Related Categories

Featured Products


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Marbella KR5 Front+Back FHD
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Features
4.5/5 Performance
3.5/5
spacer
Design
3.5/5 Price
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mad_Max_2000
1st Gear
1 reviews
16 points
16 forum posts Joined on 28-Jul-2017
Probably few of the best car camera in the market with absolutely reasonable price.  Posted on 01 Aug 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 5/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Toyota Camry

Review
I love the thermal protection feature where it is able to withstand hot weather in Singapore & Malaysia as I always parked my car in an open space. Notice how it will automatically shuts off once temperature hit a certain level to prolong the lifespan of the device.

I am also surprised at price of $279, the package still comes with 2 charging cables - (1) Power cable (for 24 hours parking) and (2) Cigar socket charger. And this way, I can tap the power to my car battery with the power cable and still bring the device overseas for road trip with the cigar socket charger.

With the battery prevention discharge feature, the device is also able to detect the battery level of my car. And it will automatically switch off once it detects my battery falls below the safely level to prevent a dead battery.

And it has a huge touch screen where i am able to view the (ADAS) lane assistance warnings clearly. I also used it as a reverse camera when i am doing my parking. Just have to double tab on the screen, and it will show me the rear view of my car.

Lastly, it is also built-in with Wi-Fi feature. Just simply download the WDVR app from apple store or google store and connect to the device's Wi-Fi. From the app, you will be able to view, edit and download the videos straight to your phone. Super duper convenient. Once of my favourite features for this device.

Overall, I think this is a good product. The only downside is that their back camera is not FHD, otherwise it will be perfect.

What I like
1) Wi-Fi app that bring convenient to the next level.
2) Thermal Protection that prevents my device from overheating.
3) Battery Prevention Discharge that prevents my car from going dead overnight.
4) Touchscreen display for reverse parking

What I do not like
1) Design not as attractive as the other brands
2) HD rear camera
3) Doesn't come with 64GB microSD card

2 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer
Neutralsg
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,445 points
2023 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2010
MISSING LINK  Posted on 27 Jul 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mitsubishi Lancer

Review
I've had this car cam installed since Dec 2016. Lately, after downloading some clips, I noticed there was a break of a few seconds between clips which created a missing link. Unfortunately, when there is a collision, the impact was not shown except for prior and after the impact of a collision.
The rear view cam is unclear and hardly visible especially at night when lights were glaring.
I have written in this forum for comment regarding such missing link and thus far, there's been no respond from users nor vendors who promotes this product.
Wonder what could have caused the missing link between clips although it does not happen to every clips.
At the same time, when I saved the clips in the 'Blackbox' some of the clips (between the payable clips) were apparently not playable indicating corruption of some form.
Has anyone else bothered to feedback regarding the issues I mentioned above? Perhaps the vendors/retailers or distributing agent can comment / respond to this feedback?

What I like
Clear front view

What I do not like
a) Blurry rear view
b) Broken clips
c) Corrupted clips which rendered the some videos unplayable

Percyjackson1911
Clutched
1 reviews
11 points
5 forum posts Joined on 10-Jun-2017
Excellent camera at its price level  Posted on 10 Jun 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Porsche Cayenne

Review
Got the KR5 online and it shocked me with its pricing as I thought I saw wrongly.
FHD+HD 2CH at $279 and I managed to get additional discount from Qoo10. Decent camera with decent functions and I no longer need to go through the hassle to remove the SD card to playback the video files. I liked the app since all the files has been re-categorized accordingly. Furthermore all the settings can be done on the app. Night video quality is adequate and acceptable level at its price.

What I like
Wifi and the ADAS but sometimes the sound can be annoying. You can even disable the blue blinking light at the back so no one will notice you have a camera installed

What I do not like
No time lapse function

Forester2014
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Jun-2017
Very value for money recorder  Posted on 03 Jun 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Subaru Forester

Review
Got this at the show yesterday after few comparison and have decided to give it a try. It attracted me with the features I need such as touch screen, WIFI and 24 hours parking mode. The KR5 even has embedded the power magic function inside the device so I don't need to buy it separately to prevent the drain of car battery. I checked the videos both day and night through the Android APP and it looks very fine to me. The App is designed with alots of function too.

