All Categories
reset
Related Categories
Featured Products

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Continental ContiSportContact 5 P
spacer
4.0
 
10 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Features
4.5 Performance
4.5
spacer
Design
4 Price
3

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Matoonia
6th Gear
5 reviews
2,618 points
1834 forum posts Joined on 29-Apr-2010
Reliable good all round performance tyres  Posted on 29 Apr 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5 Performance 5
Design 4 Price 4
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Passat

Review
Was previously in Goodyear F1 asymmetric which was wearing thin so went down to lsta to change tyres last month.

Was told conti csc 5p on promotion so decided to give a try.

Performs really well on dry, which is nothing to shout about, but it's on wet (read ponding) that it really wows me. Last week there was a day which recorded the highest single daily rainfall and I was on the road. Needless to say, roads were very wet and puddles everywhere. Felt that the tyres still had a firm grip and no point did I feel hydroplane or skating on ice. Comes to stop effortlessly too. Very confidence instilling.

On the comfort side is comparable to gy asy F1 but maybe just a tad noisier which I can live with.

What I like
Very good grip and braking on wet roads.

What I do not like
Slightly noisier than my previous tyres.

2 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer

Presea
2nd Gear
1 reviews
239 points
1141 forum posts Joined on 18-Sep-2002
Awesome. Nuff Said  Posted on 10 Apr 2014
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5 Performance 5
Design 5 Price 3
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Passat

Review
I've driven mostly on on Falken tyres for the past 10 years, including some basic Ziex (325 & 512), progressing through Azenis ST115 (2 sets) and then FK452 (4 sets)... along the way I have had F1 GSD3 (2 sets) and Pirelli P7 (2 years)... and I drive really hard (most of my tyres last 20-25000)... and the FK452 are my benchmark for Dry and Wet.

So on to the review

(run in - 300km)
Dry
From take off, these are really grippy tyres. With 250Nm @1500rpm, most of my hard launches are noisy affairs, with me balancing wheelspin and grip to achieve maximum launch. On the CSC5, there is barely a chirp and then it grips and goes...

Similarly, braking is phenomenal. My Gtech Pro measured more than 1G, and that was braking hard but not maximum (just an unexpected sudden slow down in peak traffic).

In the corners, past the entry point, the grip is good, as is the lack of noise. close to 1G at peak, and easily sustaining 0.9G through the hard bends. And coming out of corners, the acceleration translation from pedal input to forward surge is more instant than I remember in previous tyres.

The only gripe is that turn-in sharpness did not feel as direct as with the FK452 which I have grown accustomed to (over the last 5 years)


In the WET
I drive hard in the rain as much as I do in the dry, and I love to test the grip limits... and on this tyre, it's higher. I've had no problems stopping and cornering in light rain (wet floors), in fact, they felt as good as the FK452, and possibly better (on braking).

Acceleration also felt more immediate, with the DSC/TSC rarely kicking in despite flooring the loud pedal (with ALL my other tyres, I get a decent amount of wheelspin before the traction control comes in to interrupt the fun).


Overall
The tyre feels lighter upon steering inputs (light to the touch), and is very quiet (definitely quieter than Falkens and GoodYears)

I would probably not have tried them if the FK452 had not stopped production, and the shop did not run out of the FK453.... so this is a pleasant unexpected pleasure thanks to unfortunate circumstances

What I like
Grip, Grip, Grip.

Quiet, including near silent jack rabbit starts and no inner wheel squeal

Corners fast and steady, in both dry and wet conditions.

Braking is good and translates to progressive feel.

New Tyre smell last for days

What I do not like
Needs to run in (300km)

Initially squirms on hard braking and wet cornering before tyre wears in.

Lack of cornering tyre squeal leaves beginners with little aural feedback
Pricey!


Stumplestiltskin
Neutral Newbie
10 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Aug-2013
Good grippy tyres.  Posted on 18 Sep 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4 Performance 5
Design 4 Price 2
spacer

I installed this on
Mercedes-Benz CLS350

Review
I have put those Continentals on my ride after replacing my old, worn-out tyres. These tyres made my car come to a stop better than any other tried before. Handling in corners is good but isn't best. This tyre is very good in straight lines - sticks like a glue on the road. Side walls of the tyre should be more hard. Better handling in turns, harder sidewalls, more kms/life and better look! The noise on these aren't of that annoying, since I have a loud engine. But to those economical, quiet cars, they can be really noisy to the ears.

