say his solar film is indeed one of the most competitive if not the cheapest in town.

There is something I like to highlight to you guys. He do not actually have a proper test meter for checking on the IR (heat rejection) to see how much exactly the IR is rejected or I should say he may have one which he showed to me but the test done between the premium solar and the normal cheap film reading on that meter show not much different so he claimed that this meter is spoilt so I can only claimed that he do not have any proper test meter. He only got a table benchtop tester for u to put your hand over it to feel the difference with and without the film. That mean to say you must always make sure u see his man cut the film and quickly use the remaining to test it out yourself over the bench. As for the LTA compliance test meter on the visibility, rest assure as he got that test meter which do indicate the reading of the percentage of the light which can pass thru the window. For this, I totally got no doubt on that.

Once again I must highlight is that no doubt u can do so but who would be so free to always sit there to wait for his man to cut the film and quickly bring it to test. Actually my experience found on a not so crucial part on my car, I feel that he is not using the same film as the front screen which I consider is the crucial part. However they just insist that they all cut out from the same place so how can it be different??? Actually how can we be sure they use back exactly same piece as his man always go in the room to do the cutting while we just sitting outside. However that my feeling when I took it to the table benchtop for testing. This part is actually use for my 3rd row of my MVP which is already tinted dark so I consider not crucial part. Still is word against word when u do not have a proper test meter to indicate exactly what is the reading on the IR which we are most concern on. He will always say trust him so this depend on how u guys think.

If u notice their website, they have a P70 and E70 solar film which is comparable. I did not mention C70 as is the lowest end of them. P70 is the premium while E70 is the economical range. IR for them is 90% and 75% respectively. When I SMS him what is the heat rejection, he told me he offer me top grade 80% IR using P70. When I spoke to him casually while waiting for my car, I ask him how to differentiate E70 and P70, he told me he mainly bring in only P70 now. I don't mean he will supply E70 instead of P70 as claimed to be more competitive but since e don't have a proper test meter, would we as a layman be able to exactly feel the difference between them? You just can based on what he told u that is to trust him lor.

One more thing is just for your info. Parking is not free there so how long they do up your car meaning to say how much u got to pay for the parking as is not by per entry basis. I paid close to $5 for the 2-3hours and only one man is doing the job as he claim this is to cut the overhead cost that why his price is so competitive.

Conclusion is I am still satisfy overall after driving the car for a few days but I think I should highlight my concern so that you guys can be more caution only. Cheers.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! We would continue to provide good solar film at most competitive price. Feel free to call us anytime should you have any issues.

 
Factal
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Jul-2013
value of bucks  Posted on 06-Aug-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service4/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
a reasonable price for the job. check the price for just the rear windscreen Jimmy provided excellent service and staff was good and very quick. Recommended for a job well done
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! Just manage to have access to the Mgmt Response. Should you need our services, feel free to call us anytime.

 
Jems
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
76 forum posts Joined on 16-Sep-2004
Good Job  Posted on 01-Aug-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
Jimmy provided excellent service and a reasonable price for the job. Worker was fast and skilled. Recommended.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! Just manage to have access to the Mgmt Response. Should you need our services, feel free to call us anytime.

 
Tiffany_77q
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-May-2011
tannery outlet, recommended  Posted on 11-May-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise4/5
  • Customer Service4/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience3/5
unsure how many outlets Zen services own but I went the outlet at Tannery road and feel that money was well spent.
Sun glare is reduced and less heat coming into the car after the installation.
Was also advised patiently at the workshop what is required of my car.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! Just manage to have access to the Mgmt Response. Should you need our services, feel free to call us anytime.

 
Sorceror
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
-5 points
4 forum posts Joined on 13-Jun-2008
Lousy Worksmanship  Posted on 07-May-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Went to Zen to get my new car done up for the solar flim.
Worksmanship not up to standard as bubbles start to appear on the 3rd day and I have to return to get it redone.
The liquid that they used to spray on the windscreen is excessive and the cloth was not lay out properly resulting it to seep through my dashboard causing the entire front panel indicators to short circuit and audio system burnt.
Cheap things do not come good, in the end I have to change the audio system and get my indicators fixed on my own.
Not recommended.
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Just manage to have access to the Mgmt Response. Thanks anyway for your support despite the unpleasant experiences. We would continue to provide good services & products @ affordable price.

 
Accordvtec
1st Gear
5 reviews
32 points
2726 forum posts Joined on 19-Jun-2002
 Posted on 17-Aug-2012
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
been sourcing around for good and affordable film cos mine is a 5 year old car. was thinking no point spend too much on one that has 5 years remaining and I myself also not too sure will I be driving till the end. Settled for Zen Cool film and I am very glad I did this film. Heat rejection is indeed commendable and the car cools down a lot faster. the top of the range film is indeed affordable for all drivers and also very value for $$. The boss is a very down to earth and friendly person. Highly recommended!
Management Response by Zen Car Services
18-Oct-2017

Thank you for your support! Just manage to have access to the Mgmt Response. Should you need our services, feel free to call us anytime.

 
  •   Sort By
  • « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »
  •  results/page
Merchant Logo Zen Car Services
3.5 stars - based on 21 reviews

Recommended for you

1-6 of 17