What I like
WIFI without the cloud storage, I know some other brand's cloud video is not cheap and I think the KR5 is enough for daily drivers like us just to ensure all our videos are well captured. The videos both front and back is fine.

What I do not like
Nothing so far but I will keep monitor on this. The front collision warning system sometimes is annoying but you can always turn it off. It helps sometimes when you were just busy with your phone

Qianle
1st Gear
1 reviews
36 points
2 forum posts Joined on 08-Jan-2010
Expensive for the video quality  Posted on 21 Feb 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 1/5
Design 3/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW X3

Review
I have recently bought this camera from Challenger and had it self installed. The build is quite solid except for the camera frame which is quite flimsy. The video quality is really very bad. I also have used the MX6 and LX3 series which all have quite good video qualities for both day and night. The video on this KR5 is very blur and grainy when viewed on the computer. Retrieving the video using computer is also a headache as you would need to use the software loaded on the memory card just to convert the video out to avi format. You are also not able to view the video files which are just a bunch of numbers. The video converting process is also takes a long time. Quite disappointed with the newest product after using a few of their older products. Please do see screenshots attached.

What I like
Build quality

What I do not like
-Video quality is ridiculous and a joke compared to their cheaper models even on full HD.
-Require software to extract video with conversion taking a long time.
-Expensive for the quality of video.

4 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer spacer spacer
BMX5thGear
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 31-Jan-2017
Good buy  Posted on 31 Jan 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 4/5
Design 3/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW X1

Review
Read some reviews from mycarforum and decided to go ahead and buy this before CNY from one of the Challenger store and it was very impressive. I didn't know Marbella has come out with such amazing camera despite the fact the outlook is not very sleek.
It has all the features that I needed and with the WIFI function, it save the trouble for not taking out the SD card and playback the file.
I have yet installed professionally and since the KR5 has come with cigarette lighter charger, it serve the job well and I guess I will get it installed after the lunar new year period since most of the shop still closed.

What I like
In-built power magic, wifi, touch screen and it has its own apps

What I do not like
The design is not so sleek but I guess you don't have much option if you want to have a touch screen

AlexCheong1954
Clutched
2 reviews
12 points
3 forum posts Joined on 13-Dec-2016
New Dashcam from Marbella  Posted on 13 Dec 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 4/5
Design 3/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mazda CX7

Review
I preordered the Marbella KR5 during the recent show in Expo and managed to collected it yesterday. Went down to the workshop and completed the installation. It worked as per my expectation and what I needed for a Dashcam. The price is reasonable and I liked the in-built battery monitor function where it will auto cut off when your car goes into parking mode. The Wifi app comes handy too and I don't need the cloud function or those fanciful super night vision as the KR5 displayed clear enough at the night time. Overall I think the KR5 is a good design now just gotta see if the KR5 is able to take the heat when I park under the hot sun as most of previously dashcam has problem when I parked under the hot sun too long.

What I like
The touch screen, how the APP is design and able to put all the recording into different event such as Normal driving, parking, G-sensor files and parking. The mounting comes with a 3M sticker so at least it will prevent the suction fall.

What I do not like
Nothing at this moment till I try out the hot sun parking

MarkManson71
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Dec-2016
I like the feature and the price  Posted on 05 Dec 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Lexus RX450h

Review
Bought this at the show and installed the day after I bought it. It works very fine and with the 64GB card I bought, the recording is very smooth and I am satisfied with the video quality even at night time when there is not much lights within the car park.

What I like
The device has Wifi and 24 hours parking mode. Unlike other brand I didn't required to pay extra for power magic to monitor my battery level whereas the KR5 has already embedded the function in the device. Device comes with a touch screen

What I do not like
Nothing much

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page

Recommended for you

1-6 of 17