What I like
They have a good grip, and driving on straights are really comfortable!

What I do not like
These tyres are quite expensive.


Anninch
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 07-Aug-2013
Performing like a beast through every corner  Posted on 13 Aug 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5 Performance 5
Design 4 Price 2
spacer

Review
Howdy from down under, what can I say, these tyres have changed the characteristic understeer that my Audi TT has, at speed when on the highway or having a hoot around town, these tyres give me real bite and turn in plus extra grip compared to what I had with the standard stock tyres they have, totally changed the driving of the car. Fabulous turn in, grip is fantastic, favourite corners can now be taken at 10kph or more, faster than before with no slippage! Totally boosted my confidence level while driving! Definitely worth the buy!

What I like
Quite expensive for what it does.

What I do not like
The price is bit high


ShashaB
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
5 forum posts Joined on 09-May-2013
Quite possibly the best Continental tyre available  Posted on 08 Jul 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5 Performance 5
Design 3 Price 3
spacer

Review
I've always had a love/hate relationship with Continental tyres, but this one is a definite winner. Amazing wet and dry grip and performance coupled with great aquaplaning resistance makes this tyre a delightfully sticky tyre that sticks to the road in all conditions. The ride comfort levels are through the roof, and the best part is that this tyre actually lasts long and treadwear is good. Only downsides are that it can get quite noisy and it's expensive. But you get what you pay for

What I like
Superb wet and dry grip and performance; great aquaplaning resistance; very, very comfortable; one of the longest treadlife any Continental tyre has to offer

What I do not like
Quite noisy & expensive


Capsupereme
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jan-2011
Reliable tyres in poor weather condition  Posted on 03 Jul 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5 Performance 4
Design 5 Price 4
spacer

Review
Provide good grip to the ground on wet surface in rainy days. Long lasting tyres. Feel confidence while driving.

What I like
The design and colour.

What I do not like
None.


JonPassat08
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Jun-2013
Super costly but super excellent tyre.  Posted on 02 Jul 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4 Performance 5
Design 5 Price 3
spacer

Review
The steep price may be a bit unwarranted, but the performance on both wet and dry asphalt is super excellent! Dry or wet, it never fails to grip the road and it stops fast. The responsiveness of these tyres is also super good, and it's super quiet as well. The best thing is that these tyres last quite long.


TerhBu
Neutral Newbie
12 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Jun-2013
Quiet, comfortable, sticks to the road like superglue and never fails.  Posted on 25 Jun 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4 Performance 5
Design 4 Price 3
spacer

Review
These tyres have impressed me massively even though I'm not a fan of the too-soft sidewalls. It sticks to all sorts of tarmac, whether rough or smooth, wet or dry, it never loses contact with the road. The braking distance is the shortest I've ever seen, and even in wet conditions, the braking distance is very short without any skidding or losing control. I found that out on the Pasir Gudang circuit when a stupid cat decided that it wanted to cross the track right in front of my car when I was racing down at 200.

I jam braked, missed the cat, and never lost control. Amazing. The amazing grip aside, it's quiet and comfortable both on the circuit and on regular streets, and the tread lasts quite awhile even after a long day at the circuit. It's now my tyre of choice.

What I like
The superglue grip on dry and wet roads and the way it still manages to stay quiet and comfortable with that kind of grip. Plus, the tread lasts quite awhile

What I do not like
Expensive, but it's worth it IMO


DieselSIAO
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
1 points
28 forum posts Joined on 11-Jun-2013
One of the best Continental tyres  Posted on 14 Jun 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4 Performance 4
Design 4 Price 4
spacer

Review
This tyres has amazing wet and dry grip and performance, and also has great aquaplaning resistance. The ride comfort levels are impressive, and the best part is that this tyre actually lasts long. Only downsides are that it can get quite noisy and it's expensive. But you get what you pay for


Jq1988
4th Gear
7 reviews
989 points
821 forum posts Joined on 08-Aug-2011
Excellence tyre but pricy  Posted on 13 Jun 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5 Performance 5
Design 3 Price 3
spacer

Review
My uncle was using these tyres for his merz...very grip and quiet even after 30k...was thinking to put on my exora, but too pricy...anyway, it is a very good tyre for big cc cars...

What I like
grip and quietness even after 30k

What I do not like
price

Recommended for you

1-6 of 15