Related Categories

Featured Products

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Techron D Concentrate Plus
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
30 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Features
4/5 Performance
4/5
spacer
Design
4/5 Price
3/5
spacer
29 out of 30 (96.7%) reviewers said they would recommend this product to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

30 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
EdmundCai
Premium User EdmundCai
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Aug-2015
Improvement in FC and Response  Posted on 20 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volvo V40

Review
Tried this on my 2015 Volvo V40 D2, with mileage of 40k. Almost using up this tank of diesel and FC I’M getting is about 0.6km/L higher than my usual. Felt throttle response is slightly better as well, with more eager and torquey engine. On the overall good, however not sure how long this cleaned injectors effect will last.

What I like
- Improvement in FC and throttle response.
- Easy to administer.

JulianLimZhiKai
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Feb-2018
Slight performance increase in Q30  Posted on 11 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Infiniti QX80

Review
The models on the website did not have a Q30 Premium, but this review is based on an Infiniti Q30 Premium.

After using Techron Concentrate, my fuel efficiency increased from a 3.8l/100km to a 3.6l/100km. Not sure if that is due to traffic conditions, but it definitely felt smoother after using the concentrate.

I have used other diesel-treating additives (STP Diesel Fuel Treatment) but hardly felt any significant changes. Granted that it may be a long-term effect.. Anyway, there are positive changes that you can immediately feel once you use the Techron Concentrate.

What I like
Easy to use, just pour into fuel tank before refuelling

What I do not like
Not too sure, this was given as a giveway prize. If it is priced similarly to STP Fuel Treatment, it will give STP a run for its money.

Melvwee
Premium User Melvwee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
7 points
9 forum posts Joined on 12-Feb-2010
Slight improvement on new car  Posted on 05 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 3/5
Design 3/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Megane

Review
Added Techron D to my 6mths Renault Megane with 7k mileage. After driving about 200km, I do notice very slight improvement on FC but it could also be me being more conscious on my footing.

I truth this product will do great on older cars, will try it again when my megane hits 1 yr.

What I like
Internationally trusted brand, easily available at all Caltex stations.

What I do not like
- No indicator marker on the bottle to assist with the amount poured.
- Price could be more competitive.

cwyxoteam92
Premium User cwyxoteam92
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Oct-2016
Techron D Concentrate Plus  Posted on 05 Feb 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 3/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Megane

Review
My Megane has been less than 1 year when i tested this product. I have been pumping Caltex for around 6 months and felt that it can last me longer days as compared to other petrol stations.

Personally felt that it does not make much of a difference as i felt that the existing Caltex Diesel has the same element as Techron D Concentrate Plus

What I like
can easily to remove and insert into the fuel tank

What I do not like
I felt it has no much difference as compared to Caltex Diesel

lukeusesforce
1st Gear
2 reviews
76 points
17 forum posts Joined on 17-Feb-2015
Good product, would like to know how to use it to be worth the price though  Posted on 01 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Fluence

Review
My Fluence is going on 1.5 years with 38k on the odometer and zero issues. Although I am careful to feed it mostly on Caltex, if I am nearby Mandai, Serangoon North or Toh Tuck I will sometimes use what Europeans call "supermarket fuel" from Cn***y and S***T Energy. This produces noticeably rougher idling, and the performance likewise drops perceptibly.

On an almost empty tank, I added the Techron D Concentrate and then pumped a full tank of Cn***y. Here are my observations:
- Idling became smoother, on par with Caltex diesel (i.E. Almost no vibration), after about 100km or so.
- Performance returned to par with Caltex diesel.
- There was a slight improvement in FC from 17 to 18km/l (60% Morning peak expressway, 40% City.)

While for me it has a clearly proven effect I am not sure if I would keep using it as the price works out as follows:
$20/60l tank = 33c/litre
C****y diesel @ $1/litre + 33c = $1.33
But Caltex diesel is $1.40
...So the price difference doesn't seem great enough to justify the added hassle.

This is no doubt a great product, but the price confuses me. Maybe Chevron SG could advise if this product is meant to be used as a periodic fuel system flush, just like B***sone. If so, it would make way more sense.

What I like
Clear increase in power, smoother idling, reduction in FC.

What I do not like
It seems quite pricey for per-tank use, one bottle/tank works out to about 30c/litre extra.

Dannnn
3rd Gear
1 reviews
298 points
424 forum posts Joined on 25-Jun-2017
Techron D  Posted on 29 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 4/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Megane

Review
Cute bottles, handle design. Initially thought will have problem pouring in my fuel tank as mine is the metal flap kind, was surprise able to do it without any issue.

Can feel that the engine is quieter, nothing much so far. To be honest Caltex diesel i always felt not so powerful compared to others, but it is definitely smooth.

What I like
Design
Its techron which makes engine clean!

What I do not like
Price maybe, as i dont feel any big effect thus not sure if worth to buy it for occasionally use.

cmmerc
Premium User cmmerc
2nd Gear
1 reviews
219 points
36 forum posts Joined on 01-Feb-2017
Slight improvement in smoothness and FC  Posted on 29 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mercedes-Benz E220

Review
My 12 months old E220D @ 20K is relatively smooth. Hence there was no significant improvement in smoothness or noise. I do travel up north often, and had been using Euro 5 diesel there from various brands, some good, and some really terrible, with immediate effect of ride and noise. The techcron seems to level the field so I guess the effect is probably best with lower grade diesel fuel.

I use a benchmark round trip from north east area to the airport ( i do this regularly ) where at best I have ever clocked consistently was 3.5l/100 km. After Techcron, my best was 3.3l/100km, so there is an improvement in FC.

