Related Categories

Featured Products


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Bridgestone Potenza S001
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
22 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Features
4/5 Performance
4/5
spacer
Design
4/5 Price
3/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

22 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Pocus
Turbocharged
1 reviews
13,721 points
5817 forum posts Joined on 30-Aug-2004
Dated Tyre that should retire  Posted on 02 Sep 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 3/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Skoda Octavia

Review
Had these as OEM 18" tyres for my Skoda Octavia RS245.

While they perform well initially and under normal conditions, they weakness starts to show when you start to drive it in a spirited way as most performance cars would.

The grip, while adequate, could not take the stress of a high torque car (370nm) resulting in much wheel spin which is undesirable for a performance car. If you throw it round the corners and the sidewall flex quite a fair bit, impeding the steering response and you will need to adjust your steering to get back to line. Due to the poor grip you will often hear lots of screeches in the corner, signalling that the tyres are at its limits while you know your car can do much more.

At wet weather, the grip is pretty much reduced and it would be wise not to push the car too much to reduce the chances of aqua panning.

While the tire is quite smooth and comfortable, it's impeded by the noise which starts to show as early as 10k. Why bother a tire with adequate grip of a UHP tire but sounded like a EP tire?

This is a dated tire that should have retired. There are many other options that offers better grip and comfort at the same price range.

What I like
1. Adequate comfort
2. Adequate threadwear

What I do not like
1. Poor dry performance at spirited driving
2. Wet performance not confident
2. noise level from 10k onwards

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Good wet grip  Posted on 08 Apr 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Golf

Review
Good wet grip except that it is slightly noisier than the previous Turanza T005A. Deep side grooves provides for good handling & cornering. Wide groves prevents aqua plating - Sebastian Chow, Owner of Volkswagen Golf SLZ2--J

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Well build tyres  Posted on 22 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 216i

Review
I like Bridgestone Tyre. They are well build and comfortable to drive in. I am using the run in Tyre which is very safe in case of a puncture while driving. - Adrian Chan, Owner of BMW 216i SJW3--X

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Peace of mind  Posted on 16 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 320i

Review
I have been using the S001 RFT model because I like the road handling during wet condition and always give me a peace of mind in driving through wet roads. - Leong Wai Kit, Owner of BWM 320i SKM38--M

review user
Mobile Reviewer
A great all rounder tyre  Posted on 16 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 2/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Golf

Review
A great all rounder Tyre but price wise is on high side compared to other Premium Tyre Brands. If Price is set right, or with better Promotions might consider to purchase again. - Adam, Owner of Volkswagen Golf SKC14--E

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Quiet tyres with good grip & comfort  Posted on 15 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Skoda Octavia

Review
Good tyres for grip and comfort. Quiet and not much road noise coming from the tyres even at high speed. Cornering feels firm and makes you feel in control. - Tan Lih Hong, Owner of Skoda Octavia EY95--C

review user
Mobile Reviewer
One of the best run flat tyres  Posted on 12 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mercedes-Benz C180

Review
One of the best run flat tyres I have tried with a softer feel. Too bad there is no RFT option for the S007 for my tyre configuration. My OEM tyres are the Conti CSC 5 before my switch to Bridgestone. Should have done the switch earlier. - Leslie Ong, Owner of Mercedes-Benz C180 SMJ13--R

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Good grip on dry surface  Posted on 11 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 5/5
Design 4/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
Toyota Estima

Review
"This is my second set of tyres I am using. They have very good grip on dry surface and also during raining. However, there is an increase in noise level after using approximately 10K km. Price is on the high side." - Chua Chee Seng, Owner of Toyota Estima SDS6--M

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Good all round tyre  Posted on 10 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Skoda Octavia

Review
Good all round tyre for sporty car. Reliable and doesn’t wear out fast. Good grip on wet roads. For such good performance tyres, the down side would be the noise. - Calvin chen, Owner of Skoda Octava SKD30--M

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Quality of tyre is good  Posted on 10 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 2/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
Subaru Legacy

Review
Great service from the tyre shop. Been going to this shop for the last 20 years. S001 tyres are very difficult to source. Waiting time is very long. Quality of tyre is good. - Lim, Owner of Subaru Legacy SME29--M.

review user
Mobile Reviewer
2nd purchase of this tyre  Posted on 09 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Ford Mondeo

Review
This is my 2nd set of S001s. Been using Bridgestone performance tires all these years. Love the firm grip and good performance on both wet and dry days. No compromise. - Nathanael Tan, Owner of Ford Mondeo SLP85--E

review user
Mobile Reviewer
Good but little pricey  Posted on 08 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 3/5
Design 3/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Infiniti Q50

Review
Good set of tyres. Except a little pricey compared with competitors. Performance up to expectations in dry and wet conditions. Ride comfort is good, cornering stable. - Tan Chuan Sien, Owner of Infiniti Q50 SLL47--A

Andysg
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
7 forum posts Joined on 01-May-2009
Excellent handling and grip  Posted on 16 Oct 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Lexus IS250

Review
Drove for 18440 km and tyre still remains more then 50% Tread. Even wear. Reviewed on June 14, 2016 at tyrereviews.Co.Uk

What I like
- Grip
- Handling
- Wear (on RWD) - 35000km (rear)

What I do not like
- Wear (on RWD) - 22000km (front)
- Noise after 20000km

longhaul
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Oct-2017
The water cutter  Posted on 06 Oct 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 5/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Passat

Review
There is certainly no question ask whether if the S001 would perform well in either the wet or in the dry, it actually performs just as well or surpassing any other performance tyre would offer.

Have drove with this tyres on 1 occasion in a very heavy rain...In fact a torrential rain...It was along the AYE towards Jurong after coming out from the MCE tunnel. It was pouring heavily then and was also coupled with a strong cross wind during the drive. I know at that time, I am under the mercy of only 2 rubbers...Which are>>the Wipers and >>the Tyres. I was on my way to a meeting and was running late and I was travelling in that condition at 90km/h to close till about 120/km/h. I knew I was pushing between the line of Life and Death but having the thought of arriving the meeting with everyone staring at me is worst than death itself. The mileage on the tyres at that time was about over 12,000km. I'm glad to say it roll my through the storm without having me to break a sweat and I was however just only about 5mins late arrived at the meeting:)

Having already my experience with the excellent performance of S001, the dry performance on the other hand is none other than Excellent as well.

The only thing that you need to put up with, is the noise it produce when being used above the 15,000km mark which is what I am experiencing currently. Other than this, I definitely give the S001 a full Five Star rating on both the wet & dry.

What I like
The design
The wet performance

What I do not like
The noise

LiuDeHua
4th Gear
2 reviews
776 points
306 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Grippy tyres  Posted on 18 Oct 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mercedes-Benz E200

Review
Very grippy tyres in both dry and wet roads. Now I feel more confident on the roads.

Slightly noisy compared to my stock tyres, but I guess those were designed for comfort and silence.

What I like
as above

What I do not like
as above

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page

Recommended for you

1-6 of 17