I just replaced the fuel filter during my 20K service, right after 1 full tank with Techcron, and the filter was relatively dirty. There were black patches on the filter. Maybe the Techcron did clean up my fuel system and deposited the muck on the filter. But I dont know since this is the first time I ever replaced the filter.

Filling it into the fuel tank was easy, even though my car has this device that seems to block the intake area except when the correct nozzle is inserted. I just go slow on pouring the Techcron in and it seems to go in with no fuss.

I will be benchmarking this with liqui moly diesel purge after another 10K and check out the differences.

What I like
Easy to use

What I do not like
Seems to be more expensive than the proven competitors. If it performs better then it's fair game. I dont know that yet.

sarathin
Premium User sarathin
2nd Gear
1 reviews
208 points
51 forum posts Joined on 08-Apr-2016
Difference you can feel  Posted on 18 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Fluence

Review
The engine is a lot quieter on idle and acceleration is considerably smoother as well. And it doesn't end with one tank. The perception continues into my second fill-up. The FC is also more consistent, so it doesn't dip too much during start-stop traffic.

Application is a cinch - love the nozzle-like design which makes it easy to add every drop easily into the tank.

I mostly fill up at one of the non-Big-4 pumps, and adding this indeed gives a Techron D feel.

I would continue to use this every 3-4 fill-ups or so as it helps strike the right balance between economy and care for the engine.

What I like
Helps reduce and smoothen engine sound even while idle.
Easy to apply
Smoother acceleration
Can fill cheaper diesel without worrying about potential issues with engine

What I do not like
Nothing yet. Hopefully not too pricey.

Etnt
Premium User Etnt
6th Gear
1 reviews
2,789 points
1566 forum posts Joined on 17-Jun-2003
Smooth as silk  Posted on 18 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 116i

Review
This was used on a 116d. The engine is significantly quieter immediately after adding it to a full tank of diesel.

Acceleration appears to be smoother. FC remains the same.

The effects continue for another 2 tanks.

There's an offer now at Caltex stations for 50% Off the 2nd bottle till end Jan and I've stock up on another few more bottles.

What I like
Quieter engine and smoother acceleration

What I do not like
None

Apple-Tree
Premium User Apple-Tree
6th Gear
1 reviews
2,504 points
1421 forum posts Joined on 08-Mar-2016
Surprisingly Good - Improve Move off and FC  Posted on 15 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Kia Carens

Review
For my Kia Carens 1.7L Diesel, moving off have been jerky, as the manual said DCT GB is like that one. So after using Techron D, it seems to have smoothen out abit, even into the second tank without the magic potion.

FC have improved from 7.5L/100km to 6.4L/100km.

ODO is 4307KM

What I like
Better FC.
Moving off is less jerky.

What I do not like
A bit expensive I heard.

alex976
Premium User alex976
5th Gear
13 reviews
1,136 points
385 forum posts Joined on 24-Dec-2013
Good for commercial vehicles  Posted on 13 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mitsubishi L200

Review
My colleague wanted to sent his L200 to clean his exhaust and flush the engine. Then he asked to try the techron D. So I passed him my bottle. After a few days he begin to experience better pick up and engine responsiveness.

What I like
It works

What I do not like
Price

alex976
Premium User alex976
5th Gear
13 reviews
1,136 points
385 forum posts Joined on 24-Dec-2013
As good as cleaning your exhaust  Posted on 12 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mitsubishi L200

Review
I was going to use it on my Dmax when my colleague at his L200 doesn't have much power. So we used the techron d on his vehicle. After 3 days, my colleague feedback that his vehicle is more responsive than before.

What I like
-it works

What I do not like
Price

SunsetSorento
Premium User SunsetSorento
2nd Gear
1 reviews
151 points
37 forum posts Joined on 15-Jun-2016
It works!  Posted on 12 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Kia Sorento

Review
I drive a 2016 Sorento which is about 1.5years old and clocked around 43,000km when i decided to give the Techron D plus (sample given by MCF) a try. I've always been skeptical about products like this as I've have tried some but only got negligible results at best.

The car drives really well and was last serviced at 40,000km. After topping up 70L of Esso fuel, imagine my pleasnt surprise! The diesel clatter was noticeable quieter and the power delivery was smoothe! Throttle response was marginally better as well. Most importantly FC inproved by 5-10%. Awesome! Kudous caltex!

What I like
Improved FC
Quieter engine
Smoother power delivery
Throttle response

What I do not like
So far none!

StevTeo
Premium User StevTeo
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
12 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2015
Increased fuel economy (with pix to prove)  Posted on 10 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 2/5
Design 4/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
Citroen Grand Picasso

Review
Generally satisfied with product with improved fuel economy of 1km/l. However, the fuel economy seemed to return to initial state of economy.

My car is approx 9 months old from date of collection from AD. Maybe that's why can't see much difference

What I like
Engine sounds more refined during DPF regeneration.
More powerful acceleration from standstill.
Thoughtful long spout design for ease of application

What I do not like
A tad expensive
Effects didn't last for very long for my car

2 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer
jaspersin
Premium User jaspersin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Jun-2016
Smoother engine and increased mileage  Posted on 10 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 116i

Review
Used it on my 2yr old 116d

Engine felt smoother and sounded quieter.
Previously 1 tank of diesel can last me 850km.
Now with Techron D, I can go up to 1000km.
Impressive!

What I like
Smoother quieter engine
Increased mileage

What I do not like
None

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page

Recommended for you

1-6 of 9